First Time Using a Steemit Post to Vent: Hours of Writing and $ Lost Due To Steemit.com Being Down. What I Learned & Why Steemit is STILL the Best Place to be Online!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Yowzers!


My first steemit rant/venting post!


This post is a venting of frustrating or ranting about shit I don’t like but also a post with a life lesson on of which I feel we can all benefit by and thus the ultimate purpose of this post. 


source


I have been super busy and on top of it Steemit.com has bee down for hours of time for the last few days. I don't really know what or why or if its everyone using Steemit.com or just some people. 


I do know for a fact others have been having an experience of Steemit.com being down for some amount of time in recent days. 


So I am writing this to vent my frustrations as I have not felt motivated to write a post for over 24 hours due to loosing a couple hours worth of writing/composing due to Steemit.com Being down. Its a major blow when I sit at a computer for hours at a time composing a long and important post to then have it lost. I am sure others have experienced this and of course no one likes it. 


Yet, in life, SHIT happens. We also all know that as well. So the question is what do we do when that shit happens?



Life is a game; It's what we do with the cards we are dealt that really defines who we are, and that dictates the results of our exepriece. 


So, I am choosing to face this unfortunate loss as an opportunity. 


An opportunity for what you may ask?


Great question!


Well, an opportunity for something beneficial like LEARNING! I find that there is always something to learn in experiences we want or experiences we don’t want. When we learn something from an unfortunate experience in a way it becomes fortunate….Or at least in someway valuable. I honestly wouldn't waste my time or yours just complaining. 


I have had this happen in my life many times already so have evolved to be pretty consistent at “looking at the bright side” or “turning lemons into lemonade” .


source

So first off here are a list of my complaints/frustrations aka “lemons”. Of which I will attempt to turn into some delicious lemonade for myself and anyone who wishes to share with me!


Lemons:


  • Sitting at a computer so many hours (which I only like for the results of the work, not being on the computer itself)
  • Loosing the work/value from that time sitting at a computer. 
  • Feeling damaged by the fact that it “wasnt my fault”
  • That blame then turning into further blame/complaining for the other perceived “problems” with steemit.com
  • Not wanting to write/post because of the frustration. 
  • Loss of $$$



Ingredients for lemonade:

  • Venting. Venting can be healthy when done consciously and responsibly. Thus why I am including ingredients for lemonade not just a post of lemons. (no offense lemons, ur not inherently “bad”)
  • Learning: Learning to me is the most valuable use of time so finding ways to learn and adapt from this experience. 
  • I have actually told many new people who join Steemit to compose their posts on a note pad or offline writing app. So that if for some reasons Stemit is not working or the internet goes down writing is NOT lost. I used to do this actually but have not been for many months now. However this is a reminder as to why that is important. Its the safe and logical way to do it and sometimes we have to have these “bad” experiences in order to learn or remember. 
  • Making $$$: Yes I lost $$$ due to Steemit being down but instead of letting that continue to have me loose $$$ I am now composing this post to not only vent, but to learn, to share and to then also make some $$$. 
  • Responsibility: This is the ultimate in turning lemons to lemonade. Yes, Steemit may be down, and yes, there may be things that have not been improved or fixed that I think should be, but ultimately my post was lost because I was not careful enough. Thats my fault and can’t blame it on anyone. What I can do is vent, let go, learn and get back up better than ever!

Ultimately what I get out of this is an opportunity for responsibility and learning. To make something beneficial of the initially frustrating situation!

 

I am already feeling better and what is still obviously true is that Steemit even in beta is the best place to be and share on the internet!

Thats some Uber Dank Lemonade!


I can say honestly that no Steeemit is not perfect, and there are plenty of things I would prefer were different, but in the end I am grateful and honored to be a part of this community and this revolutionary project. I still want to post, I still want to promote and contribute to the progress and success of Steemit and this community! 


I am not going to waste my time complaining but invest my time in improving! Not just my own experince but that of Steemit as a whole!


I will be traveling to SteemFest soon and speaking there as well. That is because I love Steemit and want to promote and support its success. I also want to meet the many Stemians who will be there and contribute my most valuable knowledge, experience and successes with the Steemit community. 


Steemit is my favorite place to be online and I still believe it to the a fantastic investment and a revolutionary platform/community!


Even if I lost a post every week I would Still want to use Steemit because there is no other place that can offer what it does. 


I am going to continue to INVEST my knowledge and also $$$ into Steemit so that it can continue to grow and improve. I am going to continue to promote it as the best place to be online and I am going to continue to believe in the potential of this community!



As always I appreciate you all and welcome your feedback!

SteemOn!


Sort:  

You do realise you can still post when steemit.com is down right? Use busy.org or a similar service. Steemit is only 1 front of many to the Steem blockchain.

I didn't realize that until I made this post and now many have told me.
Yet another benefit to this post and a sweet addition to the lemonade!

There are few worse feelings than losing your work that you've poured time energy and passion into. I've been there, definitely a vent-worthy subject.

I draft my posts out in a markdown editor called Bear that even works offline so Im not at the mercy of uptimes and downtimes, also @teamhumble wrote an awesome post about a few alternatives when steemit is down that will still allow you to connect to the steemit blockchain- hope this helps! https://steemit.com/steemit/@teamhumble/alternative-ways-to-connect-to-the-steemit-blockchain-when-steemit-com-is-down

Awesome comment!

Thanks for sharing!

SteemON!

👍🏻 thanks friend

I can relate to this frustration @quinneaker. I once wrote a post--about you actually--that posted and showed up on the new page. The minutes counted for a few as if it posted, but the post didn't show up on my blog. The link on the new page, though still counting minutes, didn't lead to anything. The post never showed up on my blog and essentially just disappeared.

So I have re-written the post, and actually made it even better than the one that I just assume Steemit was not ready for! I hope to be posting that in a few days. It will include a few of the unusual, more ethereal photos I have taken of you and talk about recognizing the awareness you have about solutions to life's "problems".

I always love what you have to share, and this post about learning from mistakes, taking responsibility for your experience, and providing positive input to the community is no exception. Thanks for always keeping it real--and making real something worth examining! Blessings to you.

I appreciate this comment and your EverSupport!

∞§∞EverLove∞§∞

I'm still shocked when I hear people creating and editing posts using the steemit editor.

I feel your pain, I've twice now lost months of work let alone a couple of hours! The tool I use is draftin.com, it's a great editor and you can create your work there, then just copy n paste it in; after a quick check hit submit and there you go!

Keep making that lemonade brother!!

Cg

hahahahaha yes an intelligent seasoned veteran like your self may be shocked yet thousands of noobs here on Steemit have had this same mistake.

Thanks for the wise advise and encouragement. Its always great to see and hear from you.

I have learned my lesson for sure and I will check out the site you recommend. I can always use an upgrade!

Blessings Brother~*~

Lolz, I learned from my very painful mistakes; I lost several chapters of my sci-fi series and just haven't had the heart to start again... i will though, at some point :-)

Cg

Oh wow!

SO your still suffering from the loss!

That sucks, but at least you learned!

Learning FTW!

Call me old school, but I do my longer posts in notepad and just copy paste it. Most of my stuff is just quick photographs, so I don't need to, but I learned early on never to trust the web for editing text.

Yes maybe old school but WISE school!

I've lost some really good stuff too but maybe only twice since I started a year+ ago. However, I have Google Drive downloaded on my computer which has always kept my files safe. When I have no Wifi I write my blogs there. Also, I keep a file copy of most of my blogs in there before I hit the POST button. This way I have all my Markup. It's not Fool-proof but I've had to get creative since I've been traveling.

But Quinn, you're the smartest man I know, you always have solutions and tons of people here can relate to this situation. I often quote you, telling people there is always a solution. Super grateful you are you.

Excited that you're keeping your Steem up!

Well said, well said.

Nice to see your Still Steeming, and nice to see you around.

Blessings on your great adventuress~*~

You seem to be able to make lemonade out of anything! Or as you usually say "Turning shit to gold"
Have seen you handle much more difficult situations than this!

Yes, I realized long ago that every moment is an opportunity. Thus its only wise to utilize it as a progressive opportunity rather than a detrimental opportunity....

I lost a few posted the last few days as well, I took some frustrated power walks under the trees my way of helping with anger and frustration. Thanks for the positive spin on the site being down, I think a lot of people needed this post. Still loving steemit!

Yes!

Remember to write it on an online text page then copy into Steemit editor!!

I almost lost another one today if I hadn't done that first!

Great tip! Thank you, I would like to avoid the emotional frustration again. Hope you and your beautiful girls are smiling today.

SO MANY SMILES!!!!

I still write my posts in the steemit editor but having lost the occasional pussy i copy it to another editor occasionally at I go through and always just before posting. The worst one I had was where I posted the post and it just disappeared!

It is good to vent, get that lemonade made! :0)

Yea the lemons were REAL sour, but this lemonade is pretty sweet ;-)>

Yea I almost lost another one this morning but thankfully I learned from yesterday ;-)>

You know what they say, a lesson learned and all that! :0)

hahaha yea thats what they say! Wise words from the learned ;-)>

Well done my friend.

I would describe life more as a life but your comparison is absolutely legit.

I like that you didn't complain instead you used the situation to make the best out of it. To invest in yourself learning something.


Time is our most important source and we can't get it back so we need to use it wisely. And you did it.

Bless it be~*~

Not only you bud the issue affected my posts performance too-it is a DDoS attack and am sure that they will resolve it.

Yes I have been having a hard time on here last few days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80