📣 Steemit Talk Soon – Need Your Input! 📣

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

As some of you might know I love starting and running communities! Looking For Niche is a big one for me, but I also run a blockchain community/network in my city here in Denmark.

That is where you come in! I am doing a talk on Steemit for the next meet-up. I figured it would be best to ask you all for inputs on how I can best introduce the platform! The way it will go is: I will do a talk, then Q&A and then a networking session if you will, where everyone can casually talk. Pretty straightforward as meet-ups go.

During the talk I’ll go through the basics of course: “How do you post?”, “remember to write down your private keys”, “how do upvotes work?” and such. I will also mention a bunch of Steemit related communities afterwards to people interested: PAL, Whaleshares and more (and of course Looking For Niche! 😎).

The target audience are people familiar with blockchain to some degree but they do not know about Steemit or they have at least not used it yet.

But what would you like to hear at such a talk, and what do you think that new people should hear about? It could be anything. I cannot promise I will include it in the talk. Maybe I will do multiple when different topics related to Steemit if there is enough interest.

Of course, if you live in Denmark, particularly in Jutland in this case, feel free to hit me up on Discord. You can find me on https://bit.ly/lookingforniche. Anyone else is free to hit me up as well, but if you do not get an immediate response, I am just busy.

Anyway, talk to me below about what I should include in the Steemit talk! 😄

Sort:  

Hey I randomly list some points to mention that come into my mind:

  • Steemit what is it for?
  • Blockchain
  • Account creation
  • Keys
  • STEEM / SBD / SP difference
  • Voting Power
  • Upvote effects (curation rewards, post payout)
  • Codex of original content
  • Communities (pal, msp, whaleshares, lfn, denmark community?)
    (- Attention: scam, plagiatrism)
    (- some ppl to follow with good content)
    (- bid bots)
    (- chats?)

(- q: ppl will compare it to fb. Maybe prepare answers)

J

Those are definitely good topics. Maybe even too much for one small talk, but I will end up doing more as long as people show up. Perhaps two or free in succession, if all goes well. Thanks for good points!

Knowing how your reputation score is impacted is quite valuable when starting out; engaging with the community and demonstrating value to those who have already demonstrated their own to the platform is essential to being rewarded for the time invested.

I had not heard much information witnesses when I first joined the platform, perhaps those would also serve as good users to use for examples, as they will likely employ a lot of the tools necessary to produce high quality content like media, references, and community participation.

I am attempting a pretty big privot in my fiat-stacking gig, do once things calm down with that and I have more time to devote, I would like to develop a local blockchain community as well. Seeing posts about successful meetups from members like yourself are invaluable for someone trying to get more involved, thanks!

And thank you, I wish you all the luck with a meet-up! Talk about how witnesses work might even be out of my scope, but perhaps the basics about that will do for a future talk. You are definitely right about that engagement is often directly rewarded, hence a great idea for newcomers (and old-timers too!)

I would probably want to here about how vastly diverse this community and that there is a spot for everybody no matter your talent. Also make sure to inform that it is not always an instant money maker it takes a bit of time and networking to build it up. Good quality content is always welcome so take time and consideration for posts. Also you don't necessarily have to have amazing grammar and English you can do Visual arts and videos on here. There is probably more that I'm not thinking of but I hope they join. I would gladly welcome them all.

Thanks @artsygoddess for the input! I'll especially keep in mind the point about the diverse community of any talents, I think that's very valid.

Congratulations @rawbinhutt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58