A day in the life of a lawyer

in #steemit6 years ago

I am a lawyer by profession. To be frank i love my job as a lawyer. It's challenging but exciting too.
I usually begin my day by dropping my little sister off at her school. Then I set off to Kokomlemle a suburb of Accra where my office is located to begin the day's business.

20170629_060231.jpg

Some days are quite loaded with a lot of activities; these include attending court, meeting and interviewing clients, attending continuous legal education among others. I particularly like court days. I like the drama and action that comes with court hearing. It's in court that you see the law in practice. The law as contained in the books comes alive as lawyers battle it out among themselves all in a bid to defend the interests of our clients.

20180105_081357.jpg

Nevertheless I love meeting and interviewing clients, listening to their stories and helping them find solutions to their legal problems. Clients' interviews usually take place after court hearings on the days I attend court. On the days i need not attend court such meetings take place at a time convenient to the client and myself.

20171006_084032.jpg

Legal research is a sine qua non to your growth as a lawyer. In view of this before I end my day, i.e before I leave the office for home, i dedicate at least two hours to engage in legal research in order to acquaint myself with new developments in the field of law.

20171031_085704.jpg

Besides my busy schedule, i do find time to read non legal materials as well. Knowledge is power thus i have resolved to be abreast with social issues aside law. I read the news and at least two chapters of a book depending on the size of the book daily.

At home i help my little sister with her homeworks and i read stories to her before her bedtime. This sums up my day as a lawyer!

Sort:  

STEEMIT GHANA CURATION PARTY

Your post was featured in our most recent #steemitghana #curationparty post. We are glad you were able to make it and hope to see you next week

Keep Steeming

Wow! That's great. Thanks @anaman

This is really cool its what I asked for, lawyers and government type workers and bureaucrats to come to steem so we can have all legal cases saved on the blockchainto avpoid disputes inthe future

Nothing can be changed on the steem blockchain without your private keys so you could make a special account for the Ghana legal system and start putting cases on the blockchain so that peopel can see al the evidence,. any Ghanian will be able to comment and add their opinions or add newevidence..... youd get HUGE attention from the global blockchain ad bitcoi community if you just STARTED a program like this!

I saw your post because @richforever resteemed it so I gave you a $1.20 Upvote :D

Thank you @ackza for making her feel at home

I'm thrilled. I'd be more than glad to begin a program like that. People need to be educated on the law especially from my part of the world. Thank you @ackza.

Such a determined steemian

Thanks @richforever, i take inspiration from you

Lol I learn from you too

Nice post dear. Steemit to the top

@steem4depoor, thanks. I will steem to the top.

Kudos to our Lawyer @josyextrao. Same profession as my dad who is always busy running around to put things in place.

Nothing good comes easy and ithink the little you have shared with us, proves it all. Keep it up and success is bound to find you no matter what. Nice piece

@kwakumax, thanks for your encouraging words. I will press on still.

Go girl! I am a scribe (glorified typist). I type verbatim what is said in fatality inquiries for mines in South Africa. With all the lawyers around, I have gained quite a bit of legalese. I sometimes think I should have studied law.

But as you love your court days, I love the inquiries. As you say, the drama. Each case comes with its own human pain, lighter moments, dynamics.

Thanks @minnaloushe. And it's exactly as you have said, it's important that we love what we do, without it we work in futility.

Good to have unique people like you @josyextrao

Thanks @mcsamm. I do appreciate your encouraging words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54