Is Steemit just a social experiment that can also fail ?

in #steemit7 years ago

images.png

Steemit is just barely 18 months and already trying to shake up the social media scene but will it succeed ?

No one knows the answer to that question but people who love Steemit and are very passionate may not want to discuss a possibility of failure.

I personally love the idea but am not sure whether its sustainable and will stand the test of time. I still use and love it.Some people will get bored and leave, others might not earn as fast as they may want to and leave. 300,000 users is still too small to validate the Steemit Idea.

One of the toughest questions I have come across is ,why Steemit needs a blockchain yet all this arrangement can be done without one . This payment system can be implemented on any social media site, so is this system revolutionary ?

There are reports that the brains behind it Daniel Larimer parted ways although he still personally uses Steemit. If this is true, then its a very big blow considering he is the tech guy behind it. Yes Ned Scott the CEO is very capable but I think a project of this magnitude would be much better off with both founders actively involved especially the tech wiz Daniel.

I like the trending section of Steemit but I most times get the same articles after 24 hours and this is not a very good sign. Even promoted content stays without much change. Either trending articles are so few or Steemit still has very few users pushing out quality content on Steemit.

The Steemit platform is annoyingly slow and I don't know if its because of the blockchain but this can and will get very frustrating with time when many more users join the site. Some users have invested loads of money and yet the platform and reward system is still very confusing and yet funds in Steem power can only be withdrawn within two years.

Steem also doesn't seem so decentralized because some of the founders still control the platform. I have seen a post by Ned where he forfeits his post earnings. How is this possible if there's no back end control

There are also rumors that most of the founders,friends and family took out loads of Steem between themselves and control most of the voting power. I have not seen this disputed anywhere.

All this undermine the credibility of Steemit and make it harder for Steemit to succeed.

Sort:  

Hi nmao

Very interesting argument and something I never questioned. Im as green as as can be on steemit and how the whole earning and voting works, infact saying Im green is boasting on my part, Im more white. But I read any info that can give me that education I lack with steem, blockchain, and everything that comes with it. Yet this week I earned $10 which to me is exciting . Another $4 tomorrow but with steem value low I will end up with less.

$10 in a week looks good for someone new and green about how all this works. I have never earned more than a dollar on any of my posts. You could really do well with many follower, all the best.

For me, it is an experiment.

Google isn't stupid (I mean the google bot).
The idea to pay people to post/comment or vote it's original, but a lot (and I say, A LOT) of content it's posted here and sadly sucks. It's copy/paste, it's bad curated, a lot of post like a tumblr blog. Really sucks!

Nice idea steem, but... you need moderators (a lot!).
And need to ban all the bots.

Thanks for this space.
Regards from... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67