You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 2 reasons why I am not gonna put Steempress on my website.(warning: a little bit of rant)

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

In a way, it sucks that they do that. But from their perspective though, it surely feels nice and I bet many of us would do the same if they had the chance or the determination to build such a plugin or something similar.

On the other hand, for me for example, steempress' plugin is a good start, as sometimes, the biggest vote on my posts is theirs, which makes me still want to use it despite that cut - which from what I know, is 15%.

I've noticed other apps or interfaces that take their cut and stopped using them if they didn't bring any other value. But so far it's been a good boost. Maybe later, if my account grows, I won't need that anymore, but for starters like me it feels like a good enough compromise.

Also, from what I know from other bloggers who use Patreon or things like that, donations aren't really consistent. And I guess this gets us pack to the first point. Most people would take a bigger share for themselves if they could. I guess history has proven that many times so far.

Cheers, and keep on rolling, man. ;)

P.S.: Forgot to mention their curation rewards, which almost doubles their fee.

Sort:  

Hey man! it's good to hear some people are using it still! That was actually my concern.
Yeah the "fee" is at 15% now, I dont know where I got the 10% from but I am too lazy to correct it now, the message is the same regardless!

Can I ask you, how much are the upvotes you are getting from them? and is it on every post you are making?
Just wondering!

Cheers man! :)

Depending on the post. If it's a small one - the last one was around 300+ words plus some photos, I got 11% of their full vote - that was around $5. If it's a long and more interesting one - 2000 words, travel related, nice photos, which got me also curie and travelfeed votes, it was 20%, and around $10-12, depending on the value of steem at that moment.

I know. It's not much, but it's the best way I found so far to monetize my blog. I'm more concerned about the SEO part and the duplicate content issues than about the 15% that steempress takes as a fee.

For me, it's alright so far. I mean, it makes a little difference.

Yes! the duplicate content issue is also something that was on my mind! Another reason I guess.
It's cool you are finding it useful though! and the votes you are getting seems to be quite big considering the low price of steem atm. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90