Rookie Mistakes on Steemit. Part 2 (Addendum).

in #steemit6 years ago

image
In case you missed my original post on this subject, please find the link to it here: https://steemit.com/minnowhelper/@looksfarwoman/rookie-mistakes-on-steemit-part-2

After further researching this subject and coming across a few relevant posts, I felt it important to add some additional comments about what I have discovered.

Although all the points I made, about the things that have an impact on our bandwidth, are still true, there is an element, which is outside our control.

Steemit is a rapidly growing platform and, as such, the system can, occasionally, become overburdened with the amount of traffic. In such cases, bandwidth needs to be reduced, to ease the problem. This has the greatest impact on users with low Steem Power, who, invariably are the newest members.

Everyone is allocated a small amount of bandwidth when they join Steemit, and can increase this through posting and curation rewards, as discussed in my previous posts. This means, however, that, from time to time, you may find yourself unable to actively participate, due to a lack of bandwidth, regardless of how careful you've been.

image
(Image source: http://www.freeimages.co.uk)

The Steemit Development team and Witnesses are currently working to address this issue (in most cases, freely volunteering their time), and I'm sure there will be a resolution before long.

In the meantime, all we can do, is to be patient and try to reduce our bandwidth footprint by continuing to follow the basic guidelines, suggested in my previous posts.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and if you have any questions or suggestions of your own, to help ease the congestion, please feel free to comment below.

Sort:  

Yes, I've been affected by this intermittently. Today I realized that checking my account on steemd.com was eating up some of my precious bandwidth each time I reloaded, or went to steemd.com/@myusername. It seems during times of high usage, my bandwidth limit drops from megabytes, to kilobytes. I imagine the same goes for all users, unless the user has a healthy amount of steem power. Thanks for writing this article @looksfarwoman it has confirmed what others have told me.

I had the same problem today too. My withdrawal symptoms were unappeased by lesser distractions. Patience is not one of my virtues, despite advising it when encountering this problem. 😂 I resorted to watching Steemit videos on YouTube to get me through. It must have been a particularly busy day today. Thanks for taking the the time to read my post, I'm glad you liked it.

the bandwidth issue occur many times but after few moments i stop commenting and then refresh the page or it will come back to normal . Else your post are always informative so always keep sharing and best of luck <3

@sibtainali

Thank you and you too. At this stage it's a steep learning curve but lots of fun too.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @looksfarwoman to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73