Max Accepted Payout???

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

photo-1485546246426-74dc88dec4d9.jpg
source

I hopped on Discord this morning one of the guys, @tbnfl4sun was talking in SteemSilverGold about how his most recent post on Blackbeard was saying there was a "Max Accepted Payout."

image.png

I looked and sure enough, even though the votes value of the post was almost $12.00, the "Max Accepted Payout" was stuck at $7.00.

I've looked online (google) and found an article from two years ago where the author experienced the same issue and chalked it up to using a 3rd party app. It didn't seem like he had a definitive answer though.

Anyone know what the "Max Accepted Payout" is and what causes it to come into play?


I know @tbnfl4sun would like to know how to avoid getting his rewards capped. I would too!

Thanks in advance if you know the answer.

UPDATED

  • @tcpolymath commented below that he had looked into it and it appears to be an issue with the dLike application's code.

  • @guiltyparties also looked into this and wrote a post where he also came to the conclusion that it was likely due to dLike changing something in the coding from the default of 1,000,000 SBD as the Max Payout.

Thanks for taking the time to research and report on this, guys!

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Well that's new. Awesome. Looking into it.

I think the only reasonable explanation is that it's a bug in dLike's posting code. Beneficiaries always set the max_accepted_payout and the percent_steem_dollars as part of their activation code, even though they mostly shouldn't be messing with them at all. (eSteem does some weird things with percent_steem_dollars that I don't think should matter.) I don't see anything in his post that should have been seven, so any further investigation will probably have to be done by @dlike from within their code base.

Interesting. I figured it probably had to do with that, but thanks for looking under the hood. There you go, @tbnfl4sun, seems like it was dLike.

In case you don't know @tcpolymath, he's a wizard, so getting him to look into it was ideal. Now we just need to wait and see what dLike says.

When looking into this sort of thing I'm reminded of how much I don't know how to do yet. Like run a query to find out if this happened to anybody else recently.

Time and exploring will eventually take care of that.

Upvoting your comments here for being so helpful.

Well, you know quite a bit more than I do. I really appreciate having you as a resource. You're the best!

OK, it seems to have broken Steemworld for @tbnfl4sun entirely, which is interesting too.

Edit: now when I load it again it works. Previously it was showing no notifications and none of his posts as live or having any rewards, but I suppose that could have been a different issue. Curious if anyone else sees it that way.

I better chill before I take it all down,Thank's for investigating this!

max_accepted_payout is a standard feature of posts, but it's usually a million SBD. In case you had dreams of making more than that someday. In this case it seems to have been set to 7 somehow.

Dlike doesn't seem to be doing that for anyone else.

Thanks for giving it a look! I figured you might enjoy taking a peek at it. :)

I have never heard of this, but would be interested in finding out what it means. Thanks for sharing!

Yeah, it was super strange. I hope they figure out what caused it, because I definitely don't want my post payouts getting cut off. That would be rough.

howdy Blondie- great information and interesting commenting by ya'll, great post!

Glad you found it helpful. I think the lesson is to be careful which apps you use.

yes sir, I don't use a lot do you? maybe I should use more.
what about Ginabot that everyone raves about?

Ginabot isn't an application. Apps are things like Busy, steepshot, dLive, etc... They interact directly with the blockchain and apparently are able to change the max payout. Not sure why they would, but they can... and apparently do.

oh ok, what have you heard about Ginabot? if anything.

I've used her notification services for when people vote/comment on my posts. I was getting a lot of dings, so I've pared it down now, but it's nice to know when you get mentioned.

Are you using it?

no sir manwithnoname because I don't know how to get her, it's so typical of me and females.

Sorry for the delayed response. I appreciate her services and I think you would too. It's highly customizable, so you'll get the notifications you want.

  • Go to their discord server. https://discord.gg/Q2YzrP
  • Go to the registration tab
  • Type "..reg janton" (without the quotes)
  • Go to your Steemit account and send 0.001 SBD to @ginabot with the code she gives you in the memo line (This will verify that it's actually your account)
  • Once she has confirmed you own the account, you should get a Direct Message from GinaBot.
  • In the direct messages with Ginabot, type "..set" (again, without the quotes) to get your customization link
  • Click on the link and go through and choose your settings. There are explanations for each one.

I hope that helps!

so many new things and new concepts are opening up everyday, glad i am in a good company here

hi there hananali! we're glad you're here too!

Wherever there could be any help for the new comers

howdy again @hananali..well it's tough for the newcomers because it's very slow at first
but you need to post everyday and try to comment as much as possible consistently and
when people see that you are serious and are going to stay around, then they will start
going to look at your posts and upvoting them.

Exactly, I agree. This is what i am trying to do here, trying to go to as many post as possible, its making me learn new things and engaging me with people also. Even if its slow, Its still being very helpful and interesting

New to the platform and this could be helpful only if someone could elaborate it more

I just updated the post, but you can check out this link by one of the guys who looked into the issue.

https://steemit.com/steem-blockchain/@guiltyparties/q-and-a-maxacceptedpayout

Thank you so much, Will surely look into this .

Thank you for your help,that's what I love about this place!
Now that I have calmed down I see the rewards on the post don't matter and the friend's I make do!

Glad to help! Yep, for most of us it's definitely about the relationship, not the rewards.

Sorry you've gone through this. Glad we were able to get you an answer so you don't have the issue again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85