Major Problems With STEEMIT That Sadly go Ignored

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit.png


The preface


First off! I really want to preface this by saying that I am a vehement supporter of STEEM, I think it's a revolutionary step in the right direction, and I plan on spending a lot of time here, but let's remember that everything has it's flaws. Layed out here are five different problems that steemit faces that I personally think are significant.


The payment model


Now, many including me would argue that the payment model is a great system, and in theory it is. Not only does it encourage users to write good content, and create good content in general; but it encourages others to actively scout and find the best content to drive it to the top, ensuring only the best content that potential users outside of the steemit habitat could see, and click on, driving more traffic.

But, let's not forget that money is money, and a model of content creation that is solely driven by money can see it's downsides. I'd like to make the analogy of the early era of Youtube. If you were around the Youtube community when it first started years and years ago, it was pure, and most of the videos populating Youtube were home videos made with an old camcorder. They were usually sketch comedy for the sole purpose of putting on a show, for a small selection of people to maybe stumble across. There was no incentive for the creators to make videos other then the excitement of being on the internet, and having someone watch their creation. Over time the entire model of Youtube changed to making videos with good quality content in hopes of getting more views and more money.

tenor.gif

Now you may be asking, "What does that have anything to do with steemit?" well- it leads into my point. It's not bad to make content for the sole purpose of money by all means, but I really feel like the more pure of intentions that content is made from, the better it usually turns out. And the payment model of Steemit really encourages people to post content in the buzzword tags such as: Steemit, Cryptocurrency, Blog, Photography, which sort of gives anyone who would like to post other genuine content outside of the high paying tags a genuine disservice. And in a way, giving posters higher rewards for posting with buzzworded tags can potentially force people to write create in topics they are either not passionate about, or know nothing about. Which can lead to a lot of either superficial or even plagiarized content.

To put my long incoherent ramblings into one sentence, I feel as if the payment model encourages posters to make content that fits their wallets, instead of fitting their passions.

Votegineering and the money race


The payment model is great, but as I have pointed out I think it has some flaws. But let's not forget, the payment model for content creation isn't alone, there still exists content curation; which may be even scarier. Just a few days ago there were some findings, which let's be clear were circumstantial, and I am EXTREMELY skeptical that there was any type of voting ring going on in this post he layed out, but it leads into my next point.
Link here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sigmundnash/exposing-steemit-voting-collusion-6-potential-voting-rings-found

Now, let's say this isn't a voting ring, and I don't think it is. It doesn't change the fact that voting rings, and collaborative efforts to upvote content without reading it, or even knowing what it is in efforts just to extract money from the STEEMIT economy is a real threat. And when the entire platform is based on propelling legitimate content to the top, in hopes of domino effecting the entire site; things like this actually pose a threat to the very stability of the platform.

Also, voting rings aside let's think for a second about voting as a whole. As a curator you are vastly encouraged to find content that is good and vote on it. But, at the end of the day you make the most money voting on content that you think isn't "good content" but is content that you think will be popular. So, in theory it turns the system from a vote for quality, to a vote for shock and hype ecosystem. This can be bad because in my opinion, it can even encourage people to just sit on the new tab, and upvote articles that have buzzwords in them, and spicy headlines without even reading the content that's inside.


Conclusion


Well, at the end of the day let me reiterate. I love steem, I love the idea behind it, I love how it operates, I love the model of the site and I love the scalability of the platform as a hole. And no, I don't think there's secret men who are in voting ring cults that meet in the woods to discuss who's content to upvote for maximum profit.
bohemian-grove-colour.png

But I do think there are some legitimate concerns to the model of how content is rated, payed out, and scouted for. And I think everyone should share the same concerns because everyone here has stake in the long-term success of steemit, and we shouldn't take that for granted.

Anyway, hope you guys enjoyed my button mashing of ideas in my head, thanks for reading hope you got something out of it.!

Sort:  

I completely agree. I dislike the pandering to whales. Itd be nice if finding certain topics were a bit easier. for instance what if i wanted to find people in my location talking about a local issue or news. Keep up the good work @capgains, ill keep readin!

-Dest

Thanks, and props for being able to write so concisely and still get your point across, I have to work on that haha. But yeah, I agree I think it would be nice to have added functionality for different topics, and all in all; there are a lot more problems to Steemit as a whole then just what we spoke on. But at the end of the day, it's still a great platform, and it's still in it's beta phase so there's a lot of time to fine tune everything! Thanks for the compliment, have a good one Dest!

Congratulations @capgains! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @capgains! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @capgains! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Congratulations @capgains! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Totally agree, especially the part where people might write content fitting their wallet rather than passion. I blog about compost worms and black soldier flies but my audience is not there. Luckily the related topics of gardening and homesteading is a bit more popular to give me a bit of return on the effort.

I agree with this article. I would also like to see a more involved technical team sorting out issues with the blockchain password system. Does anyone else out there have issues with using Steemit on multiple devices? I'm currently stuck using only my cellphone because that was the first device I opened my account on. Also, what's with images being blacked out in odd cases?
20170128_095405.jpg

Congratulations @capgains! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I just started using Steemit through DLive and I honestly feel the same. Even comparing to today's YouTube people on Steemit are even less genuine than people on YouTube. I receive comments but they're clearly just people trying to get upvote/money. Whereas when you get comments on YouTube they're genuine.

Personally I love @dlive because the team works hard to improve the platform. So I'll keep using DLive. However, I don't have much confidence in the Steem blockchain. If they can't get people to post contents for the sake of providing value instead of just trying to make money, I honestly don't think this system is sustainable. And I am afraid if Steem is dead, so will DLive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56