Believe in Steem!

in #steemit6 years ago


Source

It seems as though lately everyone has been bitching about how low Steemit posts payouts have been and how shitty that is (and I agree) but let me ask you this:

When was the last time you made ANY money posting on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or whatever social media you are part of??

Answer: NEVER

So stop bitching about the "little money" you are making here and realize two things:

  • It's better than nothing (which is what you get with every other social media platform).

  • The power of Supply and Demand.


Source

The biggest thing you have to understand about Steem is the supply and demand aspect. The amount of Steem available is decreasing everyday while the amount of applications that ride on the platform are increasing, making Steem less available hence more valuable. I know it doesn't look that way right now when you look at the price but that's because all cryptos are taking a beating in this bear market. Just trust me when I tell you that it will eventually turn around, even though it sometimes doesn't feel that way.

I think I last read that there are now over 350 apps on the Steem platform! That is amazing considering most of them have popped up in the last year or so. I have no idea what all of these apps are but you have undoubtedly heard of some of the bigger ones like Dtube, Dlive, Esteem and Steem Monsters (just to name a few).

Everytime one of these apps joins the Steem platform they need Steem Power (SP) in order to have enough bandwidth to run said application on the Steem blockchain. So not only do they have to gobble up a bunch of steem to get the app working properly, they then also get users to use their upvotes on that app (rather than steemit) so the amount of Steem that use to be available on Steemit (alone) is so much lower than it use to be. Rules of supply and demand are already taking place on Steemit and people have definitely noticed that the amount of upvotes are dwindling and that's because of all these extra apps.

I read an article the other day which did a breakdown of all the Steem in existence vs how much more will come out in the future (total steem issued is already over 53%) and then somehow figured that if you have more than 500 SP you are already in the top 1%. That is INSANE! Especially since SMT's (Smart Media Tokens) haven't even come out yet. When SMT protocol comes out we will have so many more tokens riding on the Steem blockchain and all of them will need to be powered with Steem Power, making Steem even less available and so much more valuable.


Source

So yes, we are in some dark times with cryptos being destroyed by the bear market of 2018, BUT this isn't a time to walk away from Steemit, it is quite the opposite really. It is a time to double down on posts and save all that precious Steem you earn because one day Steem could definitely be worth $100 apiece!

This whole ordeal with steemit and cryptos actually reminds me of a delayed gratification experiment I once read about:

The Stanford marshmallow experiment was a series of studies on delayed gratification in the late 1960s and early 1970s led by psychologist Walter Mischel, then a professor at Stanford University.[1] In these studies, a child was offered a choice between one small reward provided immediately or two small rewards if they waited for a short period, approximately 15 minutes, during which the tester left the room and then returned. (The reward was sometimes a marshmallow, but often a cookie or a pretzel.) In follow-up studies, the researchers found that children who were able to wait longer for the preferred rewards tended to have better life outcomes, as measured by SAT scores,[2] educational attainment,[3] body mass index (BMI),[4] and other life measures.[5]


Source

Bottom line is that the technology behind the Steem platform is growing at an exponential rate, regardless of how people feel about Steemit itself. Your Steem will be worth more in the future if you just hold on to it. You honestly don't have to even keep posting on Steemit to see your investment grow, just delegate and wait. However, collecting SP will only get harder from this point forward because of simple supply and demand, so is now really the time to walk away from Steemit? I think not. We will get through this bear market like all the others before, it is only a matter of time.

So even though the price is low at the moment, the technology is better than ever before and it just keeps improving everyday.

Forget about steemit for one minute, it's time to decided if you believe in the Steem Platform.

Stay strong my fellow steemians, I know we will make it to the top 10 eventually!

"Peace, Love and all that hippie shit"

The STEEM Engine


APP.png

Sort:  

I not only believe.. I powered up 428 STEEM last night..

nice gratz..:) a did it som time a go. when it was a bit more expensive... but it was a good ide anyway helps a lot.

Fucking awesome bro! I wish I had the extra money laying around to do the same..

ye total agree its interesting most users dot get it. when the price is down we can make more steem and like u and all of the cleaver one here now its going to go up. if not now steem is going to gone and a dont think so. actually is the steem blockchain the most successful a hear. personal has my time here gone down mostly on comments real life is taking to much time but still inporten to use my power. slow and stady..etc..

exactly! Whenever I am not around much I try to use my power by auto voting with steem now. Even if I'm not gonna comment I can still make a return on my investment through curation. Make your money work for you, even if you don't want to work!
I hope all is going well my friend. Keep your head up, things will eventually turn around! :0)

Unfortunately, I'm leaning pretty heavily on my steemit income to get by- so times are a little tough for me right now. I'm making it, though!

That's pretty impressive that you can make a living on your steemit income! Congrats, I hope one day I can do the same.. I am sure its a bit harder now than it was when steemit was kicking ass but don't worry, things will turn back around ;) hang in there my friend. following

I appreciate you reminding us all of the apps and the needs there, I never have considered that aspect of it. I also have been giving away a lot of steem in last few months so I if I were here for the money I might just have to rethink how I am going about things.
I came here for other reasons besides the steem, but it is nice to be a part of it and in on basically the ground floor it seems.
Thanks for the reminder of just how and why it should go up in the future.

This post wasn't meant for you so much as all the complainers here on steemit.. You are here for the community, the way it should be. The people who just come for the money actually put a damper on steemit, they bring their poor attitudes and negativity to steemit and that shit is contagious. We definitely got here just in time, imagine how crowded it will be when steem drops smt's and is in the top 10 on market cap! It will be extremely hard then to collect rewards.. So just keep stacking my friend, don't worry about the price, I think of mine as an investment retirement plan ;)

I'm not big on complaining about anything to do with steemit or steem for the most part. Yea, I have expressed a few opinions about things but I learned that this whole experience is like one big roller coaster ride with highs and lows and also twists and turns.
The main thing is to get to the end of the ride without the person next to you puking all over you, so I have tried to be respectful for the most part and at least kept my head turned away from the person sitting next to me.

LMAO, this is the best thing I've read all week:

The main thing is to get to the end of the ride without the person next to you puking all over you

spot on my friend!

You got it.

This was one of my favorite lines.

The amount of Steem available is decreasing everyday while the amount of applications that ride on the platform are increasing

Now where to get some cash to buy Steem. I have a feeling the bottom of the dip is near within the next couple weeks.

Yeah, people seem to forget about the true power of supply and demand.. And i think u are right, we are getting close to the bottom or last dip.. keeping my fingers crossed!
I also noticed u passed me in profile points! Congratulations my friend, the jedi has become the master ;)

Ooops. I'm sorry. That is from posting not from bots. You are still my favorite hippie.

Definitely a long term investment in time & money. I’ve been waiting for precious metals to dethrone the dollar again for two decades now so sitting on steem for a bit is no problem, still lots of potential here

So u have had some practice with patience then! LoL..
I think long term in cryptoverse is a few years, but honestly if steem continues to do well I will hold it as long as possible.. I really do think it deserves a spot in the top 10.. but then again, what do I know? im just a crazy hippie! Lol ;)

350 apps?! Wholly Schmolly!
Steemit is advancing something fierce!
Now if the price of steem could follow

I know, right! I couldn't believe it when I read that either.. But it is from someone who I trust quite a bit here on steemit and his numbers are usually spot on..
I think during the next bull run steemit will start climbing the ladder, not only in price but also in rank. I really think it deserves a spot in the top 10 list, it just doesn't have the hype around it like EOS or Cardano but I think it has way more use case right now. Unfortunately it is based around social media so a lot of people believe that steemit is the only reason to have steem :( when people realize how extensive this network is it will take off like a rocket. Just waiting on that damn hardfork20 and SMT protocol!

I know very little about all of these things but it amazes me what is happening and that someone could have thought of this. So do you say, we must take all our sbd and put it into steem?

I agree, the minds behind this technology are truly brilliant.. If you don't understand steemit all that great I did an article a while back explaining it a bit more (check that post out here).
I see you have accumulated a bunch of sbd, instead of straight exchanging it I would prolly boost each post with @minnowbooster because that would give you about an extra 15% on your sbd so your sbd to steem exchange would be nearly 1 to 1. Even exchanging it straight up on steemit now for 0.8 steem for every 1 sbd is pretty good to be honest, I don't see it getting to much closer than this.
I know that at one point sbd was at like $15 but that was not right, it was being manipulated because it has such a small supply. ANYHOW.. SBD is supposed to be pegged to the dollar 1 for 1 and soon steem will cost much more than a single dollar so yes, if I were you I would start exchanging them (slowly) so when steem takes off you don't loose that awesome exchange rate because I (personally) never believe sbd going much above a dollar again, because its not meant to and they are figuring out ways to counter a high sbd like giving more steem out in rewards like they are doing now.

Sorry that this got so long, I hope I answered your question. Don't just take my advice, you should ask around or do some research before you decide... This is just my opinion on the matter. Take care :)

Thank you for your reply and input

Thank you for this great insight @moderndayhippie! That's why I keep on powering up, but also enjoy the interaction on steemit so I for sure will keep on steeming :)

Glad to hear it @lizelle! I know that most of us that are still around during this hard time on steemit are here for the long run, but sometimes when moral is low I like to try to remind people why sticking around is the thing to do ;)
Thanks for the comment!

It's good to remind people of that, thank you :)

I realised I almost posted 2000 post for the past 8 months! Facebook didnt exactly tell me how many post i posted =)

Thats great! Although here on steemit a "post" includes all of your comments and replys as well. If you want to know your true post count there are a few steemit related websites that will tell you that info. I can't remember off hand which ones but im sure if you ask around someone can help you out! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34