You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Try Not To Get Discouraged If No One Reads Your Post And Spend More Time With Comments

in #steemit6 years ago

Man I cannot tell how good it is too see a senior steemian saying this. As a red fish who joined Steemit this January I noticed that some of posts actually got zero views (except maybe mine) after I spent several hours researching, writing and proof reading it.
This was a clear indicator that since people are not coming to me, so I better got to them. And that is what comments allow yo to do. After saying this in a couple of places, I got chastised by a few people, who told me to post more and comment less.
My question to them was - what for? Why should I post when I get no views. I was summarily told to post it for myself and others. I could only retort with - I have a diary for that and I didn't create a steemit account to just make a log of random crap that popped in mind time to time. So I delayed posting and started commenting more and the effectively brought more people to check my blog.
Thanks for writing this post man!

Sort:  

Agreed. Commenting is definitely the way to go. The zero views isn't your fault, the site is getting busy and it is a good sign that more people are posting. I just don't like to see people work hard and get frustrated because of it. We will need to mix things up with the updates to help quality posts and new people but for now that is the way to get the most from the system.

Advice taken and acknowledged! Your words are a huge motivator for me to stick to this strategy.

You're right. It's really not a good strategy to post more and comment less. After all, for good comments you may get an upvote whereas the best post in the world stays at zero when nobody notices it.

As long as you have enough posts where I can look at your account when I see a good comment and have some idea who you are and what you're interested in, that's fine.

I mean, it's fine the other way, too, but it won't get you follows.

You, of course, do, and got a follow out of me.

Thank you so much man!
Of course we need to have a some sort of balance in the strategy but as @whatageek says, the newbies do need to concentrate a little more on the comments :-)

I'm agreed too. Sometimes is too much that you take your time and effort making a good looking post with good content and gets no views nor upvotes, I even thought that the problem was my topics, thought that no one would like to read my reviews or something like that. But the truth is that this comunity is growing fast and sadly our post get lost between all the sea of content that is in here. As @whatageek said, the way to go are the comments, that way you can get to know more people, making friends that would be interested in the same topics and visit each others blog, you can grow with the comunity and not behind it.

Plus, I believe in the contest advice and recomended it a lot! I'm searching and participating in every contest I find that catch my attention, that's also a good and funny way to get some upvotes and show your habilities, interests, talents, knowledge, and also knowing new people because you just not work for your entry but also search for other contestants entries and comment on them. I'm with @whatageek on that, contests are your new best friends if you're a begginer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87