You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using Google Image Search After the Recent Change

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for this information boss, its funny, cause I didnt notice at all.

Picture plagiarism is so deeply rooted on steemit that Im sure several lawsuits would be pending on some peoples head if it was found out, maybe even I in my early days,:D.

In a way, I support the move, despite continuous caution, advises, many simply take an image, and label it ''source, google image'' .

this still works though,. . . .so. . . . . . .
Screenshot (21).png

P.S ppl, google is not a source, nothing like source: google images or source:google

get an image thats free to use, or cite the proper source, by following the visit links

Sort:  

I was once guilty of it during my very early days. I didn't understand how heavy the crime was until @steemcleaners visited my blog and flagged one high-earning post to zero. It was painful but I learnt to do the right thing afterwards. However, quite unfortunately, most of these stolen pictures manage to escape the bot.

checking pic plagiarism isnt easy, but image search does ease things a bit.

also, if a person claims an exotic flower pic, a google search using as close a name as possible could bring out the location and sites that those sort of images were lifted from.

apart from that, one could just go around verifying the identity of the person claiming a pic, and cross ref that with their steemit posts, and their previous posts etc.

It is a really hectic job. But I think any length should be reached to bring defaulters to book. I have come to understand that picture plagiarism is very very bad

Yes, the thumbnail is there, but it isn't really big enough for most uses.

@destinysaid, you are so right, we have all been guilty one time or the other for this but i am pretty sure plagiarism is being checked daily and in no time, such will become so unpopular.

Though i observed that the feature might not be enabled on all browser yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87