Wow! I Can't Believe How Much I Underestimated Steemit's Ability to Take Crypto Mainstream!!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I sit here in awe at the level of interest Steemit has been building.  

When I first heard of Steemit, I thought, wow cool idea.  Good way to get the written word onto the blockchain for preservation for posterity.  When my friend and Nexus Teammate Keith Smith wrote this awesome article about not needing taxes and made a decent haul on Steemit, I saw that this platform had even more potential.

https://steemit.com/anarchism/@keithsmih/we-don-t-need-taxes-where-we-are-going

Nevertheless, I still wasn't fully sure it would go mainstream at least not for a while.  With the addition of the Reputation system, I decided to give Steemit a try.  

https://steemit.com/steemit/@pdogg147/kudos-to-the-steemit-reputation-system-and-introduction

But, even since yesterday with this successful post by Jeff Berwick of The Dollar Vigilante

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@dollarvigilante/the-dollar-vigilante-is-now-on-steemit

coupled with the recent successful posts by Sterlin Luxan, 

https://steemit.com/anarchism/@sterlinluxan/anarchism-is-deeply-intimately-personal

https://steemit.com/psychology/@sterlinluxan/spanking-children-is-an-unconscious-act-of-vengeance

I am seeing this head towards mainstream integration.  Then earlier today @keithsmih showed me this article on the Huffington Post.  

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/why-blockchain-backed-social-network-steemit-could_us_57a47636e4b0c94bd3c9312f

It then finally dawned on me.

He was right all along and that this platform was set to go mainstream in and of itself, but the larger implication is building awareness of cryptocurrencies and how they can benefit society.  Many of us are working towards this means and to build cryptocurrencies that better the world in some way.  

I am now on the side that Steemit and the Steem Team are working towards that means as we are with the Nexus Project (though with much different aims and strategies).  Crypto is about to go mainstream and I think Steemit is about to do it.  Thanks @ned and @dantheman

So...Wow!  I Can't Believe How Much I Underestimated Steemit's Ability to Take Crypto Mainstream!!!

Sort:  

Following the footsteps of bitcoin.

Satoshi - July 29, 2010 (BitcoinTalk Forums): “If you don’t believe me or don’t get it, I don’t have time to try to convince you, sorry.”

We're in the 2010 phase of Bitcoin for Steemit.

Except now its:

If you don't believe or don't get Steem, we don't have time to convince you, sorry! Just watch our posts make moneys!

Agree. This thing has some Steem! :) I also am looking at this from the big picture and @keithsmih really showed me how far it is going to go. Content writers ARE coming and with them, their followers.

I was so excited when I saw the Huff post article!

Yeah it was a very good post and introduction for people to understand Steemit.

Glad you liked my HuffPo article. I hope it helps to raise awareness of this project.

im sick of fake posts pretending to be female getting so many upvotes from whales :(

The post should be zero'd when they are exposed as fake!

You know we are going mainstream when we have all kind of people onboard, including ...a playmate (!).

Who would have thought that this is even possible with bitcoin?

Playmates will draw a different crowd for sure, but yeah the blockchain is in its infancy, so I expect much more to come!

Thanks for the shout out brother! I knew steemit was going to make it big. It really is something of an amazing experiment. I love steemit and the community here. I can definitely see this replacing my time wasted on Facebook to be more productive.

Well, you have brought a crew of folks in here some of whom are heavy content folks and anarchists (and many more indirectly) though many may not realize it .

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 11.7 and reading ease of 43%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Thanks for the post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48