You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Authors Pay For Their Votes

in #steemit6 years ago

Okay, so you and I are on the same page, though I hadn't been thinking about it in the same terms. I've not been saying anything about it myself because people are pretty happy with it from what I can tell. Some are even promoting it. I like these people, so I've been giving it and them the benefit of the doubt while I observe it more.

I personally have not participated, but I'm probably benefiting from it too because of others. I'm not sure how to avoid that, other than to stop interacting with people. But if I do that, how do I know the next person or the next isn't tied into dustweeper, too? And is larger SP participating, so they can stretch their 1% votes farther?

I've been adjusting my vote up and down depending on the content, but never below $0.03. That means I've been up to 25% just to clear that, depending on where STEEM is. It also means I have fewer votes to give out each day while I'm keeping things above the dust payout threshold.

The sad thing about this is we even have to think about this stuff at all. While it's okay from a transparency and control perspective (we know what's going on, we know how it's calculating, and we wield the sliders—those that have it or find it at places like busy), it's just so distracting. I really don't know what would be better, but this constant calculating is just frustrating.

I do need a clarification on something, though. Are you saying that dustsweeper is also kicking in on upvotes where the amount is above the $0.03 threshold? My understanding of how this would work is that the dustsweeper would be taking care of the difference between a vote and the threshold. If the threshold was exceeded, then the vote would remain at whatever amount it was.

If that's not the case, then I don't know. Doesn't that end up being another manipulation of the reward pool, albeit, perhaps, on a much smaller scale than what the big SP might accomplish in a day?

I don't know. The more that happens here, the more I know I just want to keep my head down and write. :)

Sort:  

My understanding of the way it works is you send your sbd to them, and they double the value. Then, all of the dust upvotes you receive will have the sbd you sent them (that was doubled) will be applied to those votes making them payable now. So, as an example, if I vote someone at a dust level, my paying in doesn't benefit the person I gave the dust vote to. It would only benefit me on votes I receive. From their page here

https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Can @dustsweeper be used when I upvote other people?

This is not possible at this time but will be possible in a future update. The idea is to make this an opt-in service for those interested.

I will admit I too like some of the people pushing it, but the idea that they believe I need to opt in to get any benefit from their vote hits me wrong. Why should I be responsible for paying for their upvote to me. I can do without it, lol. And I really don't believe that it was set up to be used in this way.

Then, as I pointed out, I am surprised many scammers are not using this service in conjunction with the resteem bots that guarantee 40+ dust votes. Seems a quick way one could double their investment in a week, lol.

You are correct in that anything over the dust threshold does not receive a vote boost. It is sad many are thinking about this. I say it a lot, but i rent delegation so I can give people non dust votes. Not enough to get anyone excited, but I want those I engage with to find it rewarding (as you do). The thought that I would expect those I engage with to pay for my upvote to them is a ludicrous one that would never occur to me if I wasn't witnessing it happening to me.

Okay, so that's not what I understood dustweeper was. I thought it was to cover the votes of the person opting in and paying, not cover the votes of others voting for you. I have to agree, that's more problematic than the other is.

It's stuff like this that I don't get why people are so quick to jump onboard. I'm not a fan of steem basic income either. Aren't we saying that every post deserves something? Why? Just because it exists?

I understand the purpose and I agree, it can be tough here, but what's the difference between me buying a lifetime membership to SBI and then getting my upvotes according to what I paid in, and someone using bidbots. Scale maybe? That might be now, but what does it look like a year from now? Two? I don't know. Sometimes it feels like I'm going crazy here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79