Question from a noob

in #steemit6 years ago
  1. is it frowned apon in the steemit community to like your own posts? I have been liking my own blog posts (not comments) because i think it gets the ball rolling.... not as a method to get an extra .001 stem... seems like the first upvote is the hardest to get.... so if you are proud of your post why not do it! .... i could see why people may be against this practice.... but to me it seems less shady than using upvote bots or paying for promotion. (If this judged to be an unacceptable practice.... i will stop)
Sort:  

It doesn't matter until you have a strong power.

How strong is strong?

Ah, yeah fuckit, they always bitching about this shit.

The way I see it my vote is worth little, so selfvoting benefits me nothing, from a marketing aspect my vote might be better used on others post. Especially if I commented since I don't like commenting and not voting.

Your vote is also not massive but big enough to spread. This is where the work comes in and quoting 10 times before making a sale. Strictly from a "taking a divident" point you can see whether your 3cent vote is a good return when voting at min 0, obviously after that you start losing since the curation part get's burned. Minute 1 you are on 6% less return on your vote, minute 14 you are on 94% less on your vote and gain no curation from bonus from votes after. Min 15/6 you get a 75% return of your vote with 25% going into the curation reward, you will get a bonus if you get big votes after your vote then. Or if you are quite big the nice thing to do would to wait and then vote last giving your followers a nice curation boost, but I doubt they would even notice that and since your vote is small I also don't see selfvoting now as mattering all that much. It is frowned upon but if your vote is big enough and all you do is selfvote it seems the sheeple will still follow to get some of bits dripping from the tip. Ok maybe I went very broad very fast.

Alas it is your decision, even botting up is fine , but is your content $100? can you handle the flagging when it comes or boost now, then spread the vote in the community (that is why they bitch - and I think economics but yeah mostly because they don't get fat votes)

Honestly if you want to invest I don't even see an issue with boosting your posts max, gain a following. I guess you can figure out your game plan.

If I have not answered anything. Let me know.

It is not a problem, We as new Steamians need to get our work seen, so naturally upvote your own work as it all helps, if only mildly. No problem with it when competing with bots and whales here

Thanks! Still undecided about it myself...... on one hand I don’t want to risk my reputation.... but on the other hand in the immortal words of skid row “ i never really played by the rules, i never really cared, my nasty reputation takes me everywhere”

If that is the way you want to position yourself here go for it. People like different here lol

Congratulations @dirtydave! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

no, i upvote my post every time... just as long as you don't upvote your own comments, that's generallly poor taste i think

new follower

Thanks

New followed back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55