Steemit Life: It's Great That We Are Developing All These Apps! But Who's Gonna USE Them?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago

It seems almost no day passes without some "Grand Announcement" that someone has (or is) developed some really cool new dApp for the Steem Blockchain.

Wow! Cool! Awesome!

"We're really excited about the new Flubboximizer dApp which will change the way the devs can develop new dApps to run inside other dApps!"

0887Sunflowers.jpg
These sunflowers make me happy...

Why... Bully for you!

Excuse me for a moment, but today's first post is going to be a bit of a frustrated rant!

Color me Cynical, Part I

Color me cynical, but who exactly is going to use all these dApps? Which leads me to the follow-up question... (which is one of the root truisms and principles of building ANY business) "Are you actually building something to address the needs of a known client base... or are you merely 'developing an app in search of a customer?""

Trees
Evening light

Because if it's the latter, you're going to be really, really disappointed when you show off your new "magic toy" and it's received with a massive "and WHO exactly CARES about this?" Which is basically the sound of the thud a lead balloon makes when it hits the ground.

There is a lot of stuff in our world that has no business being "brought to market." In many cases, because there is simply no need for it, or there's already an oversupply of it. Like video stores in the 1980's.

Have you noticed how shopping malls keep shutting down? And how we are going to lose 30% of all shopping malls in the next 5 years?

It's not because the stores had "bad ideas," and it's not even because of the growth of online shopping... it's because of the "elephant in the room" nobody's willing to look at and "own," namely that we have way too much shopping available — NOBODY ACTUALLY NEEDS ALL THAT STUFF!

And so, I come back to my first cynical question: "Who's actually going to USE all these dApps?"

If you come here with "Lambo Dreams" and all you can muster is 300 users... you're going to be really unhappy!

Color me Cynical, Part II

Knowing what we already covered in Part I, I keep coming back to "The Establishment's" pervasive ability to ignore Steemit's actual community of end users and content creators.

You go out and ask the world, and most people equate "Steemit" with "Steem."

Whether you like it or not — or intended it, or not — it has become rather like "Kleenex" and "tissues," or "Xerox" and "copies."

Steemit is associated with Steem... and it's just like people are going to ask for *"a Kleenex" to blow their nose, not a "Puffs," or some other arbitrary brand.

So Fncking WORK with it!

Hereunder, STOP working so damn hard to market Steem purely as "A great place to develop dApps!" and wake up to the fact that one of the primary benefits of this community is precisely is that you could put a little effort into community building (including an improved Steemit front-end user interface) at the end of which you would be able to say the following:

The Steem Blockchain is a great place to develop dApps... AND WE ALREADY HAVE A HUGE BUILT-IN USER BASE!

See what I just did, there?

0887Sage.jpg
Close-up of sage blossoms

It's Called "Differentiation," in Marketing Speak

If the people who make a difference around here could just pull their collective heads out of wherever they keep them for long enough to see a little daylight...

... you'd also be able to see that being able to see that being able to offer a "built-in user base" can be a huge competitive advantage.

Which will become more and more important, as Steemit social competitors and new blockchain projects increasingly come to market.

Right now, we can still materially "trade" on having the "First Mover Advantage" in this field, but let's not squander it by being short sighted, narrow minded and excessively solipsistic.

I say this, as I watch very worthy and hard-working community organizations on Steemit struggle to build their delegations enough to make a tiny difference (shoutout and thanks to people like @theycallmedan, @bluemist, @fulltimegeek and others who DO support community building!) with 10K SP, while others get 500K SP handed to them on a place because their last sneeze might have sounded a little like a potential new dApp...

Really?

Can we not be a little more discerning and balanced here?

And before you get too "protesty" and butthurt with me here... I ask you again "Who's going to USE your amazing new dApp?"

/end rant

Thanks for reading!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190213 16:06 PST

0887

Sort:  

Im using them!

Im using:

  • Actifit
  • Partiko
  • Steemit
  • Magic-dice
  • Steem Monsters

And as compared to other dapp platforms we have as much or more users and daily activity.

So although we have to grow, we have come along way also.

:)

Posted using Partiko Android

Mine are pretty much limited to Steemit, SteemPeak (better editing tools), SteemWorld and once in a while Steepshot.

And whereas we have a lot of users "compared to other blockchains," imagine how many we'd have if emphasis had been given to the social front end from the start — community building, curation, retention — and we now were working with a million active users, rather than somewhere between 40,000 and 50,000. Imagine how many people would want to develop dApps with THAT kind of user base!

You are right, it could be so much better. But I also think the next bull run will bring more opportunity to grow our space. Lets see how Steem inc handles that.

Im betting on Steem. Its my biggest crypto investment.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is one thing I’ve noticed. The other week I was putting together a list of some useful dapps, tools and some other stuff. Realized I had 10+ blockchain explores listed in there. I told everyone we are good and don’t need any more recommend. Had a few people try and get even more added.

I can see why people make them. They think this is going be useful and everyone will want to use it. Otherwise the ones they know of did not include the one extra field they included in there. I assume they are also just a great way to teach yourself how to developed something that works with the blockchain itself. Which I suspect might by how we ended up with so many. I'm sure right now someone is working on another one.

I get it, on some level. Everyone thinks they have "a great idea," just like a ton of people go on American Idol because they think they can sing. Hope and optimism is what drives a great many people.

I am sure there are lots of them in the works. But making something truly stellar and worthwhile — @steemchiller's SteemWorld and @steemmonsters comes to mind — takes hundreds (if not thousands) of hours of intensive work by teams of developers to bring to a fully workable state.

Part of my opinion is colored by working in the IT industry, but in the usability department... and realizing that a lot of code is basically created as "devs writing for devs" and it has little functional application outside a 0.01% niche market.

Just give this a thought, @denmarkguy. Someone hears about a cool Wizards of The Coast-like game online called Steem Monsters. They follow the link and register in the game and they love it. They may not even realize that they are on the steem blockchain. Hell, they might not even know what a blockchain is, but one thing is true they think Steem Monsters is the bomb.

dApps can now onboard new users and will most likely soon be able to donate some RCs to the new users instead of delegating SPs like at present. My RC allotment allows me to claim an account token every 3 days or so via steeminvite.com.

The steem blockchain has potential far beyond its most popular social media dApp. The potential user base is all those on the internet, not just those already owning an account.

Hope that may have presented another angle on the potential of dApps of the steem blockchain.

but..but..but...don't the 'bot-curators' nEED those whatchamacallits?
(what IS a dApp anyway?)
but I digress...isn't Steem/stimmit/ (whatEVER) a social app?
I mean...ya know..SOCIAL?

sorry...I'll have my 'bot get with your 'bot...
(Is there an Ap for that?)

"I'll have my bot get in touch with your bot!"
Now that you have said it out loud, someone will feel the need to bring it into existence.
dApp = Decentralized APPlication. Nerd speak for "app that runs on a blockchain." Because God forbid we shouldn't have our own cryptic terminology...

Yanno, I wouldn't be griping if they hadn't decided to call this a "Social Content Platform," right up front.
Silly me. The name gave me expectations of what I might expect here...

I like your rants....It makes me feel more sane..

Support activities for 'color me cynical', below.....(for when it appears that steemit are not listening.)

"Color me cynical." I could be a movement.

Clearly, the guy in the clip uses it as a movement....

Yeah! Please, Go ahead @denmarkguy!! be you the leader of this "Color me cynical" movement.

I'll be the second to follow to transform YOU (the lone nut) into an authentic leader. And then, we'll be ready to delegate to @lucylin the tough task to flirt and conquer all the hot chicks in the place to get to our true successful momentum and finally build the movement!! :)

Rant was and is needed. Hope SOMEONE is ACTIVELY listening. Priorities, priorities...

I don't much like the color blue, so I'm going to not hold my breath on this one. But it would still be nice if some orca/whale decided to comment and re-steem this. Probably not gonna happen, but one can but hope!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You made a valid point. Something which I wondered myself.

But then, that's life. Whether it is shopping malls or dApps, people will try their luck. For some, they think that they have what others don't, and they will make it in the market. For some, it is a case where they didn't think out their move, and are destined to flop.

Some will succeed, some will not. Some will stay for a bit and disappeared into oblivion. Those that succeed has something which the market wants or needs.

Whether you will be successful or not, you won't know until you give it a try. And, basically, that's what I think is happening here. At the end of the day, it's survival of the fittest, or survival of those who can offer something useful to the masses.

Bravo! Hurrah! This way... is like I want to see you more often, my dear friend.

¡Grumpy & Cranky spitting out your mind with huge truths!

Now, just wait for me a little bit to check. I think I must have an extra unused Pink Attire on my closet to send you right away. :)

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00