You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why did you join steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

It was early in the new year, after a discussion about censorship and the suppression of knowledge when a friend recommended Steemit. I had never heard of it, nor had I ever come across a site where, not only is it possible to express yourself without having to worry about how people are going to react, but there is a chance that you will be paid for your efforts. You have no idea how excited I was. Best of all, unlike Facebook and other social media platforms, I didn't know anyone and that really appealed to me, not to mention how simple and straightforward it all seemed. No silly distractions like fonts and colours for me to waste hours on.
Having said that, I now realize it is a hell of a lot more complicated then I thought, and there are a so many things I don't understand. Cryptocurrency, blockchains, witnesses and whales! Also, I'm not sure how this works, but I know I read about some guy that was promoting his own posts and as a result sabotaging other people's earnings.
I

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68436.55
ETH 3750.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66