Your Opinion Matters... This Time. ANSWER MY QUESTIONS! (Or I'll Cry). Please?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

You've thought about it before:

If I post at least twice a day I can make more money... but what if I post about different topics? Will my followers retreat back into the wilderness, never again to be seen? Will they burn me at the stake for writing about something different, random, or ridiculous?

Alright, so maybe you formed that question differently.

But you've had similar thoughts. If you haven't, too bad. Because I have. And that means you should have, too.

I enjoy writing... that's why I'm still here. Making some money is good, but with fluctuating currencies, HF19 changes, and more of my post rewards sneaking away every day closer to payout, it's tough to tell what my true return on investment is.

That means I want to write about things I care about. Myself, for starters. But add reflective blogs, travel, my series on philosophy, another series on success and happiness, random tidbits... and I wonder, "Is it too diverse?"

So I'm asking you, as followers and writers yourselves:

Is a diverse portfolio a turnoff, or does it keep you engaged?

What do you think? What would make you unfollow someone? Or are you just following people who get large payouts, so you can maximize your curations?

TELL ME!

Please. :)

Photo Cred: Yours truly. Weird? Definitely. Do I care? Not in the slightest.

Sort:  

I like a diverse portfolio, but not too diverse!

If you're pasting about politics, then nature, then technology, then Bitcoin analysis I'm only going to be interested in some of your content

That's fair. But what if I can demonstrate integration between them? Does it make you reconsider?

Like if I can clearly demonstrate that my travel logs/photos, short stories, success/happiness series, and my random tidbits all stem from the same value system and principles?

Also, thanks for the input!

Oh yeah! As long as here is some common denominator between those things, I think you're fine from my opinion!

Word. You get an upvote for being first. ;)

Yeah, I can totally relate to this post.

I think I tend to follow a writer who is consistent in their output in a few areas but as long as the content is interesting and/or well written I won't refrain from voting when said author ventures into new territory. I'm still gonna vote for them. I think variety is important and for writers it's important to allow yourself room to grow.
just my 2 cents.

And I always appreciate your upvotes when they come!

In reality I can't commit the time necessary to only write one thing (like one of my series). It takes time to think and develop the content, and to do it every day on the same topic is ridiculous unless it's making good money. If I was pulling in $100+ a post, sure, I could spend 5 hours a day writing on one topic.

But when they're not, I gotta have fun and mix it up a little! Thanks for the input.

Agreed...
I'm preparing a creative writing contest (conspiracy related) keep an eye out for that in the next 12hrs, 100SBD will be up for grabs. My thank you to my followers and supporters. I'll also be announcing it in @minnowsupport / PAL Discord. Hope you participate, i think it's gonna be fun!

Can I write about the conspiracy of conspiracies? Can't say conspiracy theories really float my boat, but I think it's awesome you're doing a substantial giveaway!

Just posted the contest! The purpose is to be creative and imaginative. check it out though. I'll be posting in Discord too.

Diversity keeps me engaged, personally! I do enjoy following someone that clearly has expertise in a certain area that I'm interested in (or funny, creative, etc), but I would not unfollow them if they posted on a variety of different topics.

So far I'm 2 for 2. Glad to hear some of ya'll like diversity in the true sense of the word!

I have taken the 'write about what I want to' route and so far it has been decent for me. There are posts that surprise me and go nuts...others that don't really get much traffic at all. Being so new I am still experimenting with which direction I want to go and while I am doing that I am going to be writing about what I want to and what interests me at the time.

I haven't seen many unfollow because of the diverse posts I am putting out, and personally I would never unfollow because someone changes up what they write about. I have many different tastes and interests and I don't want to see all of the same things all the time.

You guys are too reasonable. It's unusual to get three consecutive people capable of constructing replies with actual reasons behind them. Legitimate reasons, even.

Hopefully the portion of steemit that makes me money feels the same way ;)

If only we could all get that last part XD! But really, I know being so new I am exploring what I want this platform to be for me and what works for my goals...until I have found that or at least some form of that that I am comfortable rolling with for a while I will be putting out content that interests me, which is a vast amount of things...although beer is a big one already!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by justinchase from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I like diversity but it has to be well written stuff.
Sometimes finding good music i've never heard before will make up for lack of quality writing.
That's my 2 cents haha

I hope it came with at least a $0.02 upvote ;)

Really though, I do like finding interesting things at random in my home feed, so I can understand that viewpoint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59