Questions Worthy of Asking

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Should dolphins and whales be able to utilize their Steem Power as they see fit? Sometimes a dolphin or a whale might make hundreds of small votes a day. Or on another day they might make only a few votes but at a much greater weight per vote.

They do this with the Steem Power that they’ve either outright purchased or earned by making posts here on Steemit. Another way they may have come into this power is through delegations.

The way that Steem was programmed to operate is that those who have the most Steem Power will get a bigger voice as to where the rewards will be allocated.

It’s not quite a fair system, one man one equal vote. Rather, it is an artificial system that we know as the blockchain. People, however, they want things to be fair. They know that if the whales and dolphins didn’t vote that they’d get more rewards from the pool.

Should we expect or try to get those with large amounts of SP to not vote so that we can have more value on our posts? These are just a few questions I had rolling around in my head today. What say you, do you have any opinion on the matter?

If you bought 100,000 in SP would you want to use your vote as you saw fit? Or would you decide not to vote every month so that everyone else could benefit at your expense?

What if a great calamity is claimed to be on the horizon and if we don’t restrict the liberty of Whale voting bad things will happen that will end Steemit as we know it?

Should whales capitulate for the greater good? If so, does that mean that one shouldn’t even try to become a whale because it’s not good for Steemit?



Image above Courtesy of Pixabay!

Sort:  

Hey mate, great question. And one worth asking. For me, I will use my SP any way that I see fit. I earned it so I have every right to waste it or make best use of it as I see fit.

I actually stopped by your article for another reason though. I see that you're using voting bots and resteem services.

Whether or not you agree with voting bots isn't the question however resteem services are quite simply a waste of money. Resteem services rely on people to follow the resteem bot account, and most active Steemit users aren't going to follow one of these accounts. In addition to this, most followers of resteem services are bots themselves so won't be upvoting your content.

In short, save your SBD for something more worthwhile. Resteem services won't gain you anything. And you definitely won't make that 1 SBD back from @a-a-a or gain any real followers for that matter. This post was resteemed to 75,000 followers and you got 10 upvotes? There's your evidence right there.

Thanks for your feedback @mazzle and for the advice I will definitely take that into consideration. I like to try out different things to see what works and see what does not. If all those followers are his bots I wonder how he was able to create so many of them. Probably another bot right? : -)

A side note: it does not appear to have been resteemed
as of yet. I guess I shall wait and see what the results are.

I can already predict what the results will be.

There are lots of ways to create new accounts. And he'll have either gained these followers through following many, many other accounts or through bot creation.

The whole "follow for follow" approach on Steemit is a complete waste of time and energy. Those that follow people via these practices are not known for upvoting content, creating accounts of value, being valuable followers (as in ones who engage with your posts), or accounts that stay active for very long.

Anyway, just wanted to share my experience with you. Keep creating good content!

Thanks allot for the information. I really do
appreciate the dialogue, advice and insight!
I did follow-4-follow early on as well, and I
too came to the same conclusion as yourself.

If the SP is mine you don't have a say. In fact it is fair. Think on this : if we do away with property and ownership than there can actually be no crime. No rape, no murder, no theft. One must own themselves in order for a crime to be possible. Murder is theft, but if you don't own your life there actually can be no theft. Rape is theft, but if you don't own your body, you cannot be raped. This would mean that you don't own the clothes on your body, so someone could take it from you in the mall, but because you don't own it no theft occurred. -

So property and ownership are necessary society, tradition, culture rules that protect us from the might is right principal. I will say this, should steemit or anyone else try to decide that you don't own your sweat equity and that you don't own your wallet, well I would be gone. I love steemit, but I love my liberty, freedom and responsibility more!

Thanks for your feedback @aconsciousness
I tend to agree with you on these matters.

I'm probably too new to answer these questions (started this week). Do you have a resource that you recommend for learning more in depth?

You might try the search engine and type in bid bots.
There are allot of articles both for and against. Welcome
to Steemit @lochflush!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97