---- How to Fight a Monster - Insurance Company - False Claims ----

in #steemit6 years ago

Disability


How to Fight a Monster - Insurance Company - False Claims


Here I am responding to accusations of non-compliance via not attaining work cover certificates from my GP and forwarding them to the appropriate parties. It should be noted that this happened in the past with other case managers so I started utilizing my rehabilitation service provider as a medium for the data, who also requires this information, and have them forward the data to the insurer. This is due to the insurer “losing” the emails in the past and my records being the only ones available, this was classified as myself being “suspicious” as I was the ”only one” that had any record of the data being sent.

This is another new case manager and they claim I have not been harassed by the insurer. Well, you can read the rest of the interaction yourself, lol.


HI D.,

Thanks for your recent email. I am sorry that you feel as though we are harassing you, it is not the case. I have written you a letter requesting you provide a up to date WorkCover Certificate because we truly do not have one on our system. The letters relating to certificates are standardised letters and are by no means meant to attach you personally. I did appreciate the last line of your email, I also want to go forward and work together to help you with return to work.

Please feel free to call me to discuss your claim, the best next step for you would be to send in the certificate so that we can get that matter out of the way.

Thanks
S.
Claims Advisor


Hi S.,

You will have to forgive me for not having any faith in any representative of Insurer as most interactions have been incredibly unpleasant. I also feel a need to point out that you lack the tacit knowledge of my case to state that I am not or have not been harassed by Insurer or representatives of. I have enclosed two (2) documents that you may wish to read regarding this situation. Some of the highlights of my interactions with Insurer representatives include:

  • Being accused of faking and fraudulent behaviour. And treated as such.
  • Misdirection leading to loss of entitlements:
  • Advising me to see another GP knowing it would be difficult and invalid
  • Not approving procedure until after appointment date/time resulting in going to back of cue going "overtime" for reimbursement period for wages.
  • Falsification and fabrication of data and documents
  • Advising me to take action on the phone and then denying that fact post event.
  • Refusing reimbursements for medications and travel throughout the case.
  • Documentation provided to insurer “missing”, but evidence proves otherwise.
  • Documentation “sent” by insurer not received by myself or service providers, no evidence of data ever being sent.
  • Claims of phone conversations with case managers which never took place, with phone logs supporting they never took place.

Now this is just the tip of the iceberg and is covered briefly in the documents provided, however it is not the main topic of these documents. These events have been made out to be my wrong doing and when I have questioned or protested being treated in such a manner, it has been followed with threats of loss of entitlements and case closure due to non-compliance. Below is a definition of harassment and the source:

Harassment - noun: The act or an instance of harassing, or disturbing, pestering, or troubling repeatedly; persecution
http://www.dictionary.com/browse/harassment

Further, harassment is also defined as aggressive pressure or intimidation. I find it difficult to believe anyone presented with the above data is able to state that the treatment I have endured dealing with Insurer and its representatives is not harassment. You can state it is not the case, but the evidence proves otherwise.

Now to the matter of the Workcover Certificates, again this is another display of complacency regarding my case resulting in adverse effects. I did what I was told to do and what I have always done. Because somebody didn’t do their job properly, I have to deal with the repercussions of someone else’s actions. I have letters sent to me stating im not complying and they are on my file as being generated. It is also interesting i didn't receive any other letters in the two (2) months I "did not provide certificates", but I digress. The fact is I have provided the certificates via email and will forward those again with the stamp dates of when they were originally sent if I can find them in my archives. I have attained a new workcover certificate which I will send to you following this email.

I am not interested in any form of phone discussion as this has been a key element of being misdirected in the past without any evidence of requests, discussion topics, etc. on an “official” basis. All communications will be done in writing with date stamps to keep everyone honest, so events such as this can be met with data and evidence that is legitimate.

Regards
D.B

Sort:  

Interesting to get a glimpse into what you've mentioned to me before.
You've communicated very clearly and intelligently to them here.
It must be draining, but persistence will pay off. They'll eventually put it in the 'too hard' basket and just acquiesce.
Good luck with it, bro!


Blissful blessings and smiles

in joy

Nathan

NK

I have been posting these as a means to hopefully help anyone going through similar things in their life. it is a hard battle to fight, the insurer has unlimited resources, inside knowledge of the systems workings, time is not a factor for a corporation, and much more....

its a real David and Goliath battle, and unfortunately there is so much complacency in the field that no one really cares about the injured worker themselves. each service provider is merely going through the motions for their pound of flesh.

I dont like to sound like a defeatist but the chips are definitely stacked against us, if we do not have a strong support network or stable mind it is impossible to endure. particularly when they drug you up and you cant think straight.

I have appealed to every place i can, due to statute of limitations and some poor documentationn on some of these things i would struggle for recourse. However, i hope that by bringing my story to light it can set precedence and be a positive impact by preventing such actions by insurers in the future.... lets test humanity's morality shall we ;)

Yeah, it’s good that you’re sharing this experience. It could definitely benefit others going through similar stuff.
Can you possibly just sue your workplace directly? If it happened there and you’re not being compensated then sue them directly. If you contact a talkback radio and other media outlets and make it about many people who are being shafted by the nefarious system in insurance claims they’ll want to settle. They’ll quickly push the insurer to comply.

Full power to you bro.

I have been through a number of services like SIRA, WIRO and now iCare to get the case looked at in more detail. It is pretty complicated, but im hoping to use my experience to influence change in the industry for those in the who have to deal with these insurance companies.

Its most likely that i will not be able to gain any further forms of compensation due to statute of limitations and incredibly poor documentation of my case by my service providers. However, i do have some damning evidence of immoral and unethical conduct which may be enough to show what insurers do to injured workers making the process horrible and psychologically traumatizing... Hopefully, its enough for SOMEONE to give a shit enough to pull the reigns on the insurers... we will see...

Gosh! Just sounds like a lot of bureaucratic bullshit they put you through.
I can’t wait to see this archaic titanic system sink.
Enough is enough.
Conscious Evolution revolution is needed pronto.
Until then, I hope this saga ends in victory for you soon, bro.

Yeah its a circle jerk for the service providers, everyone gets paid great except the injured worker, they are like leeches. they get to go home and live their lives as they feel fit, while the injured worker struggles with day to day activities, and social interactions.

For example our meet up was the biggest non medical outing have had this year and it took me a couple days to prepare for and then recover from. "They" don't see or care about the pre and post event situations and only state the im capable of the action, therefore i can do said action everyday... this is the mentality of the industry.

Victory for me would be positive change in the industry for the sake of peoples health in the future. prevention is better as there is no cure and all the money in the world wont fix the health issues created and perpetuated by the insurers.

I hope there is a turn of the tides soon.... i believe we will look back on these days in the future and wonder how we could inflict such damage on one another utilizing current systems in place, not just in this industry obviously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94