Happy 4th July! - A Day To Celebrate Curiosity & Steem-Independence Day

in #steemit6 years ago

Steem_fireworks.png

A lot of Steemians like to celebrate their Steemit anniversaries; however I prefer to mark Steem-independence day, which of course is today.

For those of you who aren't aware, on 4th July 2016 the Steemit website paid out its very first rewards, up until that moment the money building up on our posts was purely theoretical.

There was plenty of speculation in those days, mainly on sites such as Reddit, words like scam and ponzi were often associated with Steemit, with many people believing that the site would never live up to its promise and pay people the money on their posts.

However most of us who were here before the fourth of July simply held the faith and stuck with it . . . Still though, I can remember my absolute joy and disbelief as I transferred my very first bit of Steem to Bittrex and sold it for Bitcoin.

Essentially I had my dear friend @bleepcoin and my own willingness to keep on writing for over two months without so much as a penny, and it ultimately came down to another dear old friend curiosity.

Curiosity May Have Killed The Cat But It Got The Mouse The Biggest Piece Of Cheese!

I remember back in May 2016 I had quit my job, I had had enough of working 9-5. It had been almost two years since I'd gone back into that world having spent the previous seven years working for myself as a corporate video producer.

My business had failed mainly due to lack of ambition and enthusiasm, combined with a changing industry that I wasn't prepared to change with. So I bit the bullet and got a paying job, then another, and another, and yet another.

Two years later I had managed to save some money from the jobs and also some affiliate marketing I had been doing and decided that I needed to plunge once more into the unknown. (I simply am not built to take orders from someone else, and I tend to take so much before telling whatever boss I have where to go.)

I remember reading at around the time that one of the best qualities an entrepreneur can have is curiosity. This got me thinking about how curious I was, I found it hard to gauge, but at the end of the day didn't rate myself particularly curious.

Though I may have wondered how stuff worked, I had never taken apart anything to actually check, unless you count my motorbike, which I don't for two reasons. Firstly I needed to because it was broken and I was broke, secondly I didn't succeed in putting it back together very well. There were an annoying amount of nuts and washers left over when I'd finished.

Anyway I felt that curiosity was something that could be cultivated , so I went about doing just that, I got curious and I discovered a lot of new things one of them being of course, Steemit.

Ask Questions And Seek Answers

The key to being curious I found out was to simply ask questions and/or seek out answers. So when @bleepcoin said to me; 'check out this site, I just got a few hundred dollars for posting a meme', my first response was to ask if it was real money, and my second was to say; 'Cool, well show me how it works then, I'm curious.'

It was as simple as that, I realised that just a few months earlier before reading that article saying that entrepreneurs are curious, I might never had checked Steemit out.

I would have probably thought; ugh, bloody crypto, I don't get it and I can't be bothered to find out, seems too complicated.

I'm glad that I didn't have that attitude, and I'm glad that curiousity is the easiest entrepreneurial skill to develop.

Little Things

If you're the kind of person who shuns updates to your favourite sites, or always walks home a certain route or talks to the same people everyday.

Then I suggest you cultivate your curiosity by taking that gmail update and saying hello to random strangers on an entirely new route you've never taken before.

Do odd things that you might never, not all of your experiences will be great because of your shift in attitude, but that's kind of the point, you're being curious just to see what happens!

Happy Steem-independence Day Stay Curious!

So I'll leave you thinking of ways you can cultivate your curiosity and discover new things. When you do, embrace those things and throw yourself headlong into a new set of experiences.

Oh, and Happy (original) Independence Day to all my American Steemian cousins; wishing you happiness, love and prosperity!!

HAVE YOU BEEN CURIOUS LATELY? HOW DID YOU DISCOVER STEEMIT, OR PERHAPS YOU MET SOMEBODY OR DID SOMETHING BECAUSE YOU WANTED TO SATISFY YOUR CURIOSITY?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow, that is superb. You have found a Steemian reason for Brits to join in the Celebration of the 4th of July, hurray. :)

Thanks for the history lesson, and congrats for being such an early adopter!

I discovered Steem through the Youtube videos of Crypto Investor (@cryptovestor on Steemit), a very downbeat Crypto market analyst, who I instantly warmed to, because he never shills stuff. But he came out Steem positive, which is a rare thing for him.

If there hadn't been a Steemian reason to celebrate the 4th of July, I was thinking maybe we Brits should send our American cousins the following warm words from King George III's song, from the musical "Hamilton," to his departing American subjects after their success in defeating his forces in the Revolutionary war:

"You’ll be back, time will tell
You’ll remember that I served you well
Oceans rise, empires fall
We have seen each other through it all
And when push comes to shove
I will send a fully armed battalion to remind you of my love!"

Luckily, you have given all Steemians a reason to celebrate, so maybe I'll ask George to hold off sending his battalions at the moment. ;)

Hahaha, I love that song, the last line is a killer :-) - A lot of Steemians discovered Steemit through Youtube, just goes to show the power of that platform, I'll check out @cryptovestor he seems good :-)

Cg

Happy Independence day bro

You too man, you've kept the faith! :-)

Cg

Yes I also join in celebrating Steemit! You hit the nail on the head when it comes to not taking orders and having Independence. I am cut from the same cloth. I remember being introduced to Steemit in January and not posting till March all the while believing it HAD to be a scam!

Lolz, I remember thinking; well, if this is a scam, it is the most elaborate one I've ever come across and it is not trying to steal my money, but my time which is precious, but it won't bankrupt me so what the hell, just go for it!

:-)

Cg

For me it was also curiosity, no one I know in real life understands it. I had bought 5 STEEM a while before based on its market position, not even knowing what it was. I think its day will come. This is good advice, to stay curious and to not fear change. Happy 4th! Hard to believe no one has been here longer than 2 years.

Happy independence day mate @cryptogee! party hard.

Means it’s time for a double celebration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99