You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Steemit, Inc's Struggles Lead to Steem's Decentralized Success?

in #steemit5 years ago

What, a YouTube video instead of dTube? :-)

I've not really bothered watching the political background of Seem; I've just been occasionally blogging.

What I see missing, from my angle, is really really solid developer-targeted resources. Everything I've found to date is either too high level to be useful, or assumes you're already deep into blockchain lingo, tech, and culture. If the goal is to be less dependent on one company, then making it easier for new companies to bootstrap themselves needs to be a focus.

Maybe it's already there and I just haven't found it yet? I know there are people that have figured it out and launched games on Steem, but I'm still struggling with it.

Sort:  

I have a lot of love for DTube, but I've had technical challenges with using it since day one. IPFS is a great, but it has hiccups often. I should try to use it more, but for now, YouTube is reliable and works well for getting something up quickly in a limited time frame, as I did here.

Have you seen the developer tutorials? They are pretty solid. I tweeted about them the other day, but I don't think there's been much marketing of the tools that are out there.

Also, a year or so ago you were asking about doing your own website with the Steem blockchain behind it. I found out about this at Steemfest3 and you may find it interesting: https://engrave.website/

Ahso, thanks. The tutorials look useful. Bookmarked. (Meaning, will leave the tab open for the next 2 months.)

The Engrave site looks like... a clone of SteemIt? It looks more like a more brand-able SteemIt than a self-hosting thing. Hm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90