You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you Choose Quality or Quantity?

in #steemit6 years ago

Love the Hydrangeas, I was horrible and murdered the ones in my garden in a botched landscaping job. Now I live in regret.

I’m at 18 actual posts that are mine and 788 comments. It’s an appalling result as far as productivity on Steemit for me, and a constant dilemma, do I bother or do I simply just go back to working on my private projects?

My first 4 posts were shitposts because I was finding my way, since then I chose quality over quantity be because it would pull at my conscience that I’m junking up the blockchain. But really, every time I think of just writing a random musing, I’m just not inspired to do so. I think it really comes from an instilled habit of not wanting to leave a big footprint on the Net too. I’d prefer to put my best forward, so I’m not cringing too much when I look back later. It’s all permanent on the blockchain!

Almost missed this one beeyou, you’re not a quantity person! ;)

Sort:  

Those poor hydrangeas! All because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time Hehe, I'm just playing with you.

It’s an appalling result as far as productivity on Steemit for me, and a constant dilemma, do I bother or do I simply just go back to working on my private projects?

Do you mean you are contemplating leaving Steemit? I know you don't post often, but your posts are well received, imo (for being fairly new). You are a great writer and artist. You also have the community support of a witness which is very helpful in growing on here.

Our stories are similar because I know you are also a working professional with a family. At times, it is hard to justify the time we spend on here because the time invested to "put our best forward" is detrimental to another facet of life. It is the friends I've made on here that still keep me here, tbh.

I hope you find the perfect balance so you can still time for both steemit and the real world/private projects.

Can’t upvote your comment, past payout, I’m trying to conserve my valuable 0.01 cent votes now. ;) But just wanted you to know this is one of my favorite replies to date, and it’s to do with the sense that someone else similar to me understands.

Will I quit Steemit? I take the attitude that I couldn’t. Not as long as I have people here I care to drop a comment to let them know that I take an interest in them. I’ve actually promised my husband that I’d take a break from Steemit once I get a few outstanding posts I’ve been meaning to do done, but as he observes: “You keep giving yourself more Steemit commitments!”

He’s right.

I sincerely thank you for what you expressed here:

At Times, it is hard to justify the time we spend on here because the time invested to “put our best forward” is detrimental to another facet of life.

I feel it can easily slide to detrimental. I came to steemit primarily to seek inspiration for my stagnant project, that being my novel. I find more and more reasons to be drawn away from it, trying new things! Steemit is becoming one massive distraction/addiction, but it’s not like I’m even posting or earning to ‘rewards’. It’s counter productive. So at some point, as is my nature, I will shut myself down for a bit, if I don’t see more productivity. I have a self-eject mechanism when I see I do myself (or others) more harm than good.

Thank you for your encouraging words. The way I’ve always seen it, as long as I’m earning more than a dollar then I am winning!! Yay!! Does virtual cartwheel

If only I wasn’t a lazy perfectionist...

Hey Linny, I just saw your reply. I will loop back around tonight. I have to run, weekends are so crazy busy and I am late as always.

Btw, you’re not a lazy perfectionist. You take pride in your work and nothing is wrong with that. 🙂

All’s good, beeyou. We both get it how busy life gets, so don’t feel you need to reply. I was just wanting you to know your commentary was greatly appreciated. ❤️ I strangely feel so tired over here myself, and I’m always behind. You stay well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86