Try Not To Get Discouraged If No One Reads Your Post And Spend More Time With Comments

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey people of steem,

As this site works on becoming a more organized space for people to post (go communities) it is easy for your work to get lost or unseen. Very easy. There are 100s of thousands of posts flying through this site on a day so you can see why yours would go unnoticed. Because of this people can get frustrated with this site. You work hard on this quality post and it doesn't get any upvotes. Don't take it personally. It is not a matter of quality but the fact that people don't see it. You can be writing Shakespeare and it doesn't meant it is bad because no one voted for it. It is like that on a lot of sites, there is only so much space and so many people who can be showcased.

So what do you do? I recommend spending more of your time on comments and getting involved in conversations when you are new. This will help you build an account. And then test out some content to see if you start to make some steem. Also contests are your best friend so make sure you enter as many as you can.

I do think we are getting updates soon but until then comment, comment, comment.

beautiful-2314_1280.jpg

Sort:  

Man I cannot tell how good it is too see a senior steemian saying this. As a red fish who joined Steemit this January I noticed that some of posts actually got zero views (except maybe mine) after I spent several hours researching, writing and proof reading it.
This was a clear indicator that since people are not coming to me, so I better got to them. And that is what comments allow yo to do. After saying this in a couple of places, I got chastised by a few people, who told me to post more and comment less.
My question to them was - what for? Why should I post when I get no views. I was summarily told to post it for myself and others. I could only retort with - I have a diary for that and I didn't create a steemit account to just make a log of random crap that popped in mind time to time. So I delayed posting and started commenting more and the effectively brought more people to check my blog.
Thanks for writing this post man!

Agreed. Commenting is definitely the way to go. The zero views isn't your fault, the site is getting busy and it is a good sign that more people are posting. I just don't like to see people work hard and get frustrated because of it. We will need to mix things up with the updates to help quality posts and new people but for now that is the way to get the most from the system.

Advice taken and acknowledged! Your words are a huge motivator for me to stick to this strategy.

You're right. It's really not a good strategy to post more and comment less. After all, for good comments you may get an upvote whereas the best post in the world stays at zero when nobody notices it.

As long as you have enough posts where I can look at your account when I see a good comment and have some idea who you are and what you're interested in, that's fine.

I mean, it's fine the other way, too, but it won't get you follows.

You, of course, do, and got a follow out of me.

Thank you so much man!
Of course we need to have a some sort of balance in the strategy but as @whatageek says, the newbies do need to concentrate a little more on the comments :-)

I'm agreed too. Sometimes is too much that you take your time and effort making a good looking post with good content and gets no views nor upvotes, I even thought that the problem was my topics, thought that no one would like to read my reviews or something like that. But the truth is that this comunity is growing fast and sadly our post get lost between all the sea of content that is in here. As @whatageek said, the way to go are the comments, that way you can get to know more people, making friends that would be interested in the same topics and visit each others blog, you can grow with the comunity and not behind it.

Plus, I believe in the contest advice and recomended it a lot! I'm searching and participating in every contest I find that catch my attention, that's also a good and funny way to get some upvotes and show your habilities, interests, talents, knowledge, and also knowing new people because you just not work for your entry but also search for other contestants entries and comment on them. I'm with @whatageek on that, contests are your new best friends if you're a begginer.

it is easy for your work to get lost or unseen

I’m a living witness to this , 100% true

I recommend spending more of your time on comments and getting involved in conversations when you are new

This I totally agree to , not just comments as spams but honest comments and this help build a relationship between the author and the commenter

honest comments like this one :).

I’m honored my friend .

Van you make this more concrete?

In terms of:
If I spend xx hours per week this will probably provide me xx financial and xx number of new followers?

My feeling says that one really need to comment a lot and also post quality comments to get somewhere.
And I know just a few Steemonians among the whales, orcas and dolphins that most likely never upvote any other user then they do now.

Btw, don't take yourself as example, cause you are the one exception that brakes with the rule.

Although I do realize that I could miss out on a lot of other Steemonians just like you. But then it might be a good question how to find these? And more specific how to find the content creators that I like? Cause I don't want to read uninteresting stories just to build a following and earn money.

So I really wonder if you are able to make this more concrete in terms of input and result?

Unfortunately there really is no science for it, if someone with sp likes your work you get more steem. Its people on here and they are going to act like they are going to act. All I can say is you will get your comments seen more than your posts at the start.

That's good advice. In my case it works well so far: Writing comments to interesting content and hoping the creator will take a look at my profile.

The problem with that is that it takes a lot of time reading, which gives an advantage to shorter articles. And I'm not always sure how to express my pleasure to photos. I don't want to write "nice photo" all the time...

Yeah there are some long posts on here. With photos try things like framing, composition, maybe a story of something in the photo you can relate too. But I hear you I have stared at a photo and thought nice photo a lot of times :p.

Totally agree. Comments are the most undervalued growth indicator in my opinion. I think they are the best way to grow organically. That is... If you are truly engaging people and getting involved in THEIR posts, you will grow. It is also how I measure my posts, the amount of comments and interaction is my growth indicator.

It makes sense, you know with comments that people are engaging.

You can still be posting blogs or memes or videos or whatever you like to post.
Just like you said don't expect much.
But i have found out that also to getting recognition you need to join groups on discord or smthing like that.

and then promote your posts there and ask for peoples feedback on the post, some people will definetaly read/look at your post and you will earn some sweet upvotes if that post is good :)

But yeah for my personally most of my steem i have earned on this site is by commenting.

Commenting is definetaly something you should do more when you are a small steemian.

Hmmm , i have no comment , i agree here ;-)

Great comment!

Just kidding, cause I think fun would really help to stay active on Steemit.

Thanks for the advice.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Alright,your concept is totally right..I aggree your concept..I appreciate this post...lot of thanks sharing this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01