Men in Black

in #steemit6 years ago

Oh! Yeah. This is not a sequel to the movie I believe many of us must have watched.

As long as you live in our great country Nigeria or have visited at some point, then you definitely would have come across our ever wonderful constituted authority; Nigeria Police Force.
I am so sure several of us also would have had an encounter or two with this guys at one time or another. I want to quickly share some funny experiences I have had with them, and recent experiences of friends I find very funny .
However, as a citizen of this great country of ours, we need to ensure to stand for our rights and also ensure to do all we can to uphold the law by abiding by the principles of our constitution.
images (2).jpeg
(http://agesmedia.blogspot.com.ng)
Experience 1.
I had this experience sometimes ago when I embarked on a 4hours journey to and fro making 8hours all together. However, on my way going every police checkpoint that saw my old grandpa in the car just allowed us passage as a way of respect for the old man. Lo and behold, after dropping off grandpa at the village and hit the roads to return home, it was a smooth journey all the way until about two hours to our destination when we were stopped at a check point.

Out of confidence that I had all documents intact i obeyed and stopped, though my friend that followed me didn’t like the idea that I stopped for the Police officer. He asked for the car papers, I handed it to him, after a thorough check and found nothing amiss, he asked for my drivers license, that was Intact too. He suddenly mentioned a particular paper that I didn’t have. I looked him straight in the eye and told him it didn’t sound like what I needed in the car. He then said we should proceed to the station, I smiled and agreed to follow him. He was shocked, but somehow he declined from going knowing it’s a wrong move.
After delaying me for close to an hour he said; “bros, so give me something na”. I replied that “I will be so unwise to give him anything, having delayed me this long”. A polite way of saying he is a fool. He looked at me and handed me my car documents and license.

Lesson

  1. Ensure your car documents are always intact.
  2. Never say anything that may implicate you that will give an officer a leverage over you.

Experience 2
This is a very funny one. My friend's mum is into business and her bus driver was stopped by an officer. After showing the officer all the necessary credentials demanded by the officer and were all intact. That their dubious spirit suddenly started manifesting, the officer checked for his jack, wheel spanner, Caution sign, and fire extinguisher. Excuse me,that's the work of a Road Safety Officer. Luckily enough all were intact. From no where the officer asked if the driver had a CUTLASS. Ha-ha!. Very funny, the driver asked what for, the officer said he needed it if perhaps its raining and a tree fell by the road and he needs to clear the road. Ha-ha!. Dumb right, the driver was so infuriated and insulted the officer and further said, even if he had a CUTLASS he would still be asked what he needed it for since he wasn’t a farmer. To cut the story short, he was arrested for insulting an officer and not for not having a CUTLASS and was bailed with 15,000naira.

LESSON

  1. Make sure you don’t make the foolishness of an officer obvious to him, because it may be a trap just to get you to the station.
    images (1).jpeg
    (http://www.alamy.com)
    Experience 3
    I was actually amazed when my friend narrated this experience to me. He was stopped by an officer and he was asked to show all his documents which he did. Of cause all his documents were intact.
    The officer probed further about where he was going, he simply answered that he was a student and was on his way to school. He asked what course he was studying, my friend who is a science student answered politely that he is science inclined.
    My friend could not swallow the shock of the next question that came out of the police officer’s mouth about a particular question in Chemistry subject. My friend answered perfectly and the officer explained further, and afterwards asked my friend to go.
    He told me he has never seen an officer that sound in mind and well dressed. He was still in shock as he narrated his experience.

LESSON

  1. No matter how bad a system is, there definitely will be found someone who is making a positive difference and who wants to do the right thing.

  2. Policing is beyond asking dumb questions, officers across boards ought to ensure they engage their IQ in carrying out their duties.

I FORSEE A BETTER COUNTRY!

ONE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE, YOU JUST DECIDE TO TALK, DO, AND ACT DIFFERENTLY AND YOU WILL BE AMAZED AT THE IMPACT.

Sort:  

Well articulated....
A nigerian living in this country will easily understand but the lovely aspect of the post is you bringing out the problems and explaining the lesson of each encounter.

I drew inspiration from this post

Yeah. Thanks bro, many have given up on nigeria, we cant afford to that, so wee need to ensure we do all we can by contributing in our own little way to bring sanity into the system.

This is deep! And as a Nigerian, i can really relate to this

Yeah. True. Thanks. Alot jst came through my mind about our system and tot of sharing. Thanks @dop-dop

Congratulations @samotu, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 16850 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3654.20. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Mind blowing post right here. Thumbs up.

Thanks boss. You are point and thanks for always being their to answer my every questions.

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Wow. Thanks, i appreciate it. Have a pleasant week.

Awesome write up, good lessons to be picked from them too.
I've learnt!!
Thanks @samotu

@olufisayo, yeah, alot of lessons oh cos one really needs to know how to relate with this guys else one will be landed in deep trouble.

There is no better way to put that story! Good job @samotu

Yes boss. You rock!

Really love this post
There just so many stories that can told about these men in black and other men in certain other color
You stay in this country of ours, you learn a lot.

My dear. Its just pathetic. Had an experience with VIO lastweek,where i had to defend a woman that was been unduely exploited. Her drivers license was in process and had documents to prove that,yet she was billed for not havin a license. Despite the fact that they themsevles know that document was tenable pending the issuing of the license. I wanted to drag it with them but the woman was tired of the whole thing and her time had been wasted since morning. And just thanked me and said she would go pay the #8000 naira. I was pained. Infact they billed her #20000naira before i showed up in their office. We need to know our right and excercise it. Never follow them to their office come what may. But make sure all documents are intact and you know driving laws.

There is no way I would have paid 8k for something i didnt go wrong.
I don't why people would refuse to push for their rights to be recognized.
I hate cheating and don't have the guts for it. I guess she rather just save time

Lol nigeria police will never seize to amaze me. Even with all your particular they will still want to waste your time. Some of them needs to be thought a lesson. Nice write up @samotu

Very true @arogboolabisi. They can so waste ones time cos they know they aint using theirs productively. Thanks.

Nigerian Police smh! Every morning before leaving home, i pray never to encounter any negative issue with them. Be in their wrong book and such life will be a living hell.

They are really a prayer point oo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34