Steemit Expectations: Is This A Get Rich Quick Scheme?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Steemit Expectations: Is This A Get Rich Quick Scheme?

It's no surprise that many people have come to Steemit in hopes of earning a secondary (or even primary) income from the content they create. And that's exactly the way the Steemit ecosystem works: you create and curate content and get rewarded for your efforts. In return, Steemit becomes a highly successful social platform with a lot to offer its users, including great content.

But unfortunately, some Steemit users have set their expectations too high and quit before they even make their first Steem Backed Dollar. In today's video I'll share my thoughts on the matter and help you to understand my thoughts on building a channel for the long-term.


If you're interested in more videos, tutorials, and how-tos, I encourage you to follow my channel and leave me replies of things you would like to learn about. If I don't know the answer, we'll learn together! :)

Recent Posts

Steemit Registration: How To Speed Up The Process
Where Does The Money Come From (Value and Rewards Pool)?
Steemit Reputation: How It Works and How To Gain More of It?
10 Things You Shouldn't Do On Steemit


- Daily Comment Reward -

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Leave a unique comment (not just a "great video!" or "follow me")
  3. And you could win $20 USD worth of SBD!

That's it! It's also a great idea to go ahead and follow my channel so that you don't miss any upcoming posts. You can do that here: https://steemit.com/@brandonfrye

contest-winner.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great points! It's all about managing your expectations. What a lot of people don't realize is that Steemit is a global community that is very new. It's going to take time for people to find and follow your content. I came in with very little expectations for my account. I set goals of how often I'd like to be posting and set a time limit of 6 months to see where it goes. So far so good. It's all about expectations: the higher they are, the higher likelihood you are to be disappointed.

You mentioned that you are in it for the long term. Curious as to your timeframe or price target your aiming for.

Absolutely, build. build. build. I don't have a timeframe or certain amount that I need to make in order to consider Steemit worth the time. I really do enjoy it here and the people that I've met along the way, including yourself. But I do plan on building my channel and rewards over time. I made a goal at the beginning of this year and said that I would like to be making $1,500 USD per week by the end of 2018. If I reach that, cool. But if I don't, I'll still be happy as long as I'm progressing. And I've been blown away so far with what 2018 has brought to me on Steemit.

Likewise @brandonfrye, definitely glad to have met you too. I've definitely benefited from your educational videos and have seen your astronomical growth! Congrats on 1000 followers in such a short amount of time! Keep up the great work and I'm sure you'll be well on the way to reaching your goal. KEEP ON STEEMIN

Hey dude. I am new here and your videos have been helpful. I wanted to ask though do you know how much you will make in curation right away or do you have to wait for the payout day? Also if you could answer a second one, when do you think is the best time to make an introduction post? Right away or after you get to know the site a little more? Thanks.

Great questions. Technically you have to wait until payout to know exactly what you're going to get in rewards for a post. What you see throughout the week leading up to payout is only an estimate. It can fluctuate some. And I think it's best to make an introduceyourself post as soon as possible. It's not too late though if you've been on for a while and haven't yet. Go for it if you haven't yet and let them Steemit community get to know you.

Alright thanks. I have been on for 2 days so far. It has been interesting.

I came to get RISH!! Thumbs up if you agree lol XD

I just started, so it was encouraging to watch this video. I've started by looking at things that are interesting to me. The way I look it at it, I wanted to do this anyway, but I would not have been paid directly. But it's even better if I get paid (eventually).

Awesome, that's a great attitude to have coming in to Steemit. By the way, welcome to the community!

Thank you. I found your videos on Youtube first. I've already found plenty of interesting content in the past few days, so I'm excited.

steemit is the way forward

Good point. I can tell you about me personally that I am not here for a secondary income. I stumbled upon to this platform for two reasons: 1. I was watching content created by several youtubers who moved partially to steemit; 2. I was trying to find some real use for the tiny amount of STEEM I had. I am learning rapidly and enjoying every moment.

That's very similar to how I found Steemit. I was following a couple of YouTubers who mentioned that they were moving to Steemit as well. This got me interested in the platform and I created an account right away. I didn't really have any plans for what I would do here.. but that's really worked itself out. Now I am so grateful that I found Steemit and have connected with so many incredible people here. :)

I agree that Steemit is not a get rich quick scheme. Sort of related, I read this post by @tarazkp about employment on the blockchain. He hypothesized that by powering up an account by the millions in USD, this account could use the substantial rewards from its upvotes to pay a healthy salary. I don't know if this is would actually work based on the platform's mechanics. It's a different perspective from what you're proposing in that you're starting an account with a large amount of funds rather starting from little to nothing. Perhaps Steemit could end up functioning as a Get Richer Quicker scheme.

That could actually work well. If you have say one million dollars then you could upvote your own posts and they would be rewarded a minimum of $100 which the author's portion (75%) would be paid out half in SBD. The SBD alone would be worth around $225 in today's market. So yes, while it would be a huge investment (and include risk) it could pay off HUGE.

Yeah I think this making money thinking is one of the biggest problems of steemit.

Yeah, it's good if you just focus on building your channel, sharing value, and getting into the comments naturally. Don't even think about the money. Great point!

Brand you are my favourite mentor on steemit. Thanks alot.

Thanks @gangas, that means a lot. Appreciate it!

Only a good content writer in some other social media gets more and more priviledges. Not a get rich quick scheme for beginners !!

Definitely not a get rich scheme. Only those who put in the effort to network and create good content are rewarded which is nice and makes Steemit a great place to find great content. Thanks for the comment, @cryptosomania!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61