You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't want to shake my hand?

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

I started out on Instagram with The Miniature Smallholding brand and knew then that to build any audience you need to reach people. It's like a business and how many people fail in business? Most don't have the mindset to realise what is needed to market oneself. It's takes more effort than most realise and then they wonder why nothing is happening. I think people come to Steem with the idea that you don't have to market yourself, it's all done for you. Sometimes I donut have an immediate reply to a comment combs to mind and have to think about a response for a bit. Maybe this is when they just upvote and leave it, because they don't see a point in making that extra effort. This is a concept I've been trying to explain to my daughters, but I don't think their interest in Steem is enough to push them to try that much. Maybe that's the same with many. If the monetary reward was high enough they'd probably continue to post (everyone has a price, after all), but if they don't have another reason to be here, then they'll leave soon enough.

I think we also have those from other cultures and English isn't their first language. Sometimes they don't know our social etiquette, so don't know to respond.

I wouldn't have persisted as long as you have. I give it a couple of tries and move on. In fact, sometimes I only give it one try, unless what they're posting is particularly good. I get that some accounts from already established people (YouTubers etc) don't have the time to reply to all comments. If I support their work I'll put them on autovote and try to remember to check in on them occasionally. If they aren't supported then they'll leave and they are what we need to encourage if Steem is to grow. When it comes to unknowns, then I'm sorry, but if you want to build from nothing, you have to put in the effort and communicate. There are some many ready to support those who do.

Perhaps this is a filter to filter out those who aren't really ready to be here just yet. Once things are set up better for the general populous, then maybe these people will find their reasons to be here. Like the viewers on YouTube who enjoy the videos, but have no interest in making them.

Sort:  

You're right of course, on all counts. I think it's a combination of things that make this issue so prevalent. Also, in this social media world people don't tend to communicate so well...A like on FB seems to be the extent of it generally. Actual engagement is anathema to many people.

Oh well, I'll rock on and leave these people to their own devices.

Thanks for commenting. Always get good value from your replies; Measured, logical and thought out. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe we need to learn to speak in text and emoji to communicate. My daughter often tells me off for using punctuation, i.e. full stops, when I message her. Apparently it indicates that you're angry, or something of the sort. No, just indicating that the sentence has ended.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! I heard about the punctuation thing...Some Millenial told me; I'm not convinced though and rarely do what Millenial's say. Well, never to be honest. I use punctuation because that's how educated people write. I'm old fashioned in that way I guess. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79