Why did you join steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

I feel like most of us might have just joined for the money, but I have observed that it is very hard to make a lot of money in a short amount of time, so what other reasons did you have for joining? Comment down below :)

Sort:  

I joined because i needed a place to consume content but felt it could also earn with my comments instead of wasting energy on reddit bozos for nothing at all.

I agree that it is not easy to make an income on here but that is not what this platform was designed for. Itwas made to reward people for content and curation. profitability is not implied by the creators of steemit, just gauranteed rewards of some level for your content and curation efforts.

the upside is it has opened the door for others to possibly copy the business model and make improvements in the future. I personally aspire to Fork the Steemit blockchain and build my own from it one day after i have gotten a good feel for the shortcomings of this platform.

Thanks for the comment! I did not think about the reward aspect of people using this site over others as to get something instead of wasting their time, I think that is a very interesting insight.

you are welcome! I enjoy thought provoking posts like yours; keep em-coming and you will do well here.

It was early in the new year, after a discussion about censorship and the suppression of knowledge when a friend recommended Steemit. I had never heard of it, nor had I ever come across a site where, not only is it possible to express yourself without having to worry about how people are going to react, but there is a chance that you will be paid for your efforts. You have no idea how excited I was. Best of all, unlike Facebook and other social media platforms, I didn't know anyone and that really appealed to me, not to mention how simple and straightforward it all seemed. No silly distractions like fonts and colours for me to waste hours on.
Having said that, I now realize it is a hell of a lot more complicated then I thought, and there are a so many things I don't understand. Cryptocurrency, blockchains, witnesses and whales! Also, I'm not sure how this works, but I know I read about some guy that was promoting his own posts and as a result sabotaging other people's earnings.
I

Decentralization and more equitable distribution in which everyone can participate, not just money.

Yeah I thought it was very important that there was no barrier of entry and that steemit paid for you to start using the site instead of forcing its users to pay to make an account.

Yes, thats so true though. It seems like people upvote the post/comment when they find if its beneficial for them or them and there are people who like to support newbies so that we could grow too. what I understood is its all about steem power one has, the more one has the more one can make money and even their posts are listed on the top though. well its the matter of time to make good amount from here. In simple words ' Where there is sugar, there are ants' #Indianproverb ahah :D

Thanks for the reply! I definitely agree with the steem power, I'm going to need to post a lot more and comment a lot more before I'll be making any sort of real amount of money.

Yes , of course and good luck, I took my instagram as an inspiration . It grew eventually with in no name so that's what motivated to try new network with strangers again (hopefully atleast some good friends in future)

Cze��, mi�o przywita� nowych steemian:D

Witajcie w naszej spo�ecznosci

Welcome

Welcome

Welcome

Hej, ciekawy wpis. Na pewno tu zagladne jeszcze

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61