Steemit: An anti-social social media.

in #steemit6 years ago

It's a bit odd to think about this is actually one of steems number one problem. For some reason, it is hard to be social here on Steemit(or all the other steem platforms for that matter).
image.png


Steemit: An anti-social social media


Sometimes when I am on facebook, I am part of a group of tour cyclist(probably the only reason I use facebook) who constantly posts different news on their adventures or even just to ask questions, people comment and engage in each other's posts. You can say many things about facebook, but the part of finding like-minded people are 1000 times easier than on the steem blockchain. Maybe because we are not all that many yet, but I sincerely believe that's just another excuse. The way it all builds and has progressed towards auto-votes and bots is anything but a how a social media should work if you ask me.

Of course, bots are not everything here. We also struggle with a poorly build structure that makes it next to impossible for people to gather up. Again, on facebook, you can just write in the search field a keyword and a bunch of groups will show up that you can join. I am kind of missing something like that here.

Why is it so hard to find people with same interests? I don't seem to be the only person struggling with this so if someone got some gold nuggets laying around please let me know. I feel lonely at times here lol.
I would love to support some people with the same interests as me, just to create some kind of organic community.

It's just a bit interesting to me one of the most promising projects (steem) has such a fundamental problem that the place is run by bots and auto-votes, not by the people, like how did it happen?

Let us reflect on that a bit.

Have a great sunday.

Sort:  

I believe that auto votes ruin this communication and community thing more than bid bots. I don't like bid bots at all, but with auto votes is another thing. You set up your stream and can stay off steemit for years and some people's posts are still upvoted, but the interaction lacks anyway. I had some auto vote streams also but quit them. I rather spend my time searching and reading. I also suffer from a lack in interaction on my posts. I know that my posts are not some of the best and most attractive, but usually I get comments from the same people. At the same time I have the feeling that people are posting for upvotes, not comments. I like having as many upvotes as I could get but I would like some interaction also. Without interaction it's like we're in a robots world, a cold one without feelings and that's what I think that keeps Steemit away from a big success also. It's too much mathematics and too little friendship and the platform is already two years old. What's even worse is that the most interactive persons are the spammers, but that's another flaw. Have a great Sunday!

Exactly! Too much mathematics and not enough interactions. But I firmly believe interactions would become easier if groups could be made more clear. So you could find people with same interests as yourself much easier.

Auto-votes has its place but it is a bit overboard right now, maybe money and social media just don't work too well:)
Maybe it's time for headhunting some of those people.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you're right... but it's getting better. Discord has many groups on it.. i've found a bunch of people there that I have lots in common with.. and some that I don't but the conversation is still pretty good

Yes and I am also part of some of those! But to me it's not clear enough what groups exists. It would have been awesome that it was something more integrated part of Steemit. I'm surprised nobody made a Dapp for it yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Stay tuned lol.. someone is probably working on it right now

It's difficult to find hashtags and topics of interest, and topics aren't even that varied. I suppose it's because Steemit is still in it's infancy. I sure hope it changes here, because ideally it's a great project.

Yeah Discord is good but the next step is to bring tht functionality to Steemit so we can filter and be able to access likeminded people a bit easier. Sometimes it is a bit of a maze on here finding the right people to engage with

Haha I also feel lonely sometimes here.. I'm kinda lucky that my native #cesky community reads quite a lot of posts..soo I get couple of readers and responers from there..but on the other side, it got to the point where we just like each others content over and over again... what's ofcourse nice :D but then the incentive to write good interesting stuff kind of disappears as you get the upvotes regardless...soo I'm taking a break from #cesky for a while..which leaves me with like 4-5 real followers haha :D anyway, if you're into biking there's #cyclefeed tag and they actually reply and comment quite a lot..

And the problem of low interaction is caused by the fact that everyone is just hunting the rewards and posting almost daily..I got superannoyed lately by a guy who doesn't reply to comments and questions but posts new stuff daily..like: "I don't give a Fuck, just like this and leave" :D I was thinking that if number of posts was limited to 3 per week per user, it would force people to talk more..cuz they'd have an Extra hour or so to read posts and comment every other day. Instead of furiously posting daily.. which I do as well, don't get me wrong I'm not playing saint here :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I always thought the amount of posts we can do feels like but then again, maybe that's for the better and in the long run. Simply because steem is more than blogging.

But I get you, the worst is if you write a comment and the author never gets back to you, ever. Fuck those guys lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

And on top of it writes suuperlong post like 2 hours after you commented :D Beat that :D

We have to all comment more and avoid using auto voters and bid bots to keep Steemit organic amd more human.

I don't think that the accounts that use bots and auto voters will ever want to go back to being an "organic" account:(

It might be nice if there was an overall cycling community group that curation groups like cyclefeed and all other cycling posts could easily be found.

Exactly! Would be so nice to be able to find these kind of groups! Where different communities could stay together. With tour cycling for example, that would be awesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I want most to support touring cyclists.

You just put into words what I was feeling.

yes:( it's tough man!

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I hear you buddy. I personally don´t feel lonely here as I have managed to bring a bunch of my friends and family members but I totally see your points.

This is actually pretty much why I decided to launch my spotlight series where I want basically say "hey, look at this guy/girl - they are cool, post interesting stuff and deserve to be followed by you" ;)

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.225 which ranks you at #2728 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 88 places in the last three days (old rank 2816).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 279 contributions, your post is ranked at #105.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99