You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A false free market

in #steemit6 years ago

I'm gonna keep giving you shit for the fun of it, because you do have a tendency to go long occasionally on posts and post a fuckton, but I don't think you post shit. There are many that make some good posts. But it really seems like this place disincentivizes posting quality content.

On the one hand, you have people pushing others to work harder on posts (which I'm really slow to write), and on the other you have so many shit posts earning a lot. I don't think my shit posts deserve rewards, but I see no evidence that good posts get rewarded. Some good posts get rewarded. And some shit posts get rewarded. I'm starting to think it's better to just post as much as possible, and forget quality. Just make it the best you can while getting out as many posts as possible.

I don't feel right buying upvotes, even for the posts I think are worth far more, because I feel like it's going against the social contract of this place. You are basically bribing someone to upvote you. But there's no better option yet TBH. I technically probably should be vote buying, or buying delegation and posting as much as possible, but I want this place to succeed, and part of that is actually doing my part to curate.

Problem is the current interface sucks. The only thing we have is resteems, which are discouraged due to the UI, and Trending/Hot/Promoted. There's not even a "Trending Among Those You Follow". How are you expected to find good posts? Just stumble upon them? I know there aren't good posts in Trending. It just makes me sick to look at it.

Basically, this place isn't actually built to encourage the behavior we're supposed to be doing. Steemit is holding Steem back.

Sort:  

I'm gonna keep giving you shit for the fun of it, because you do have a tendency to go long occasionally on posts and post a fuckton, but I don't think you post shit.

I actually don't mind it, I am not made of glass ;)

I don't feel right buying upvotes, even for the posts I think are worth far more, because I feel like it's going against the social contract of this place.

I don't either but, I am trying to be more understanding of those who do as there is a future here that we might not see and I don't want people to miss out, yourself included.

Problem is the current interface sucks.

I have to say, this is one of the best interfaces I have used. The ease at which one can navigate, the simplicity of design, the smooth operations.... and all bug-free! :P

The interface is alright as far as looks. Very basic. But we need more, because it's Steem. We need tools to help curate, and we need to be able to resteem without fear that it will get in the way of our own posts.

Yeah, I agree. A couple filters, a couple options and the place is much easier. I know they don't want to develop Steemit too much and push it to other interfaces but, this is still the core front end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87