Thoughts on the New Steemit Logo and its IP Restrictions (The "Wild West" Creative Days of Steemit Seem to be Drawing to a Close)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit-big.png
I wanted to use the new logo here, but wasn't sure if this usage would fall under "fair use" and don't feel like being sued. Never had to say that before on this platform.

I just read the trending post by @steemitblog about the new logo and its accompanying intellectual property restrictions.

As a user who enjoyed creatively incorporating the logo into my work, and enjoyed seeing others do the same to spread the Steemit/Steem gospel, I'm pretty discouraged by Steemit.com's decision to put state violence-backed restrictions on its use. (I'm also disappointed by the disturbing green, but that's a secondary gripe, I suppose.)

I left the following comment on the post:


Re: New Logo Copyright

Really too bad to see that I am now directed as to how I may or may not use my own property (computer, flash drives, etc) in whatever fashion I so please, but that is the sad reality of non-consensual IP laws backed by state violence/threat of violence/force.

I understand that this move is necessary, though, to compete in the business world as it is today, perhaps, and do hope to see Steemit.com achieve mainstream success.

I think it's too damn bad that loyal Steemians here no longer have the artistic liberty to use the logo without a looming threat of IP violence, though. Missing the wild west of old Steemit already, but buckling up for what's to come as well, in hopeful anticipation.

Before you go all apeshit on me here.

Some folks do not understand how IP (intellectual property) laws could ever be viewed as "violent." The anarchists (and there are many of us here on this platform) however, likely know what I am getting at.

IP laws mandate that anyone making copies of or distributing, for example, an image, sequence of sounds, idea, or text, must obtain permission from the creator of said works before doing so. This would even include the "illegal" homemade Steemit shirt I wore in my recent marathon (I used the "Steemit brand"). The problem with IP as it is practiced by the state, however, is that it attempts to bind even individuals not consenting to the terms of the "agreement."

DQmY6CuGo1zSciFdodXwMrSMK2fsNST8oRvdqaCMVQ1N8Ab.jpeg

For example, say an individual wishes to use the logo in a creative way in order to spread the Steemit gospel and keep the creative juices flowing in the community. Or perhaps it is just some guy that wants to make an artwork based on the design. Well, now, this individual has to get permission from the folks at Steemit to use his computer to download a file to his hard drive. Steemit.com is now effectively dictating how users and non-users alike may or may not use their own personal property (computers, hard drives, etc.) The owner of the property (computer) may have never even consented to be bound by these restrictions. This is reverse slavery. What happens if you break this "law" and use your computer as you please? Well, you can be fined. If you don't pay the fine you can be jailed. If you resist being jailed well...let's just say that non-consensual IP is violence.

I am not implying that this is the goal of anyone at Steemit.com--to make our lives more difficult or less creative. But that is what has happened.

Non-voluntary terms of use contracts are illegitimate and immoral, and it is sad to see the "Wild West" days of this site I have come to know and love coming to an end.

That said, it is also a brand new beginning, and the path seems paved all the more for mainstream adaption. Excited see what happens next, but also sad that some of the original true blue spirit of freedom has now been replaced by an off-putting, sea foam green, grandma-house-slipper color of...maybe?

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

A disappointing turn of events.
How long before content is censored or demonitized?
Let's hope we're not headed down the road YT and FB have gone.

I already got the explanation from Liason Officer of Steemit and was satisfied of his answers.

As an organization, i also think that this the right move to protect Steemit from abuse.

As an individual who promotes this platform, we are free to use it.

I understand the business decision, but telling people what they can or cannot do with their property under threat of violence is illegitimate and immoral.

That said, I appreciate you sharing this. The problem is, who knows when they will begin to file suit?

It was inevitable really. To those who understand property rights, this new “law” is illegitimate. However, in the current business world, if Steemit.com wishes to be successful they really had little choice, it seems.

Thanks so much for sharing this.

Then again, I don't understand why if they are not planning to file suit against users, and they already possess the legally recognized right, they needed to announce it like they did.

Yes you have a point there @kafkanarchy84 .This just led to confusion and scare. I hope they will address this at #steemfest2

Given that every other logo is being copied and reused from here to Africa, why does anyone think Steem will be different? People all over Steemit seem to be freaking out. (I even saw a comment flagged for including a copyrighted logo yesterday FFS) Sued - LOL...

Flagged??? *Facepalm through back of head..... I agree with you man.

I have the same fear and am sad i just orderd for two banners to promote Steemit in Lagos Nigeria West Africa. Now am gonna be at loss cos i wont be able to use it and same thing with my team at @steem-lagos😢

Old steemit logo is legal to use. So you will be good unless you used the new logo

The logo and the theme color changed now which means the old logo i used for the designs is obsolete...

the old logo is still the logo for STEEM so I think it can still work as this is what we earn, steemit is just the way we earn STEEM so I think it can still work, we just have to change the way we recruit a little.

Very true, i agree and followed you up!

I completely agree with you man. It's sad to see that a major platform where liberty is promoted makes such a decision. Is it to prevent abuse? Probably. Was the old logo abused? Not that I know of. Maybe someone used it to sell steemit apparel outside of the 'official' steemit shop, but so what? It's only more promotion for the platform itself!

I have to say that I dig the new colors (although it kinda breaks with the original steemit formula) and I love the night mode!

Night mode is pretty sweet.

The IP decision is unfortunate. The anarchist crowd that populates Steemit.com still outweighs this business decision.

I am pretty sure that my main concern is the crushing of creativity and ideas on the platform. I know just like with youtube and facebook they have a right to organize their platform, but I just hope Steemit remember the creators are the ones that give them power. A fact the other social media sites seemed to have forgotten. Thansk for sharing!!

I think this is more along the lines of wanting to prevent people from making Steemit t-shirts and other goods. However, that doesn't mean there isn't many ways they could abuse this. I can understand from a business standpoint, as you stated, the reasoning behind it, but as a decentralized platform think this is in bad taste.

Really well said man. Thanks.

It's the old colors of tsu - very disturbing to someone who lived through that downfall. tsu had 3M users when it failed. I do not think we will have 3M soon on Steemit. Praying we do not meet the same end.

Its sad that there are restrictoins everywhere.. Liberty has been curbed by the IP.. Although the laws are mandatory to maintain and control their business yet we can expect that some liberty must be provided to us.. We can only hope that steemit prospers and the steemitians reach its height.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94