Former Chipotle Store Manage Gets 8 Million Payout for Wrongful Termination

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

chipotle.png


READ THE FULL STORY HERE

The other day a Fresno California Superior Court ordered Chipotle to pay a former manager over 8 Million Dollars for wrongful termination.

Jeanette Ortiz was fired for allegedly stealing $626 from the Chipotle safe, and the restaurant claimed there was video evidence to prove it. When Ortiz denied stealing the money and demanded to see the tape, Chipotle claimed it had been inadvertantly deleted.

Ortiz and her attourney claimed it was a scheme to fire her for filing 4 workmans comp claims and being out for 4 pregnancies. Essentially she was a drain on the companies resources so they wanted to get rid of her.

The case went to trial after Chipotle initially offered her $1,000 to settle the claim.

During the case it was brought up that Ortiz had 9 kids, was having money troubles and recently had to move from her house into a smaller apartment with her 9 kids, and that she had to borrow money from a relative to pay a $1700 electric bill. That was the case Chipotle was trying to make for why she stole the money.

In the end, after 4 hours of deliberation the jury awarded her 6 million for emotional distress and 1.7 million for lost wages.

Why so much money? Well 6 million is for emotional distress, that seems a bit much to me considering people spend decades in jail for being wrongly convicted of crimes and only get a few hundred thousand and this lady gets 6 million, seems kind of out of line. Also, the law is meant to make people whole, not give them a lottery winning and set them up for yacht with the Kardashians

Is Society Fucking Crazy???

Here's my thing, I believe Ortiz was probably wrongly fired. The funny and ironic thing about this is California is an at will state meaning that assuming Chipotle did fabricate a reason for firing her, it was completely unnecessary and they could have let her go without having to claim she was stealing.

My beef with this story is I don't feel this issue deserves a 8 million Dollar payout. Was the women wronged, I think she probably was. The 1.7 million was based on the assumption she would have gotten a $100,000 raise and that would have been 17 years worth of work. With the emotional distress payout however she's essentially being paid her salary for the next 100 years.

I think giving this women 2-3 years worth of salary is more than fair. It allows her to be made whole, it makes up for her being wronged, and she still has the opportunity to go get another job and invest this money and set herself up for retirement. The idea that she gets 8 million Dollars for being wrongly fired seems a little extreme. This also is scary for large companies. Let's be honest most retail managers are not necessarily experts in employment law so your minimum wage employee makes one fuckup or wrongs someone and now your on the hook for 8 million Dollars? Now in the grand scheme of things for a company like Chipotle this is a drop in the bucket, but how about for a small business? Something like this would destroy them.

I sort of understand the reasoning for large payouts like this. The goal is to deter companies from doing wrong things like this. If this cost Chipotle $50,000 that would be a drop in the bucket and it would almost be ammunition to continue fucking people over because heck it's only gonna cost us $50,000, that's nothing.

That said it seems wrong to me that this equates to a lottery payout for an individual and in a way encourages this sue happy mentality we have in society.

What I personally think would be a better system if we are going to have huge windfalls like this, is ths women gets like 10% of it which equates to $800,000 which is about 11 years worth of wages, and the rest of the money goes to a charity. That way you still have the large "fine" so to speak and a deterrant, this women is made more than whole again, and the money goes to a better cause. This women to me doesn't deserve a lotto payment that sets her up for life over this incident.

To me the law is designed to make people whole and right wrongs, it's not meant to set someone up for life. If you ever watch People's Court and similar shows, if someone breaks down your fence, it doesn't mean they have to pay to put a unilock paver patio in your backyard, and outdoor grill, a pool and a top of the line fence, it means they have to replace your fence and make you whole again. This women should be made whole, not made rich.

I know some will disagree with me. I saw this story on Reddit and an overwhelming amount of people were saying things like fuck Chipotle good for her, but personally I don't agree. What's your thoughts?

Thanks for reading...

Rules For Rebels

Sort:  

This has to be one of the most insane stories I've seen in awhile. And then we wonder why all of the sudden we see these increase prices for things like food and clothing at retail outlets.

Before I even read all you wrote in this Post, I said to myself that about 2 years worth of Salary should probably be awarded to this woman.

And you said maybe even 3. And I think that would be fair. Around $100K or so.

But 8 million is such a ridiculous amount. I hope Chipotle contest it.

That's a joke.

P.S. Well , I guess she could come here to Steemit and start out right up there with @ned as a whale ;)

Hey buddy thanks for the comment. Yeah this is insane to me as well. I actually first found this posted on reddit and was really surprised to see the vast majority of people on reddit supporitng this women and saying fuck chipolte their food sucks and so do they etc, etc, etc.

I agree, I think this is absolutely ridiculous. It's also way out of line in terms of common sense that people who have a wrong limb amputated, people who are imprisoned for decades, people who are killed or mamed due to someone else don't even get this much money and this lady gets setup for life, just makes no sense.

I kinda get the argument that if you gave her 50k to Chipolte that's not really a deterrant not to do this again as that amount of money is nothing to them but I would rather see the money go to charitee than to be a lotto win for this women.

Like you said 2-3 years I think is pretty generous. She gets paid for doing nothing. If she wants to kick back and spend the time with her kids she can, if she wants to go get another job and basically double on on earnings for 2-3 years she can do that as well.

My whole thing is the law is designed to make you whole, not make you rich. IMHO this is akin to if you damaged my property ie accidentally ran your car over my fence, and instead of the judge saying just pay to repair his fence the judge orderes you to give me an inground pool, an outdoor kitchen and a coy pond along with a new fence lol

My whole thing is the law is designed to make you whole, not make you rich. IMHO this is akin to if you damaged my property ie accidentally ran your car over my fence, and instead of the judge saying just pay to repair his fence the judge orderes you to give me an inground pool, an outdoor kitchen and a coy pond along with a new fence lol

Yes, that is a really good example lol Spot on !!

Texas is also and At Will state. This shit would never fly here. I know people who have been wrongly terminated who got screwed and no lawyer will touch a case because its too hard to win a jury award in Texas.

I may sound pessimistic. But the point I am at now is let society squabble over their paper monopoly money. My goal is to stack enough PMs and crypto to divorce myself from this system entirely and shoot guns and drink whiskey on my back porch and watch the world burn.

I'm with you brother. I'm grinding right now trying to stack enough money that I can take a step back from things that tie me down and go settle down somewhere, fuck around on Steemit, do some blogging and just make a casual income to get by.

Me and my girl are going this weekend to look at a property in Michigan, less than a mile from the beach, 9 acres with a bunch of outbuildings and stuff, small town but still less than an hour and a half from Chicago for flights and to come home and visit family and stuff. Not quite ready to do all that yet but could definitely pickup the property and continue working and hopefully in a year or two move out there and just kick back.

From reading deeper into this it looks like it will likely get appealed and the likely scenario is the judge will tell the woman to take a smaller some or face another jury trial. I'll be curious to see how this pans out.

I say give her 500K and Chipotle for life with extra meat.

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @rulesforrebels

We have planted already 5396.96 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22203.37
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

This post has received a 6.05% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @rulesforrebels. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 15.87% upvote from thanks to: @rulesforrebels.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36