Spread the Word!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hiya Steemit friends!

With Steem in the gutter, presently $0.72, and every other crypto seemingly sucking death-farts and reacting accordingly, it is time for action! Here are three things you can do.

  1. Hold that shit!!! If you believe in blockchain technology and are holding decent tokens, then it is just a matter of time before they rebound. Trying to sell out an 8% loser to stock up on a 14% loser is not an advisable strategy — believe me, i’ve tried.

  2. Buy more of that shit!!! With prices as low as they are, i makes a lot of sense to gobble up the coins that are leaking out of weak hands. For example, you can buy EOS for under $5 right now...remember that... Eos for $4.89 and all you gotta’ do is buy it!

Got a Binance account? Here’s a link:

https://www.binance.com/?ref=11531857

[3.] Promote that shit!!! This is actually what i wanted to talk about most here. And we’ll get to “Steem” in a minute. But first, get out there and promote this shit. I am still amazed at how many normally functioning, smart people, still have no comprehension of how bitcoin/blockchain works nor why it should be valued. Most people — outside of us genius stackers, that is — have no fucking idea about “fractional reserve banking,” or what “quantitative easing” really means. The faith in fiat is so entrenched that most people are loathe to let go of any of their fiat dollars for something that is as “untangeable” as crypto currencies, or as eccentric as physical metal.

So get out there and help the muggles understand. One of the great benefits about doing this, is that by explaining it clearly, you yourself will begin to understand it better as well.

4027EBC9-0520-42F4-B822-209807439EED.jpeg

For instance, as the pic above shows, look at how fucking fast the Steemit blockchain is — and it’s free!!! And not only is it free, but it is uncensored!

And THIS is what i wanted to talk about.

Unless you live under a rock you will be aware of all the evil politics surrounding the internet. And particularly where they intersect with people’s social spaces. Fb is a total parasite and promulgator of it’s agenda. Twitter is censoring free-speech because it doesn’t like what some people are saying — it seems Many of these platforms have a Liberal bent, to say the least, and many mainstream news/media sources have been fully exposed for inaccuracy, and yet remain the “Standard” for truth these days. It’s FAKE NEWS ffs!!! Anyway, i don’t wish to discuss ideology here, but rather make yet another suggestion:

Why can’t we have all those crazy mofo’s and mo-fettes: the Alex Jones’ and the Maxine Waters (both of whom i think are complete asses) come on over and post in steemit?

Think about it... after writing a post you can txt it, e-mail it, fb it — i don’t tweet but i’d bet you could post a link. Anyway, what i’m getting at, as per my title — is that we gotta’ ALL spread the word about Steemit. I realize that literacy is a barrier to entry to Steemit, but that is a good thing!!! As it weeds out idiots and doesn’t observe political affiliation.

Spread the word! In this age of censorship and the oppression of freedom of speech, it seems to me that STEEMIT should be experiencing a fresh boon of users who care less for the money they can make here and more for the freedom this platform allows.

I mean ffs!!! With the price of Steem being so low and many users gone idle as a result, this platform is in jeopardy of becoming a tiny little exclusive “MySpace.”

So get out there and spread the word! Do you know an English Professor? Do you know anyone who enjoys writing but doesn’t have an audience? Do you know any tin-foil hat weirdos that want to express themselves? What about all your friends who have left Fightbook and want a new experience? If so, then bring ‘em in!

The only way that Steem will appreciate in value is if it garners some appreciation! Having a high rep and a fat wallet (of Steem) will be a worthless holding unless more people join in the fun and get busy posting here.

Okay...end of mild rant.

Cheers! from @thedamus
🤖🤖🤖☠️💀☠️🤖🤖🤖

Sort:  

Can’t buy a dam thing....but I wish I could.......

Hodl on mofo!

🤩👍👍

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Steemit is far from dead, but the problem is that what's keeping it alive is an overwhelming flood of shitty content from people looking to make $.01 a post. Finding actual decent content on Steemit can often feel like searching for a needle in a haystack. Nobody comments on posts, nobody engages as an "audience", nobody really cares about the content being posted. It's all about the $.

That's my rant.

~ Mako

I try, oh I try. It feels like the system is pushing me into putting out volume posts to make use of voting bots in as little time as possible. I'm a working parent holding a FT night job and moonlighting others just to cover the bills and single-highhandedly care for a family. I have very little time to create quality content few actually read. My short adventure stories are apparently too long to read. My Arc Finale got 17 upvotes and no constructive critique on why it flopped. 14 hour+ effort, no spelling or grammatical errors, I've even looked forward to the grammaernazi bot comment. So it looks like I have to change my Tack, I still have a few friends that make it worth staying here even if I'm relegated to just commenting and an odd infrequent post. I've got to find more reasons to stay.

Well i think you’re awesome k raven!

Let me take a look at your writing, I know it's a bit late to make any meaningful contributions to the curation but it's a gesture of good-will.

For what it's worth, I aim for about 2000 words a post, anything above that tends to overwhelm.

~ Mako

If I get back into writing after my recovery, I'll work on nibbling my segments down to a more time friendly format.
Read the Prologue to your: Incorruptible

I'm sorry, I'm having trouble finding the writing mixed in with your posts. Would you be so kind as to link me to one/them?

Thanks!

~ Mako

I wish I could have organized this better, still getting a handle on Markup coding.
There are 14 'Episodes' this link is to the Final of this arc, links to back episodes are in this segment. With a second arc in the works.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@kerrislravenhill/pit-bullion-and-chronicles-of-the-bloody-raven-the-nemesis-final

Thanks!

~ Mako

Cheers Mako! Come on over to #steemsilvergold

Lotsa good info and good times!

🤘😎

Not really my thing but thanks for the invite! I'll stick to #writing, #scifi and #fiction for now :)

~ Mako

beedy beedy beedy!

I take the opposite approach...not everyone is interested in writing the next NYT Bestselling post. Some (Probably Most) people just want to hang out and have fun. As long as whales keep running off the DMaina crowd and flagging posts for opinionated reasons, people will leave. Most of the shit on YouTube is garbage but its not getting flagged and their audience is huge. This site has less users than MySpace so when I see people saying its in danger of becoming the next MySpace they don't have a clue. It was never as big as MySpace and its still not as big as the current MySpace.

I was mostly using Myspace as an analogy...i was unaware of actual user-base numbers.

Yesterday myspace.com ranked 1,687 in the US, steemit.com ranked 2,247...globally, they are upsidedown. Not sure how much traffic the difference even is because at that point they are all close.

That's great and all, but Steemit's native platform isn't the best place to do that. At its core, Steemit is a reddit look-alike that gives crypto instead of karma. Reddit thrives as a platform because of valuable content curation algorithms. If you post just to post on Reddit, unless it's in the comments of another post, you're not likely to gain much attention/karma. It's the same thing here on Steemit but the problem is that nobody seems to care.

Most of the shit on YouTube is garbage but its not getting flagged and their audience is huge.

It doesn't get flagged because YouTube does the work in its own search algorithms to hide low-quality content, which is yet another thing that Steemit doesn't have going for it and makes comparing the two irrelevant.

The best thing that we as potential influencers can do is to encourage others to interact with the CC's who post content that they like, rather than just upvoting and moving on. That's where the hanging out aspect comes into play. As a CC myself, I know that I very much appreciate engaging with an audience who is engrossed and critical of my work. It keeps us going and reminds us why we share.

Just some thoughts from the other side of the fence.

Cheers to you.

~ Mako

Well, reddit also doesn't require people to invest their own crypto to drive up the price. If new users aren't buying in from exchanges, the price will continue to tank with 9% reward inflation and then .71 is nowhere near the bottom. I mean, I love being optimistic, but Dogecoin is valued 3.5 times higher than Steem right now so to say Steem is far from dead depends on one's definition of alive. Then they speak of SMTs...part of the value of SMTs is a vibrant user base here on Steem that isn't really here anymore because people keep leaving. Oh, and Dan is about to launch a competitior on EOS so theres that too....

One of the Steemit Inc. bubble brains the other day wrote something to the effect of I'm not worried about the first 1,000,000 users, I'm planning for the next 100,000,000. OK Capt. Clever...why don't you worry about trying to get to 100K happy daily users first....and that mobile app first promised in 2017.

I hope I'm wrong and the platform continues to evolve and get more valuable. Only time will really tell.

Oh, and Dan is about to launch a competitior on EOS so theres that too....

Competition is good for industry, so this is very good news. Competition drives industry to change and adapt in order to stay at the top. Right now, Steemit (though an awesome concept), has no competition so it's easy for it to stay stagnant ie. not deliver on promises made. We'll see how it reacts to that change.

~ Mako

Holding, buying and loosing, I CANT SELL!!!!!!!

Hang in there big dawg!

Hmmm... just continue posting meaningful articles and commenting on articles, and for those who invested $ into this platform (in addition to sweat equity of writing and reading), hold it and ride it. HODLing is actually the only valid strategy for most crypto investors. Rightnow, Hold On for Dear Life, anyone who has watched Bitcoin’s recent volatility knows that the acronym can sometimes feel spot-on. Great article, @thedamus!

Thanks saver! I read a Buffet quote re: the Stock Market that seems apt right about now: “it is a mechanism designed to transfer wealth from the active to the patient.”

...i tell ya, it’s a good thing i’m not a doctor!
🤣🤣🤣

a2ed3e7c688dad7be7f57587718023b359299416efc50839c3952c077912ca59.gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

I am buying a little more steem, here in Brazil. It is not much, but I walk in baby steps...

It had taken an absolute beating!

I'm taking this to a new level.
I got a pile of Dogecoin and it has done very well in the last 7 days so I've been leveraging the Steem/Doge ratio exchanging Doge for Steem and POWERED UP! Until my dust vote is no longer dust.
Leverage like a Bloody Crypto Pirate!

I like your moves k raven 😎👍👍

Looks like shopping time is back

Pineapples ON SALE!!! 😁👍👍

I don't have the bills to buy, but I am still holding onto what I have, and I'm posting every day so I keep getting chances to be rewarded. All those are getting powered up! It's why I don't have Steem for SteemMonsters. ;)

When I get some time I can give you some of my extras!

Hey, that would be great! Right now the only summoner I have is a white one, and I only have one white card. I was gifted a green golem, but I don't have a green summoner. Ha ha. I was going to try to save enough to get the starter pack (because it wouldn't let you buy a booster without the starter), but I couldn't get the 7-8 Steem together for it. maybe I'll get some Beta cards when they come out.

Keep on swimming Jackson!!!

⚡️🤘😎⚡️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13