You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spread the Word!

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit is far from dead, but the problem is that what's keeping it alive is an overwhelming flood of shitty content from people looking to make $.01 a post. Finding actual decent content on Steemit can often feel like searching for a needle in a haystack. Nobody comments on posts, nobody engages as an "audience", nobody really cares about the content being posted. It's all about the $.

That's my rant.

~ Mako

Sort:  

I try, oh I try. It feels like the system is pushing me into putting out volume posts to make use of voting bots in as little time as possible. I'm a working parent holding a FT night job and moonlighting others just to cover the bills and single-highhandedly care for a family. I have very little time to create quality content few actually read. My short adventure stories are apparently too long to read. My Arc Finale got 17 upvotes and no constructive critique on why it flopped. 14 hour+ effort, no spelling or grammatical errors, I've even looked forward to the grammaernazi bot comment. So it looks like I have to change my Tack, I still have a few friends that make it worth staying here even if I'm relegated to just commenting and an odd infrequent post. I've got to find more reasons to stay.

Well i think you’re awesome k raven!

Let me take a look at your writing, I know it's a bit late to make any meaningful contributions to the curation but it's a gesture of good-will.

For what it's worth, I aim for about 2000 words a post, anything above that tends to overwhelm.

~ Mako

If I get back into writing after my recovery, I'll work on nibbling my segments down to a more time friendly format.
Read the Prologue to your: Incorruptible

I'm sorry, I'm having trouble finding the writing mixed in with your posts. Would you be so kind as to link me to one/them?

Thanks!

~ Mako

I wish I could have organized this better, still getting a handle on Markup coding.
There are 14 'Episodes' this link is to the Final of this arc, links to back episodes are in this segment. With a second arc in the works.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@kerrislravenhill/pit-bullion-and-chronicles-of-the-bloody-raven-the-nemesis-final

Thanks!

~ Mako

Cheers Mako! Come on over to #steemsilvergold

Lotsa good info and good times!

🤘😎

Not really my thing but thanks for the invite! I'll stick to #writing, #scifi and #fiction for now :)

~ Mako

beedy beedy beedy!

I take the opposite approach...not everyone is interested in writing the next NYT Bestselling post. Some (Probably Most) people just want to hang out and have fun. As long as whales keep running off the DMaina crowd and flagging posts for opinionated reasons, people will leave. Most of the shit on YouTube is garbage but its not getting flagged and their audience is huge. This site has less users than MySpace so when I see people saying its in danger of becoming the next MySpace they don't have a clue. It was never as big as MySpace and its still not as big as the current MySpace.

I was mostly using Myspace as an analogy...i was unaware of actual user-base numbers.

Yesterday myspace.com ranked 1,687 in the US, steemit.com ranked 2,247...globally, they are upsidedown. Not sure how much traffic the difference even is because at that point they are all close.

That's great and all, but Steemit's native platform isn't the best place to do that. At its core, Steemit is a reddit look-alike that gives crypto instead of karma. Reddit thrives as a platform because of valuable content curation algorithms. If you post just to post on Reddit, unless it's in the comments of another post, you're not likely to gain much attention/karma. It's the same thing here on Steemit but the problem is that nobody seems to care.

Most of the shit on YouTube is garbage but its not getting flagged and their audience is huge.

It doesn't get flagged because YouTube does the work in its own search algorithms to hide low-quality content, which is yet another thing that Steemit doesn't have going for it and makes comparing the two irrelevant.

The best thing that we as potential influencers can do is to encourage others to interact with the CC's who post content that they like, rather than just upvoting and moving on. That's where the hanging out aspect comes into play. As a CC myself, I know that I very much appreciate engaging with an audience who is engrossed and critical of my work. It keeps us going and reminds us why we share.

Just some thoughts from the other side of the fence.

Cheers to you.

~ Mako

Well, reddit also doesn't require people to invest their own crypto to drive up the price. If new users aren't buying in from exchanges, the price will continue to tank with 9% reward inflation and then .71 is nowhere near the bottom. I mean, I love being optimistic, but Dogecoin is valued 3.5 times higher than Steem right now so to say Steem is far from dead depends on one's definition of alive. Then they speak of SMTs...part of the value of SMTs is a vibrant user base here on Steem that isn't really here anymore because people keep leaving. Oh, and Dan is about to launch a competitior on EOS so theres that too....

One of the Steemit Inc. bubble brains the other day wrote something to the effect of I'm not worried about the first 1,000,000 users, I'm planning for the next 100,000,000. OK Capt. Clever...why don't you worry about trying to get to 100K happy daily users first....and that mobile app first promised in 2017.

I hope I'm wrong and the platform continues to evolve and get more valuable. Only time will really tell.

Oh, and Dan is about to launch a competitior on EOS so theres that too....

Competition is good for industry, so this is very good news. Competition drives industry to change and adapt in order to stay at the top. Right now, Steemit (though an awesome concept), has no competition so it's easy for it to stay stagnant ie. not deliver on promises made. We'll see how it reacts to that change.

~ Mako

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86