You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Authors Pay For Their Votes

in #steemit6 years ago

Yeah, the whole reward system is a little wonky. I find the bot thing confusing at best, and for sure very frustrating. I second your statement that "on principle I refuse anymore to subsidize votes on my own posts. You either feel it is worthy or you don't." Shame that a lot of good posts get diddly squat and a bunch of BS gets a lot thanks to bots. So is the system. At some points there will be attrition due to discouragement, shame because lots of interesting people/posts on here. I guess a lot of tweaking will need to happen to make this platform worth staying on in the long run.

Sort:  

I will admit I am not vehemently opposed to the bots as I played with them when I first got here based on videos from a couple of the scammer witnesses who brought me here. Overall they are a loss of money most of the time, and do very little to attract followers as most whom one would want in your circle don't peruse the trending/hot feeds. At the end of the day most who use the vote bots are paying money to post, and once out of money probably have no real following to show for it.

I wrote a post a month ago (so don't upvote it since it is way past payout) that may help shed a little light on how this site is probably viewed by those running it.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@practicalthought/your-future-with-steemit

I still believe in the future of Steem, and am so grateful for the opportunity to earn my little slivers while finding really cool and interesting people to learn from and interact with. I know this post sounds a little Mr. Grouchybritches, but it is a good thing really as I am further shaping the vision of a community I want to see here and shedding those who don't fit in that picture.

Ha ha 😃, Mr. “Grouchybritches”, it is actually informative to hear about people’s experience with bots and if you are instrumental in shaping the vision of the Steemit community all the more power to you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77