You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Future With Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

In 6 months I think we will know what direction steemit is going to go, and if there is a future for STINC. I saw a news item that Microsoft has purchased git-hub, the open source repository. So the future may be no future we will just have to wait and see what Microsoft will do. I am not holding my breath, I remember IBM-dos and PC-Dos, then there was MS-Dos, so what happened to the IBM and PC dos after microsoft? Do you remember a small web browser call Netscape? Git-hub may be open source right now, but how long after the purchase does it take Microsoft to claim their Intellectual property rights and thus all the open source code on git-hub becomes closed source and a license needed from Microsoft to use it. I am sure nobody at STINC is concerned about it yet, but really when you look at past practices...with Microsoft...what do you see? Where is Word perfect...what happened to it...and a few other programs I can no longer think of. How many countries have tried to sue Microsoft in the past, how many still try, how many have given up...So I see this next 6 months as a holding pattern.

Sort:  

I will be curious to see what happens with Github as well. I suspect many are already adding their open source projects elsewhere. In fact, it might be smart for one of the blockchains (cough cough Steem) to create a platform to host an opensource repository to make it all immortal on the blockchain. Microsoft may own the repository, but they do not own the work placed on there. Just time to spread it out now so they can't destroy/limit/alter what is there currently.

The Github issue is not all the bad. Ivanontech explains it here:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70