You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SBDs Are Not A Part Of The Pay Out Equation

in #steemit6 years ago

I noticed the glitchiness yesterday as well. No one had any info about it on Discord that I saw.

I like having a payout that is part liquid and part locked away as SP. what form the liquid portion is in doesn’t bother me. I guess if it were all the same coin then it would make things simpler.

I have noticed the decreasing amounts of SBD in our payouts. This typically happens as the price of Steem drops away.

Sort:  

Well, that matches up exactly with what we're experiencing, since we're currently back down to around $1.10 USD again for STEEM. I keep wondering if the SBD is going to break the $1 USD mark, but I haven't seen it yet. Prices seem to bounce back up before that happens.

And I agree. It's not a bad thing to have part of it liquid, even if you're just going to power it up. I do wonder at the STEEM vs. SP calculation, since they are different. Either the split isn't 50/50 at this point, or the calculation is different between the two because the amounts aren't the same.

I can't remember where I saw it but it's written into the payout calculation that if the price of Steem drops to a certain point then the amount of SBD paid out is reduced and replaced with Steem. So the split won't be 50/50.

Not that it ever was 50/50. The payouts have always been based on SBD being worth $1, so when the price of SBD sits above $1 you're actually getting more SBD than you should. :P

Oh, very true. When I refer to the split, it's more the beginning of the calculation, not the end. At the point where the curation percentage is tallied and removed and before the SP is divided by the STEEM price average.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86