Sort:  

I upvoted you 10 cents before reading it... WORTH! :D

Anyway, these weird/greedy voting services will be crushed by future innovations. It only takes one programmer to come along and provide a service for free to undercut every other service into oblivion. This is what I call the "Race to the Bottom".

Already I have plans to create a decentralized application that will allow the exchange of goods and services. Vote buying will only one of the possible things you can do with it. The real innovation behind this idea lies in a new reputation system I want to create that will put Steemit's to shame. I can dream.

Now I just need to buckle down and learn JavaScript and Node.js
Ug, programming is hard.

This one was started with the best of intentions, but as always people find a way to bend a system to suit their intentions in ways the creators didn't foresee. I saw this a lot in self publishing as the scammers would take advantage of the systems (usually with Kindle) until Amazon would respond by smashing innocent accounts in their corrections.

Yeah, programming is difficult, but I slowly keep feeling myself pulled to learning it too. Just curious, but would the app you are considering be for this blockchain or one of the others? I have shied away from the Steem apps out of fear of giving them my keys.

It would be for Steem initially. Modularity is the key to programming. I'm going to create a suite of apps that can plug and play on any blockchain that can store text information. The switch to other blockchains should not be that difficult.

My apps will not require any keys whatsoever, and even if they did it would only require the posting key.

People seem to have a lot of trust in SteemConnect. This manages your keys and allows you to give and take away access to apps without them actually ever seeing the private key. The worst thing that's ever happened to me is that @steemengineteam was 100% upvoting themselves once a day with the access I gave them. This didn't matter much because that upvote added to the amount I was owed in return and I was easily able to revoke their access once I was done using the service.

People seem to have a lot of trust in SteemConnect

I have noticed this as well, as many pushed for me to use it as well as the Discord (that I also don't use). I think it requires a lot of trust (that I don't have) to give them ones keys. I have no idea who they are and if one day they decided to use the keys to transfer all the Steem and SBD not sure what recourse anyone would have. Not sure how one would go after anonymous people who could play ship to the exchange and convert and send to other wallets that I couldn't follow.

This is the advantage of Vested Steem (Steem Power) and account recovery. It is near impossible for your Steem Power to get stolen, especially if you only ever use your owner key for changing your other keys.

Again, you shouldn't be too worried about giving out your posting key. The worst thing that can happen is you have to wait 5 days for your voting power to recharge.

Still, I agree with you. There are a lot of dapps on Steem that are just like apps on Android. They ask for way more permissions than they actually need. It's unacceptable.

Also, decentralization is the key. Some of my projects would require your posting key for convenience, but I still wouldn't have access to it. I want to create dapps using browser extensions like Chrome. Your posting key would be stored directly on your computer just like a MetaMask account (Ethereum Chrome wallet)

Probably showing my age here, but I also am wary of browser extensions and password holders too. I should set some time aside to learn more about them. Ever since the early 2000's when I saw viruses attaching themselves to my security I have had the mindset if it is on my computer it can be hacked. Especially with all the hacks on the government and big businesses.

It's important to note that the system I want to create is not exploitable. It is a decentralized free market... the way everything on here should be but for some reason isn't (greed).

Already I have plans to create a decentralized application that will allow the exchange of goods and services.

I hope you are building something like "eBay on the blockchain" because the entire industry — not just Steem/Steemit — sadly lacks functional application people can relate to at "street level." THAT is how we're going to end up with mass adoption, and not just "nerd central."

Funny that you mention it, because that is exactly the kind of thing I want to make.

I've also designed a Cards Against Humanity clone. People will be able to make their own decks and if other people use those decks they have the chance of getting tipped on steem.

I also have plans for a turn-based RPG on the blockchain. That idea is much more exciting but also much more work so my other ideas have to generate some income before I start that bad boy.

Lets see... I also want to create a very good filter for Steem that will allow people to generate their own trending pages, custom feeds, and moderate comments on big accounts. Again, proof-of-brain, if lots of other people are using your filter they will be incentivized to tip you.

This platform is a gold mine and very few people can see it.

I think you are right about it being a goldmine... sadly, it seems most people here have just obsessed over the "tech" and not the functional applications.

Back when I aired some of these ideas in early 2017, it was often met with hesitation and feedback that "people" had concerns about making Steem too much of a "Utility Coin."

As I poked around in that for a bit, it seemed that the hesitance was that "utility" coins were more stable because they would be tied to an actual business idea, and thus would not have the wild "500% in 5 days" swings that "lottery speculator investors" seem so fond of.

Seems like a weird thing to dwell on. I'd rather have a coin that goes x1000 in five years than one that randomly goes up and down x5 every so often.

Afraid of "utility" coins? Like a coin being useful is bad? Dumb.

I've not invested real world fiat for this world fiat, so my wallet has cost me nothing. One of my first goals was to be able to give my 2 cents (...vote. I had no clue about the dust vote thing, just thought it would be fun because of the saying...)

  • Then I learned about the 2 cent dust vote and realized I had been wasting most of my votes this whole time unless I voted on something that had over 2 cents payout already.
    • After reading about the dust vote problem situation, I purchased enough delegation to get me up to the 2 cent vote. I wanted to be able to give a vote that paid regardless if anyone else voted with me... All was hunky dory for awhile. I could upvote any dust votes to reach payouts. My thinking wasn't so I would make anything, that was just a nice side benefit. My thinking was, without my vote their vote was wasted. If I could upvote it past dust, they at least make something back on curation... And that's the reason I bought into @dustsweeper and even add a note to all posts that your votes won't be dust...
      • Then someone found out the vote might need to actually be 3 cents. And the price dropped, so now I still can't non-dust vote.
  • All very frustrating, but I'll keep plugging and chugging...
    • Now my goal is for steem to rebound and I should comfortably be able to give a 3 cent vote...

I've not noticed people dropping their voting power, but I can see it would be very frustrating if dustsweeper is the reason they do it...

BTW... Welcome back!

BTW... Welcome back!

Thanks.

I too prefer to rent delegation to ensure the vote isn't dust. Probably part of what irks me a little that some seem to be relying on those they interact with using the dust sweeper to subsidize their interactions.

It's a matter of character, which I know you understand as you too have purchased delegation for others benefit.

Just to throw in my 2 cents (sorry couldn't resist. :-)
As long as a post or comment makes a total of $0.02, then it gets paid out, whether it was one 2 cent upvote, or 200 $0.001 upvotes. In other words, I don't know why your followers are cutting back their upvotes, but you still are receiving benefit from them, though a smaller benefit of course. For example your current post has $1.28 in upvotes from 14 votes, if someone upvoted you with $0.001 it would still benefit you, because your post made over 2 cents.

I can see the usefulness of dustsweeper, because I have a 2 cent upvote value, and my account is worth around $450. This is a massive sum of money to many people in the world, and it must be frustrating to upvote a friend's comment with $0.01, and the friend never gets any benefit from it (this is assuming that your 1 cent vote was the only vote). All the money you put into dustsweeper comes back to you, as it doesn't make you any money, but it does capture votes that would be "rounded down" and simply disappear.
As for your point about them going bankrupt, I don't think that will happen because they probably have a large amount of "float". Just like a store that sells gift cards that take an average of 6 months to redeem, there is a lot of money in it that is just waiting to be paid out. During that time the account can grow etc. to catch up. In your example of the exploitation, buying lots of small votes for a single post would not trigger dustsweeper if the total upvote was over 2 cents. If it added up to $0.015 cents, then dustsweeper would kick in a small amount once to bring it over 2 cents. To try to exploit it, you would have to buy 1 tiny upvote for each post/comment, which would be time consuming, and you would have to have massive numbers of active posts/comments to do this. Hope this helps.

Thanks for pointing that out about the not paying if all of the votes tally up to more than dust.

I have been noticing it on the comments honestly, where others who used to upvote 50-100% are now upvoting 10-20% to meet the .01. The only difference being the dustsweeper.

I totally get why it was started, but I am feeling like many are now using it as a way to spread their vote around, only if the people they are doing this with do not pay into the dustsweeper, those votes will now remain dust. On principle, I am refusing to pay to subsidize others votes on my comments.

Fair enough, I agree that a "token" vote has the opposite effect intended.

As I understand it, DustSweeper was originally created to help newbies feel less like their time here was just wasted, especially commenting. Someone leaves a comment, they get about a 1c upvote and it just becomes nothing. I like @danielsaori who created it... he's one of the up and coming "community" based witnesses.

Seems like nobody ever invents anything who has a full understanding of the extraordinary depth of human greed and selfishness... so pretty much everything is subject to exploitation. Sad... but true.

Seems like nobody ever invents anything who has a full understanding of the extraordinary depth of human greed and selfishness... so pretty much everything is subject to exploitation. Sad... but true.

Yeah, it sucks that people always find a way to twist great ideas into selfish tools. I am unfamiliar with @danielsaori, but I applaud his intent as there should not be a "dust" situation to begin with.

Thanks for commenting, and will look more into daniel as most of my witness spots are unfilled.

I prefer engagement anyway... never considered the dustweeper stuff

I was wary of it too, but many in my circles pitched it. I have a lot of respect for one of the founders of it @davemccoy. However, my understanding was its original purpose was to help those who have so little voting power that they never receive curation rewards. While I struggle to get by, I am blessed enough to figure out ways to invest small amounts (not only to power up but to rent delegation), and I don't assume everyone can do this.

Yes, you do prefer engagement. I have watched you grow here as I have, our join times only separated by a few months. We tend to run in the same circles so yours was one of the first accounts I noticed (many of those first ones are no longer here).

Yeah, the whole reward system is a little wonky. I find the bot thing confusing at best, and for sure very frustrating. I second your statement that "on principle I refuse anymore to subsidize votes on my own posts. You either feel it is worthy or you don't." Shame that a lot of good posts get diddly squat and a bunch of BS gets a lot thanks to bots. So is the system. At some points there will be attrition due to discouragement, shame because lots of interesting people/posts on here. I guess a lot of tweaking will need to happen to make this platform worth staying on in the long run.

I will admit I am not vehemently opposed to the bots as I played with them when I first got here based on videos from a couple of the scammer witnesses who brought me here. Overall they are a loss of money most of the time, and do very little to attract followers as most whom one would want in your circle don't peruse the trending/hot feeds. At the end of the day most who use the vote bots are paying money to post, and once out of money probably have no real following to show for it.

I wrote a post a month ago (so don't upvote it since it is way past payout) that may help shed a little light on how this site is probably viewed by those running it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@practicalthought/your-future-with-steemit

I still believe in the future of Steem, and am so grateful for the opportunity to earn my little slivers while finding really cool and interesting people to learn from and interact with. I know this post sounds a little Mr. Grouchybritches, but it is a good thing really as I am further shaping the vision of a community I want to see here and shedding those who don't fit in that picture.

Ha ha 😃, Mr. “Grouchybritches”, it is actually informative to hear about people’s experience with bots and if you are instrumental in shaping the vision of the Steemit community all the more power to you !

Okay, so you and I are on the same page, though I hadn't been thinking about it in the same terms. I've not been saying anything about it myself because people are pretty happy with it from what I can tell. Some are even promoting it. I like these people, so I've been giving it and them the benefit of the doubt while I observe it more.

I personally have not participated, but I'm probably benefiting from it too because of others. I'm not sure how to avoid that, other than to stop interacting with people. But if I do that, how do I know the next person or the next isn't tied into dustweeper, too? And is larger SP participating, so they can stretch their 1% votes farther?

I've been adjusting my vote up and down depending on the content, but never below $0.03. That means I've been up to 25% just to clear that, depending on where STEEM is. It also means I have fewer votes to give out each day while I'm keeping things above the dust payout threshold.

The sad thing about this is we even have to think about this stuff at all. While it's okay from a transparency and control perspective (we know what's going on, we know how it's calculating, and we wield the sliders—those that have it or find it at places like busy), it's just so distracting. I really don't know what would be better, but this constant calculating is just frustrating.

I do need a clarification on something, though. Are you saying that dustsweeper is also kicking in on upvotes where the amount is above the $0.03 threshold? My understanding of how this would work is that the dustsweeper would be taking care of the difference between a vote and the threshold. If the threshold was exceeded, then the vote would remain at whatever amount it was.

If that's not the case, then I don't know. Doesn't that end up being another manipulation of the reward pool, albeit, perhaps, on a much smaller scale than what the big SP might accomplish in a day?

I don't know. The more that happens here, the more I know I just want to keep my head down and write. :)

My understanding of the way it works is you send your sbd to them, and they double the value. Then, all of the dust upvotes you receive will have the sbd you sent them (that was doubled) will be applied to those votes making them payable now. So, as an example, if I vote someone at a dust level, my paying in doesn't benefit the person I gave the dust vote to. It would only benefit me on votes I receive. From their page here

https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Can @dustsweeper be used when I upvote other people?

This is not possible at this time but will be possible in a future update. The idea is to make this an opt-in service for those interested.

I will admit I too like some of the people pushing it, but the idea that they believe I need to opt in to get any benefit from their vote hits me wrong. Why should I be responsible for paying for their upvote to me. I can do without it, lol. And I really don't believe that it was set up to be used in this way.

Then, as I pointed out, I am surprised many scammers are not using this service in conjunction with the resteem bots that guarantee 40+ dust votes. Seems a quick way one could double their investment in a week, lol.

You are correct in that anything over the dust threshold does not receive a vote boost. It is sad many are thinking about this. I say it a lot, but i rent delegation so I can give people non dust votes. Not enough to get anyone excited, but I want those I engage with to find it rewarding (as you do). The thought that I would expect those I engage with to pay for my upvote to them is a ludicrous one that would never occur to me if I wasn't witnessing it happening to me.

Okay, so that's not what I understood dustweeper was. I thought it was to cover the votes of the person opting in and paying, not cover the votes of others voting for you. I have to agree, that's more problematic than the other is.

It's stuff like this that I don't get why people are so quick to jump onboard. I'm not a fan of steem basic income either. Aren't we saying that every post deserves something? Why? Just because it exists?

I understand the purpose and I agree, it can be tough here, but what's the difference between me buying a lifetime membership to SBI and then getting my upvotes according to what I paid in, and someone using bidbots. Scale maybe? That might be now, but what does it look like a year from now? Two? I don't know. Sometimes it feels like I'm going crazy here.

Resteeming service..i used various ones early on. Talked with @krnel learned why not to use them!

I like your content because i always learn something new, or entertained by reading it.

Anyway, talk later!

Yeah, I shied away from them from the get go as they reminded me of the many retweet services pitching to the self publishing community. Usually the followers are fake (you can buy them by the thousands) and the results are always nil. I just cant see people following accounts that spend all their time resteeming others work for money.

I appreciate you enjoy my posts. I will admit there have been several you have done on legalities that would make for a great book if compiled together.

I agree, thanks for encouraging me again. It could be an amazing book. I learned that many humans, don't want help like that. They want someone to do it for them.

Until a point, where i would read the material, the legal posts where intended for, it never changes. Help Help! Or i have been reading cases for years...😒

Disheartening to say the least. You provide the solution (as a business 98% success rate), yet its not good enough?

I eventually came to realize, this was a way for others to make steem?

See my post, memo.

I'm trying to branch out. See my other post, mother earth..

Will go check it out now.

A 100% vote for you sir, and not because I saw you on my feed. ;) Ginabot tells me when you make a post.

Never really considered using votesweeper. Now I'm sure I don't want it.

Thank you :)

The idea behind the dust sweeper was good, unfortunately like with all things, once people get involved it never resembles what was intended.

Have you heard anything more on the job? I went and applied at a temp agency and a storage facility earlier today. Hoping nothing materializes before next week though. I caught something on the bus ride here and can't seem to shake it.

Oh no! Hope you get better soon! As far as my job, the manager said i should be set up on the schedule by the end of the week. :)

Thanks, me too. I don't get sick often, but when I do it usually kicks my ass.

Awesome on the job. I hope you find at least one gem there you will be caring for that makes it something you look forward to.

Well, don't forget with the dropping price, my 1% vote no longer is enough to give 2 cents. I wonder how many others are in the same boat.

I get that, and would have thought the same if I didn't always have SteemWorld open. I have watched many in my circles change their percentage voting habits since the inception of @dustsweeper. About a month ago another Steemian started a post on this same phenomena, although he never suspected this could be the cause.

As one who rents most of my SP so I can have more votes (that are not dust) I have watched in the last 2 months as my vote has went from .12 to .05, so I totally get what you are saying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85