Sort:  

The prices in the internal market are controlled by buy and sell orders. They change when people place orders... which normally lags the external market prices.

The internal price of Steem that is 3 days behind is for calculating rewards. So if you look in the upper-right hand corner of steemnow.com, you can see the internal price of steem (which is different than the market price of steem).

In the example below, it's $1.14.

image.png

Sorry to butt in here, but I thought I heard they changed the internal price of STEEM to be quicker at matching the external price. I can't remember where though. Maybe at steemitblog? If I can find it again, I'll let you know.

I hadn't heard that. I think it kinda makes sense that they use an average so it gives things a bit more stability. Otherwise, you could get completely different rewards for posting 2 hours sooner than someone else. Ha ha. I'd be curious to read the article if you can find it though.

Now that I think about it, it wasn't necessarily the payout average they use that they changed but the calculation corresponding to the dollar amount in your STEEMIT wallet. Yeah. That's it. It's supposed to be more reflective of current value. Or something like that. I'll see if I can find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80