You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Authors Pay For Their Votes

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I upvoted you 10 cents before reading it... WORTH! :D

Anyway, these weird/greedy voting services will be crushed by future innovations. It only takes one programmer to come along and provide a service for free to undercut every other service into oblivion. This is what I call the "Race to the Bottom".

Already I have plans to create a decentralized application that will allow the exchange of goods and services. Vote buying will only one of the possible things you can do with it. The real innovation behind this idea lies in a new reputation system I want to create that will put Steemit's to shame. I can dream.

Now I just need to buckle down and learn JavaScript and Node.js
Ug, programming is hard.

Sort:  

This one was started with the best of intentions, but as always people find a way to bend a system to suit their intentions in ways the creators didn't foresee. I saw this a lot in self publishing as the scammers would take advantage of the systems (usually with Kindle) until Amazon would respond by smashing innocent accounts in their corrections.

Yeah, programming is difficult, but I slowly keep feeling myself pulled to learning it too. Just curious, but would the app you are considering be for this blockchain or one of the others? I have shied away from the Steem apps out of fear of giving them my keys.

It would be for Steem initially. Modularity is the key to programming. I'm going to create a suite of apps that can plug and play on any blockchain that can store text information. The switch to other blockchains should not be that difficult.

My apps will not require any keys whatsoever, and even if they did it would only require the posting key.

People seem to have a lot of trust in SteemConnect. This manages your keys and allows you to give and take away access to apps without them actually ever seeing the private key. The worst thing that's ever happened to me is that @steemengineteam was 100% upvoting themselves once a day with the access I gave them. This didn't matter much because that upvote added to the amount I was owed in return and I was easily able to revoke their access once I was done using the service.

People seem to have a lot of trust in SteemConnect

I have noticed this as well, as many pushed for me to use it as well as the Discord (that I also don't use). I think it requires a lot of trust (that I don't have) to give them ones keys. I have no idea who they are and if one day they decided to use the keys to transfer all the Steem and SBD not sure what recourse anyone would have. Not sure how one would go after anonymous people who could play ship to the exchange and convert and send to other wallets that I couldn't follow.

This is the advantage of Vested Steem (Steem Power) and account recovery. It is near impossible for your Steem Power to get stolen, especially if you only ever use your owner key for changing your other keys.

Again, you shouldn't be too worried about giving out your posting key. The worst thing that can happen is you have to wait 5 days for your voting power to recharge.

Still, I agree with you. There are a lot of dapps on Steem that are just like apps on Android. They ask for way more permissions than they actually need. It's unacceptable.

Also, decentralization is the key. Some of my projects would require your posting key for convenience, but I still wouldn't have access to it. I want to create dapps using browser extensions like Chrome. Your posting key would be stored directly on your computer just like a MetaMask account (Ethereum Chrome wallet)

Probably showing my age here, but I also am wary of browser extensions and password holders too. I should set some time aside to learn more about them. Ever since the early 2000's when I saw viruses attaching themselves to my security I have had the mindset if it is on my computer it can be hacked. Especially with all the hacks on the government and big businesses.

It's important to note that the system I want to create is not exploitable. It is a decentralized free market... the way everything on here should be but for some reason isn't (greed).

Already I have plans to create a decentralized application that will allow the exchange of goods and services.

I hope you are building something like "eBay on the blockchain" because the entire industry — not just Steem/Steemit — sadly lacks functional application people can relate to at "street level." THAT is how we're going to end up with mass adoption, and not just "nerd central."

Funny that you mention it, because that is exactly the kind of thing I want to make.

I've also designed a Cards Against Humanity clone. People will be able to make their own decks and if other people use those decks they have the chance of getting tipped on steem.

I also have plans for a turn-based RPG on the blockchain. That idea is much more exciting but also much more work so my other ideas have to generate some income before I start that bad boy.

Lets see... I also want to create a very good filter for Steem that will allow people to generate their own trending pages, custom feeds, and moderate comments on big accounts. Again, proof-of-brain, if lots of other people are using your filter they will be incentivized to tip you.

This platform is a gold mine and very few people can see it.

I think you are right about it being a goldmine... sadly, it seems most people here have just obsessed over the "tech" and not the functional applications.

Back when I aired some of these ideas in early 2017, it was often met with hesitation and feedback that "people" had concerns about making Steem too much of a "Utility Coin."

As I poked around in that for a bit, it seemed that the hesitance was that "utility" coins were more stable because they would be tied to an actual business idea, and thus would not have the wild "500% in 5 days" swings that "lottery speculator investors" seem so fond of.

Seems like a weird thing to dwell on. I'd rather have a coin that goes x1000 in five years than one that randomly goes up and down x5 every so often.

Afraid of "utility" coins? Like a coin being useful is bad? Dumb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75