Can someone please tell me where all the WHALES of Steemit are swimming ?

in #steemit5 years ago

This is a question we are all probably wondering– why is it so hard to get whale votes around here?

whale-shark-281497_1280.jpg
Image Source

It seems no matter what minnows do, it remains nearly impossible to gain the attention of a whale. A vote from a whale account is so reassuring, and reminds us of why we are here. A whale vote (or two, or three, or ∞…) rewards us for the hard work we put into adding value to the STEEM blockchain.

This isn’t always the case, but more often than not whale votes are few and far between. Once in a blue moon whale will appear from the deep blue sea, however, very infrequently is this the case. I have been very fortunate to receive some whale votes for my work and I owe a massive thank you to each of the following users for this:

@newhope
@mangos
@ripperone
@redes
@alexis555

Thank you all very much for believing in my work and showing me the love I believe I deserve, I greatly appreciate it. I hope to continue adding value to the STEEM blockchain, and with your support, I feel as though I can reach my long-term goals.

So, what is it that we need to do in order to gain a whale’s attention?

I have tried reaching out, connecting and networking, but have generally failed with this particular approach. I have also tried upvoting, commenting, and adding value to their posts as well. This method hasn’t quite worked in my favor either.

I guess the only thing left to try is to help them with a project that they or someone they know is currently working on. This seems like a very effective method, but requires a certain set of skills that they may be searching for.

If you don’t possess the specific qualities necessary to get the job done, then you’d be better off looking elsewhere for support. In other words, we minnows just keep swimming aimlessly in search of the current that propels all other aquatic lifeforms.

The whales just keep swimming in the deep ocean blue and we have nothing to show for all our hard work. You’d think we are swimming in a completely different ocean than the fish that eat the exact same food (the reward pool).

It seems as though the whales swim together, while the dolphins and minnows continue to clean up the scraps that are left behind. Dolphins and minnows constitute the greatest population of steemit, yet we are still left out to dry (for the most part).

dori.jpg
Image Source

Dolphins not as much, but minnows most certainly are (at least that's my opinion on the matter). I don’t think it’s an intentional act among the whales or dolphins, either. Steemit is fundamentally flawed such that content and exposure/visibility of content is hidden beneath the cracked surface. This is the real problem, and very well could be the downfall of such an amazing platform if not addressed.

People leave steemit all the time, and not because the price of STEEM is in the dumps, but because their time and efforts are worth more than what they are being rewarded. It is really quite depressing, but sadly it’s true. And we all know it to be true, whether we want to believe it or not.

I’ve been putting out some of the best content I can possibly conjure up and still have to spend my hard earned STEEM to make it all worthwhile. If it wasn’t for steembottracker, I can honestly say I wouldn’t even be producing content because I'd be making mere cents.

Many of us aren't here solely for the monetary reward, but that is one of the biggest reasons we are here, let's please just be honest with ourselves.

Don't get me wrong, though, the relationships that I have made will last a lifetime, and this I am forever grateful for. I have met some amazing people with unique interests that are very different from my own. I love to connect with them as much as possible in order to expand my knowledge and discover varying perspectives of several diverse aspects of life.

Steemit has allowed me to grow, not only as a blogger and content creator, but also as a human being. I just wish us little guys could get the attention we all deserve from time to time...

Minnows, it's time to UNITE!! Let's churn these waters and make ourselves known around here, what do you say??

Sort:  

When you buy votes, you are paying stakeholders to be lazy and not actively curate.

Because your post has lots of bid bots, my curation reward on it will be minimal and removes a lot of the financial incentive to vote.

I appreciate the enthusiasm and I have found myself their too.

Patience and hard work. They will serve you well in any industry.

I stopped waiting for whales a while ago. Maybe it's time for you to make some waves of your own.

Best of luck
@kabir88

It is far more profitable to upvote this comment than botted post.

@conradsuperb - once you realize that the same bots you think are keeping you around are actually keeping people from voting on your posts ;p. Its just curation math.

Plus, steem is a tool, and right now it seems as if everybody is trying out different ways to use the tool. Its not just about blogging anymore!

I think you better tell every Tom, Dick, and Harry that. Please don’t act as if I’m a ghost in a man’s world

Posted using Partiko iOS

Its a weird platform, I only mean to share how I understand it :)

Nothing but respect over here

✊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s very true that bid bots drown the ecosystem of its prospective worth. As many users can probably attest, it can be very discouraging to invest hours of time for as little as pennies in manual curation.

Being here for well over a year now, I have found that nothing regarding this topic has changed. I have both earned and invested into the platform, but future investments will be few and far between if something doesn’t change.

I appreciate you dropping by and sharing your insight. I will take what you have said and use it as fuel for my future on the Steem blockchain.

Respect from
@conradsuperb 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

I feel you...
The dilemma between paying bid bots fro exposure of your hard work but also self-sustaining the system is quite difficult to solve...

I also pay for some posts that otherwise would not even be seen by the community.

Take care my dear.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah it’s like a rock between a hard place... it’s always difficult to please both parties and you want to do the right thing... for the community, yourself, and everyone or thing in between. I think positively of the community and believe there to be a light at the end or the tunnel in all cases

Thank you Mr vlemon ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

After the first couple of months here I was at a similar place. Being a fulltime working professional, I knew early on that the time spent here would never replace my income from work (no matter the Steem price). However, I have found much more in part of my journey as I have found communities to support various interests like @actifit for fitness and @steemmonsters for entertainment. This has encouraged me to actively engage and be part of the ecosystem as it grows and motivates to make it an endeavor for experiences and not a profession.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for sharing. I feel like @partiko has been my most recent motivator for community engagement. Steem on the go has called for 10x the amount activity I have ever taken part in. I’m still on the outs as far going out of my way to join other initiatives like @steemmonsters and @actifit , but one other experimental project I have been actively engaging in is @steembasicincome

Thanks for dropping by
@newwaveinv. 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a 87.8 % upvote from @boomerang.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

that reminds me, I should bot up my next post.

I mean it can’t hurt, well it can, but we are already immune to the effects of the bid bot crisis as is. Nothing will stop the same group of users sending hundreds of STEEM to simply continue drowning everyone else

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you can't beat them... ;) I have been gone for a few months so I will be very interested to see how this turns out

Check the whales to minnow ratio.

Can you point me in the right direction of this statistic?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Follow @taskmaster4450. He's posting about distribution from time to time. And I'm sure @whatsup have some good advice for you.

Ahh, yes, thank you much. I appreciate you dropping by the neighborhood ✊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just focus on creating quality content. Daily.

Posted using Partiko Android

Been doing just that, brother

At least I’m attempting to

Posted using Partiko iOS

And I don't like chasing the whales!! They have there own world lol

Posted using Partiko Android

We have learned to provide for ourselves in this deep, desolate ocean. Who really likes to swim behind someone else’s tail anyway ??

Posted using Partiko iOS

And me, and I don't like chasing the whales!! They have there own world lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet they like chasing you though ... 🌊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha keep that a secret, hun 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99