HOWTO: Create A Steemit Account for Free, Without a Cellphone & Bypass the Queues and Bugs With the Signup Process!

in #steemit6 years ago

Are you having trouble creating new accounts on Steemit? Here's a quick guide to the quickest, cheapest way to solve this issue...

I posted a few weeks ago about how much trouble I was having creating accounts for friends on Steemit.com. The short version is that Steemit does not allow multiple accounts to be created from the same IP address, meaning that only one account can be created per private house/home - which is pretty lame, but made all the worse by the failure to inform us that the IP limit even exists!

As a result of not knowing this, I simply didn't create an account for anyone and a few people didn't join Steemit would have done otherwise. Imagine this problem multiplied out by 1000s of Steemians and you can see how this could be hugely affecting the success of Steemit and also keeping the price of Steem down.

Eventually, I was pointed to a service that creates anonymous accounts for us - in exchange for a fee of 10 steem, even without us needing to provide a mobile phone number. The fee is necessary since new accounts end up with 6 Steem Power, so the accounts cannot be created for free. However, the fee of 4 steem is being charged by this 3rd party service as a commission.. Which is not ideal.

Enter busy.org


Today I learned about an entirely free service we can use to create anonymous Steem accounts instantly, bypassing waiting times and the need to provide a mobile phone number. You do still need to transfer 6 steem to create the account, but that steem becomes the Steem Power for the new account, so there is no actual cost in the process as that 6 Steem can be withdrawn and cashed out at a later date.

Many people have been complaining that Jerry Banfield dared to charge $50 per creation of a new account on Steemit - so I am glad to put a stop to that and return the power to the people once again!

steemconnect

How To Create a Free Account at Steemit


  1. Go to this link at busy.org.
  2. Type in a name for the new account - the page will let you know if the name is available or not.
  3. Make a backup of the password for the account that is shown on the page. It is critical that you keep the password safe as their is no standard password recovery process!
  4. Visit this page to see the current account_creation_fee for Steem and multiply that fee by 30. Currently the account_creation_fee is 0.2, so multiplying by 30 gives a final fee of 6 Steem.
  5. Type in the fee amount in STEEM into the relevant box on the page. Ensure that you have the correct amunt of STEEM available in your own wallet (as Steem and not as Steem Power).
  6. Hit the 'continue' button.
  7. Provide the security credentials you are asked for. Your private, active key can be found in the 'permissions' section of your wallet in steemit.com.

All done! You can now sign in to Steemit.com using the new login you have created.

NOTE: If you are making this account for someone else, it is important that they change their password after first signing in, to ensure their privacy and that they can't accuse you of stealing their money if they have any problems in the future! It's unlikely they will have any problems, but it's better to be safe than sorry!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


signature


ura soul t-shirts


Buy My T-Shirts, Gifts & Other Clothing Here.

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness
View My Witness Application Here


ureka.org

Sort:  

This is really helpful Nick !
What I like about you is that you always promote freedom and ways that help us get there, get that freedom people need. This is another shortcut that help us pass so many unnecessary steps.

Thanks, yes - often we forget that 'free' is 'good'! Energy on this planet is intended to be free to move - so we have a way to go before our limited thinking on these topics is evolved. lol.

Thanks for sharing! A link to your post was included in the Steem.center wiki article about Busy.org. Thanks and good luck again!

You are welcome! Thanks for the link. :)

Hello @ura-soul

Thanks for sharing this method.

One of the biggest issue that hinders mass Steem Marketing is the long signup process coupled with the current issues we are facing now.

I just hope that the recent developments and the coming hardfork will solves these issues.

I must say that I love the way you are going about your witness campaign and I will be voting for you as witness.

I would also like to work with you if you don't mind.

Are you on Discord ?

@ogochukwu

#blockchain-blogger

Yes, this definitely needs to be one of the absolute highest priorities - we shall see with the suggestions for the next hard fork as to whether any progress has been made.

Thanks a lot for your support and your witness vote - they all help :)

I am on Discord, yes - in what context are you imagining us working together?
thanks

We created a membership server called Blockchain Bloggers we aim at creating a bubbling steemit community that interacts well with each other we are also working on giving Mentorship to newbies.

I love the way you are running your Mentorship campaign by providing useful information. I will like you to join us.

@ogochukwu

#blockchain-blogger

I see, ok - good idea - however, I am already short of the time needed just to work on the projects I am already involved with - if I learn how to clone myself then I will send one of my clones to help you ;)

That is great news and timely. I have a friend trying to sign up with Steemit but she does not have a cell phone so could not receive her text. She was rather bummed and has dropped the idea and is moving on to other tasks at hand. This will brighten her day.

I won't be able to help until I've earned more steem, but that is a beneficial challenge as well to drive me harder to continue earning. I know she will be an added value to this platform as she works for the protection of children.

I see we already have a good team building here on the Steemit platform that works toward @familyprotection so will be awesome to add her to this cause. Thanks again @ura-soul it is the opportunity to make the world a better place that makes Steemit fun for me.

Steem on!
@vickiebarker

You are welcome! Thanks for sharing your passion. If your friend wants an account more quickly she can always transfer some steem from a currency exchange - having bought it with fiat or something else.

Just popping back here to resteem this post. Thank you so much for your help. UPDATE: Some gracious Steemian donated the 6 Steem to my account to pay for my friend's account. I have yet to track down and thank this person but am on my way to do that next.

I've e-mailed my friend to give her the news and offered to help her get set up. What a great community platform we have here. Am more thrilled with the Steemit opportunity each and every day.

At some point since I was here last, I've read up on the Witness Program and yes, you are a perfect one to vote for. Thanks again!

Thanks for your support, you are welcome - I 'm glad you found a way to resolve the issue. :)

Thank you @ura-soul I will talk with her about it and make note for future reference.

This is a saving grace boss, i noticed the IP limit when i discovered that all accounts created from my system (after my personal account) didn't get approved.

I was weary to pay 10 STEEM for each account i help new people that i recruited create from my system as it quickly add up to something big (10 accounts and you get charge 100 STEEM)

Thanks for sharing this easy method boss

You are welcome - yes, being able to create free accounts is a big help for many I am sure. :)

This a nice information, @ura-soul. I had such difficulties before when I did promotion in schools for steemit. In fact, most people got discouraged by delayed approval. I think, for steemit to really make exploits, the registration should be as easy as other social media. @greatness96

Yes, there should not be any barriers to signup for a social site - it is a huge oversight in the design here and anything that can be done to fix it is welcome!

Most useful information, thank you. I have only used AnonSteem before.

The steemit signup process is a downer for many people that I have shown the site to. They cannot see the reason why you can't get instant signup confirmation as happens on just about every other social network.

Everyone wants instant gratification. Without it people can very quickly lose interest.

Yes, this approach allows them to do just that, so really the argument for continuing the restrictions in the main signup process are irrelevant!

Just spotted you have joined the witnesses. Good move. Sorry I missed this, is it very recent?

You've got my witness vote.

Ah, great, thanks - much appreciated! I posted my witness application thread 6 days ago and was working on the server for about a week previously - it took a long while for reasons beyond my control!

Indeed. I think when steemit has a free, instant and easy sign up process it will really help to push the platform closer to the mainstream.

Awesome my friend. Good post. Lets keep bringing them home and away from the madness of Facebook/Twitter etc. Good work @urasoul , have you checked out my latest posts on my blog, have a look my friend.
Peace and Love.
@steveblack

This post has received a 18.35 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @ura-soul.

Awesome post, Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33