Is There Anybody Out There?

in #steemit6 years ago

Even with my reduced schedule, I still put out a great deal of content here. And I have a nice number of people and a couple of trails voting for me. And that's nice. If the currency ever rises, it can even be very nice. But I'm getting very few comments. Almost no personal comments from actual people. And I've been wondering: Is anyone actually reading my posts? Am I shouting into the void? I get more human engagement on my moderation posts for @utopian-io than I do for my posts here.

Empty
Image credit: Tama66 on Pixabay

I try to create quality content. Informative, with opinion and entertainment thrown in for funsies. People have told me that they find my work to be of high quality. But are they still coming in to read?

I also follow a few trails myself. And since my VP is regularly used, I've found that I don't read nearly as many posts as I used to. Basically, it's the posts I moderate for Utopian and almost nothing else. So if there's an epidemic of not reading the posts, I'm a part of it. But I do see people getting engagement on their posts. Getting comments and a conversation. Is it because I'm not engaging much outside of my moderating duties?

So, basically, if any of y'all actually read this, could you comment on this post, please? I would super appreciate that. I don't need theories on why others don't comment, but if you want to tell me why you don't, especially on the daily posts, I'd be thankful.

Sort:  

I’m here. Sometimes I comment. Most of the times I don’t. I tend to upvote and comment those I have regular interactions with - currently we don’t have a lot of those. Steemit is about reciprocity for me :-) Not a vote for vote thing - but building a friendship. You’ve been more absent and I know (partly!) why so I still say hi from time to time <3 But I can’t keep up with all those I interact with so I become more selective in picking which posts to read that day.

I know these feelings. I also know I've been absent. Depression, then trying to fill my time with Utopian stuff. It's been a lot. And I haven't been reading... well... anyone here, really. It's crappy. But I'm very glad you're still here.

Just don’t blame yourself. Things come and go and come back again. Depression is rough. Now Utopian eats your time - and as long as that works for you keep doing it. I’m still here when you want to be here ‘more’ again <3

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I'm noticing the same thing. Universally, content creators desire feedback on their works but it is significantly more difficult to give feedback on others work.

Idk, I've considered aiming my efforts at the #writing community by providing public feedback on any writing as a service similar to re-steem bots, because the amount of flawless content is slim to none and could benefit from criticism. But nobody gives it.

I'm trying creative ways, posing questions, giving challenges to people, anything to help drive engagement. I'd love to hear if you have any ideas.

Cheers,

~Mako

Post read. ☺️

What if all Steemit is now is bots? Like if this were a SciFi movie or episode of Black Mirror you would see people alone writing posts but never reading anyone else’s stuff. It would be a commentary on how computers have taken up so much of our lives we don’t interact in real life and we don’t even interact via the computer on social media because it has all been computerized.

🤔 💭

I started following you recently :) Since you are moderating my utopian post I wanted to see, how does a professional written post looks like.

I am here. I rarely comment though.

I'm here too, but am super busy with my 3 girls and making sure I post once daily, I do read but just don't have time to do both xx

Hi @didic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.338 which ranks you at #7348 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 21 places in the last three days (old rank 7369).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 441 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75