A Journal of My Journey Through Steemit -- Chapter 1

in #steemit6 years ago

RockyTrailToTheSea-001-062518.jpg
Image Source

The journey begins

I've had this blog for weeks now -- and I want to start it on a positive note. With Steem's price in the cellar though that's been hard to do. Odd how that one thing can change the mood on Steemit from moderately gay and chirpy to really sullen and bitter. Makes me wonder if the happy posts are just a sham -- or the equivalent of whistling past the graveyard. It sure separates the devout from the mildly committed though.

Those who love this idea of Steemit itself and see the merit in what it can do dig in, set their heels -- and keep posting. I know it's a huge temptation when Steem is down and you start wondering, "What's the use?" to either stop posting regularly or start throwing something together just to get it out there. But consider this: When this happens and things go quiet, there's less competition. The serious players are more apt to notice you. You may make some great connections more easily. Does this sound like an opportunity to let slip away?

I didn't think so.

cws.gif

CountryRoad-001-052918.jpg
Image Source

This sounds like a good idea

So I remembered a post I wanted to answer from several days back. Turns out it was a couple of weeks back. Ok, almost a month by the time I put this together. (Time really flies in my world.) And I couldn't remember who had originally done it. But ... Bing to the rescue. Turns out I remembered enough key phrases that I found the original post again. It was done by @whatsup -- who may be tickled to know it made such an impression. Then again, maybe @whatsup is jaded and cynical and can't be bothered with praise from the plebes. We may just find out. So stay tuned.

The post started like this:

Do you remember the first person you met on SteemIt? Who welcomed you? or answered your question or gave you encouragement?

Does that sound like a great topic for a first post, or what??!

cws.gif

TrailThroughFieldInSpring-041817.jpg
Image Source

Yes ... I remember.

I'll have been on Steemit a year at the end of this month, but, yes, I remember "my first."

I started out thinking I already knew someone here. I'd read @digitalfirehose's blog posts when we were together on Google Plus. Politics. Parenting. A nice mix of daily life. He mentioned there that he was moving to Steemit. It was the first time I heard that word -- but I trusted his judgment and figured I'd at least check it out.

I was astonished to learn my husband, @catweasel, had already joined. (WTF? Why doesn't he tell me what he's up to ... EVER?) He gave a kind of non-committal shrug when I asked if he thought it was worth anything. (That's his standard answer to any question -- from "What would you like for dinner?" to "Do you have any ideas about such-and-so?" Grunt. Shrug. He calls that "conversation." )

So I thought, Ok, what the heck? It won't be the first thing I've joined and unjoined right away. I signed up and waited for that infamous reply email. Meanwhile, @catweasel destroyed our server and with it my mailboxes. And after some high volume choice words that questioned both his competency (highly suspect) and his heritage (even worse) and a few days of waiting ... my mailboxes were restored. It then became clear that the email I wanted had in the meantime been lost in the ether. That almost put a stop to the whole effort.

But @catweasel, who has a startling fondness for the integrity of his hide, managed to buttonhole @drakos who (God bless him) managed to come up with the esoteric keys and codes and incredibly long numbers I needed to log in and get started.

cws.gif

ForestTrail-001-051518.jpg
Image Source

Entering unknown territory

This was, from the start, sure a different kind of social media experience. Forbidding. Unresponsive. Often downright hostile. There seemed to be all these unwritten rules of behavior or etiquette that could get you slapped silly if you accidentally stumbled over and crossed one. Nothing bad ever happened to me (at least not then) ... but that was because I carefully never said one freakin' word to anyone. I just watched other people get their asses handed to them for things I didn't quite (and still may not) understand.

After a bunch of prodding -- which he almost never does -- @catweasel finally got me to write my introduction post. I hate doing that. In fact, if I'd know that was one of the requirements I'd have probably passed on the whole idea of joining from the get-go.

There didn't seem to be much content in my fields of interest. The search function on Steemit was just awful. This place was amazingly primitive and featureless for this day and age. Clunky. Confusing. Unhelpful. (The adjective list could string on ... and on.)

cws.gif

BenchInWinterSnow-030118.jpg
Image Source

Maybe some of it's my own fault

I mentioned @digitalfirehose in that first post -- figuring he'd at least show up and say "Hi." But he didn't. I didn't realize how difficult it was then to find mentions, etc. I didn't realize he wasn't around very much any more. I didn't realize how quickly content gets buried in Steemit. IIRC, I went and left a comment on his blog just to let him know I'd arrived. But still nothing.

So I decided maybe he didn't want people to know that he knew me. Or maybe he didn't recognize me from G+. Maybe it was one of those unwritten rules that you didn't stalk people. Whatever, this didn't seem to be very productive. So I let it go. I still liked his content. I told myself we didn't have to be buddies. I could just sneak in and read it. Whatever. (He has since made up for it with a nice note, mentioning he was away for a while, confirming that Steemit's terrible communication system failed us both. For him, busy.org does it better.)

I got some of the usual courtesy comments on that first post. It didn't help (I later realized) that I'd used the wrong tag. So it's my own fault it fell with such a thud.

cws.gif

Sun-Streamed Trail-091416.jpg
Image Source

The Great Spirit of Steemit
must watch out for fools, little children
and me!

But somehow, a little miracle happened. I consider this the first real person I met -- really met -- on Steemit. @princessmewmew circled through, showed me how to sign up with MSP. It's pathetic how grateful I was for the help. I started reading her blog. Commented a couple of times. Didn't get killed. I was grateful for that, too.

Still, it took @catweasel nearly two weeks to get me to put anything real on my own blog other than that first ignominious post. I was scared s^tless to write anything, say anything, make any kind of movement that might call down the dragons of doom. This place was just overwhelming ... and intimidating ... and cold.

cws.gif

SnowyTrail-001-010118.jpg
Image Source

You either give up ... or go on.

I am not a wuss, but My God, I thought Steemit was bleak -- and grumpy. Even more so after I dropped out of @princessmewmew's golden wake and decided to stop being pathetic by clinging quietly to the only person I thought would be modestly civil. I told myself there had to be more like her, and if I was going to stay, I needed to find them. I told myself, too, I could still head for the exit -- my rock-solid fall-back option. (And it was a temptation. More than once.)

Finally to get @catweasel to STFU, I wrote something. Posted it ... and prepared to die. I imagined an avalanche of disdain that would flow down like lava. It would finish me quickly and I could move on. It was actually a relief (No kidding. I went weak inside.) when it was clear nobody noticed, nobody cared, nobody gave a rat's ass. (I got 5 votes on that first post, including one from myself and one from The Weasel -- and made a grand total of $.03 -- from one person.) The anonymity was wonderful. So I took a deep breath and stumbled forward from there.

cws.gif

LoneWalkerDirtRoadAutumn-092017.jpg
Image Source

Still here ... doin' it my way.

As @catweasel said when he proofread this post in draft, "She dropped us both like a hot rock, but she was there when it counted." That pretty much says it, but I understand why. With an 8% retention rate on Steemit, it doesn't do, really, to pour many resources into brand-new newbies. A lot of promising ones drop out fast, and even some 6-months+ veterans I truly enjoyed have vanished. I won't kid you, it hurts when that happens.

I still remember @princessmewmew though, and her gracious gesture of help. As @catweasel said, it counted. A lot. (And she's still around. At least we have that in common. She still helps newbies. She's into everything. Sometimes I wish I had her ambition -- or her energy, one.) We're both in The Alliance now, but haven't exchanged another word since those early days. I watch quietly from the shadows. I do that with quite a few people, TBH. It's comfortable there. Sometimes you just need that.

cws.gif

About the art in these visual essays ...

Although sometimes the background pictures in our visual essays support the topic and text, they don't always. Sometimes the connection is clear. Sometimes it's symbolic and subtle. Sometimes, there's no connection at all.

The scenes depict landscapes and natural features, buildings and wildlife. They were chosen because they show something lovely or interesting ... or simply because the photo appealed to me.

Our spectacular and remarkable planet is changing at astonishing speed. Rarely are these changes for the better. Few people seem to know ... or care ... or have the will and power to do anything about this. It may not be long before the world humans have known and lived in for centuries is forever lost. We certainly won't be able to make repairs as fast as we destroyed it.

So a few years ago I began collecting pictures of the way things were ... and still are for now, a record of the beauty we have while it is still ours to love and honor.

The photos here are part of that collection, with sincere thanks to the artists who saw these moments ... and with their cameras ... preserved them. All of us in our small section of the planet are profoundly grateful to them for their generosity and skill ... and for the added grace, depth and dimension their art brings to ours.

Original images used under this Creative Commons license or this Creative Commons license and modified by added text.

Sort:  

This is a great first post!

I have invited you for the Minnow Booster whitelist which gives lots of benefits for quality authors, among which a higher upvote.

I hope it is an incentive for you to add more posts soon, since you are gonna need 5 more accept votes from users already on the list.

You can read more about the MB white list on @minnowbooster or read this post.

https://steemit.com/minnowbooster/@minnowbooster/minnowbooster-epic-update-community-whitelist-now-online

If you have any questions you can come to the white list channel in the Minnow Booster discord or pm me.

Have fun Steeming.

Good to see your still with us. I think the Cat thought I wasn't going to stick with it, hence my first refusal. I love proving people wrong :)

Who knows what gets into him sometimes. I've quit trying to guess.

You want to know what really turned the tide in your favor? The fact that you didn't get all pissy about it in your post. Now you seem to think he'd turned you down flat, but when I talked to him about it there was still plenty of wiggle room. I was actually surprised when your post was published -- because I thought the jury was still deliberating. In any case, you managed to wrangle a ticket and the rest, as they say, is history.

At least that's the story I got. But again ... with The Weasel ... who knows?

Oh I figured he hadn't turned me down flat, hence the article. It gave me a reason to write, that's what blogging is all about, right?

I am glad you didn't chunk it in early on and have stuck it out, otherwise the @thesteemengine would be in serious trouble, I might have had to be the lead curator, heaven forbid that.
I look forward to reading more of your journal as they become available.

You as curator. That's some thought to ponder. I'm glad I stuck it out, too. It's been interesting -- and I've changed over this last year because of it.

Almost a scary thought.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 193 (7/12/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Hi. I'm still here! :)

I wouldn't know you had mentioned me without Busy.org. I guess the notifications from Google Plus, Facebook and Twitter have trained me for...notifications.

While reading your article, I thought, "Hey, I think I did eventually get back to you.", and "The notifications on Steemit.com are non-existent". I'm so glad for my redemption later on in your article, too. Whew!

I am working on joining #thealliance, too. I'm even making a few friends here and there, like @snowpea, she was the one who suggested that I join The Alliance, too. I'm still waiting for my review to be completed.

Visibility is difficult here. I've tried the bidbots (I kept running out of SBD), I've tried the resteemers (ran out of SBD with them, too), so now I just power up and am still going cold turkey on them to focus on my readers and other content creators.

Your article was funny and had me chuckling here and there. You're definitely lucid with your prose.

I'm planning on being here for the long haul, even through this "downturn" in crypto prices. Just remember that I post a link to "everything" I write on G+, Twitter and Facebook. That is my tiny contribution to the effort to promote Steemit. I'm writing because I love to write. The money is a bonus.

Thanks for the mention, @theunnamedsteemian!

Write on!

Hi!! I'm still here, too. And, yes, notifications are another of those things Steemit could do better. I've come to think of this place as a pioneer village, cut off from the rest of civilization so much you have to invent what doesn't exist. In a way that's kind of fun. It sure makes you get creative. But I know ... it's also annoying.

I know @snowpea -- and I like her. I'm glad she pointed you at The Alliance. I'd also like to recommend you join The STEEM Engine. I'm the curator there -- and we're always looking for exceptional writers and artists. We have a pretty good group. Small. And we're not real chatty, but there are some nice benefits to belonging.

I saw quite a few months ago you looked into joining a group called The Unmentionables. The STEEM engine is the group that formed when that one came undone. (Terrible story. I'll write about that soon.)

To submit your post in post-promo, you have to upvote and comment on two other members' blogs. That kind of forces you to meet people -- and our writers post on a variety of topics, so finding something interesting isn't hard.

Every night I select the best-of-the-best from the previous day's submissions and put together a group post. You can find those here: https://steemit.com/@thesteemengine You also have upvote the group post if you want to submit articles, but even in these troubled times we're giving out $.30+ upvotes -- and in better times we regularly passed out $1 upvotes.

We can help your account grow. We can definitely help you meet people. You do have to fill out an application (please follow instructions) ... but my husband is the admissions officer. And, as I said, I'm the curator. So, let's just say you have friends in high places there if this idea appeals to you at all.

Give it some thought.

https://discord.gg/y8FpeX4

I have applied to @thealliance more than a week ago. Still waiting.
I have applied to @promo-mentors, a few days ago, and am still waiting for them, too.
I will try the Steem Engine and see how it goes.

Things have slowed to a crawl here and I'm a little disappointed. On the other hand, I did get a curie vote on my latest post and that was really nice.

I guess what I'm seeing is that some of my ideas are going to float better on Medium than they do here, and Medium is starting to pay people. I really like to write and I really enjoy the feedback I get from it.

I've posted on Medium before and one of my articles got curated by Scott Santens. If you want to see what manual curation looks like on steroids, go there. So I am thinking of dual posting just to reach a wider audience. Caitlin Johnstone is doing that, and her articles do very well there. Here, they just get $20-30, though lately, they haven't been fairing even that well.

I will just write on.

Hey 💓 I’m so pleased I could have helped you! Did you have a different name back then?
Don’t be so shy! Come and say hi sometimes.

The problem with steemit is visibility, that’s why places like the alliance are so important to our community. I’m putting your post in the promo channel to share with the rest of @thealliance !

Hope to see you around more often xx

46F9E4A3-B69B-4CFD-B396-84537775BE30.jpeg

I see you still have your cat. And I think my story just goes to show, you never know where the ripples of kindness will lead. I'm glad to see you're still helping newbies. As you can see from my post, that's important. Sometimes ... it even pays off.

Visibility is a huge problem on Steemit. (You'd think with that 8% retention rate somebody might try to fix that!!) But I'm more confident -- and better -- and different -- than I was a year ago. I'm going to call that progress ... and I'm glad I was able to let you know how much you helped.

<3

What do you want Pleb?

haha, totally kidding, yes, it matters to me that someone reads my posts and considers them. :)

I think some see the positives and focus on what they can do to be successful and some see the problems and focus on what they wish others would do. It's that simple. Many people truly are happy and have the ability to be happy anywhere. Some people will never be happy, they will always see something they wish they could change about someone else. It just is what it is. :)

Imperfectly perfect.

What do you want Pleb?

I definitely want to know you better. You're one of the most interesting people I've seen recently on Steemit. I've seen your name for a while ... and your comments, but I think this is the first post of yours I opened and read -- and you'll notice, it made an impression.

For sure I plan to plow back through some more. It just may take a few days -- or a few weeks. I'm busier than any three people have a right to be, but I'll make time for this. Count on it.

Thank you very much for stopping by. I look forward to talking more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67