You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two years on Steemit and why I am confident that STEEM will hit $17.50 in H2 / 2018. Hopefully this video won't see me thrown into the "Hate Bin"..!! haha haha

in #steemit6 years ago

hey, @stephenkendal.

Watched the vlog and read through the post.

My initial thoughts going into the video were, I agree, there seems to be quite a bit being distributed to the technical or the developmental side, while not so much is happening (at least not on the same scale) on the commercial or creative side.

That said, and after reading a couple of comments, I know there is some upvoting going on (to what extent I don't know) by the folks behind the dApps, like dTube and perhaps others. So, there is that. However, I think where I've understood you're going with this is, that the vast majority of what is being delegated or distributed to the dApps is being used to pay for the development and administration of the dApps, and I would say, rightfully so, if we want different kinds of growth and to attract different kinds of users.

The problem as I see it is, and I'm believing this is what you're saying, threre's not really any other mechanism for providing funds to development than the same mechanism that is meant for rewarding content, and that's the reward pool. So, unless Steemit Inc is sending STEEM to these developers (not that I'm aware of), it's all coming from the delegations made by accounts such as misterdelegation along with some of the whales (lower SP creatures, too) some of which are technicals themselves.

I've been wondering if myself and those within my small circle were the only ones concerned about that, and so it's nice to know we're not. the question becomes, how does the funding of the apps with the reward pool stop, when there's not another mechanism ready to fill the gap?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88