You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to increase A post's payout Organically: Dtube got you covered.

in #steemit6 years ago

If you read the small print in the DTube discord channel faq (not on the website I will point out) older videos are periodically deleted to make room on the server.

My videos from June this year (3 months ago) are now pictures and clicking on them result in an infinite spinning circle but no video. I did get paid well for these, but the content us gone from the public record. This isnt just me, find any popular DTuber and you'll see their work gone.

This brings a second question. How distributed are these if they are served centrally and can be deleted centrally. This sounds like a steem based YouTube to me, still potentially prone to censorship.

Lastly, I'd point out that in prior interviews (in 2017) it was claimed that the fee was going to pay for server space at $0.044 per GByte per month. Where did this money go? How is it they delete videos only 3 months old, and then reduce the fee to 10%? Are they planning to make the video lifetime even shorter? What is their business model? They must have a plan to justify reducing the fee to 10%, I'd love to see it.

Until they fix the issue of centralization and permanence of the videos, I cannot justify putting my work into preparing, recording, and editing videos that have a 2-3 month lifetime. I am investigating migrating to BitChute, or elsewhere, that the content is not centrally stored and managed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

A valid point and something I also look down upon. But you also have to remember with the current steem system we are only getting paid out within the first 7 days and since I'm mostly focusing on how to increase the payout of a post dtube is still a solid choice.

But I agree, if you put a lot of work into some videos, you might also put them into YouTube instead at this point where they will remain forever:)

Posted using Partiko Android

I find it questionable that DTube us advertised distributed and persistent, but apparently is not. The discord faq wasn't updated until May, and there is nothing on the website to indicate the limitations.

I actually came to Steemit in April because of DTube -- I was looking for an alternative to YouTube. I didnt start using discord until much later.

I think we also have to ask what value the app adds to Steem. Sure, there is the initial financial transaction, but in the long term DTube is going to leave a stream of posts with no content.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59123.43
ETH 2988.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75