Steemit Statistics & Big Data: ๐Ÿš€ End of February 2018 Update ๐Ÿš€

in #steemit โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Thanks to ALL of you, Steemit is growing fast!

We reached 39.8 mn visits in February !

There is an important difference between total visitors to a site and unique ones. In this case the 39.8mn include the multiple times a person visited the website.

Therefore, as a good Steemian you probably connect everyday which will make you count for a total of 30 visits.

Therefore, how many "unique users" does Steemit has?

This is a very important question that I will try to answer later on. According to the Beta Analysis from the website I use to compile these datas, it is around 16,27mn !

Let's face it! After the HISTORIC numbers in January, February looks like a small setback.

We have to continue to create great content throught the different tools we have. We can't give up!

Later, I will do another analysis on dTube which looks VERY promising, it could be the "Killer App" needed for STEEM.

I] Traffic

Daily Steemit Traffic

The number of Daily visits in October was at 600k+. In November it improved to 800k+ and finally we crossed 1mn+ in December!

In January, we experienced the best daily numbers at 1.5mn+; they decreased a little under 1.5mn in February.

Steemit website is ranked 935 worldwide vs 1,091 last month

Steemit is ranked 954 in the US

Steemit kept on improving its ranking as it ranked 15,000+ last year.

Google Trends

Google Trend is an Indice based on 100, which means that 100 represents the week when most people searched for "Steemit" on Google.

Steemit Traffic share by country

In the Top 5, the strongest traffic decline came from the United States with -34.17% visits and Southy Korea with -47.43%! These moves are compared to January which was the best ever month for Steemit.com.

Mobile Traffic is catching up fast as it represents 42.5% of the total

This is useful to know how people use the Steem platform. Initiatives like eSteem (mobile app), Busy.org, SteepShot (Instagram), Zappl (Twitter like), utopian-ioโ€ฆ will probably help the community to grow on mobile phones.

Be Careful with the Number of Visits

Also, remember that if you connect from a different device (home/work computer, mobile phone, tablet) you will count as a "new visitor" on each of these devices.

So as an example, let's say you connected at home, at work and in the subway. You would represent 3 visits out of these 1mn+ Daily Visits.

II] Marketing Mix

Organic Search is once again improving and represents 51,7% of the incoming Traffic.

Organic search is when people research on Google. As the number of quality bloggers on Steemit increase, our content has a higher probability of being listed in Google's Top results.

Different Channels:

Direct: When you type in you Web browser www.steemit.com
Mail: When you connect to steemit.com through an e-mail link
Referrals: When you connect to steemit.com through a link found on another website (github...)
Social: When you connect to Steemit through a Facebook, Twitter, Instagram... page or link
Organic Search: When you type a search term like "Crypto" on Google and you click on one of the following steemit link proposed to you

Traffic Share Evolution during the last 9 months

The Organic Search numbers prove that the Content Strategy is working as people come across Steemit looking for Crypto, Blog, Travel, etcโ€ฆ related articles.

Referring Social Pages

Twitter represents 31.6% of all the social platform incoming traffic. Reddit is also a strong source of new visits on the Steemit Platform. Last week, Facebook was the first Social Media to bring traffic to Steemit.com

5 most searched terms on Google that leads to Steemit.com

What are Steemians main interests?

Gender Demographics

Age Distribution

III] Steemit website metrics

You feel a bit confused about these 3 metrics? Let me explain.

  • Bounce Rate is the % of people that leave the Website after just navigating on a single Webpage. The lower, the Better
  • Daily Pageviews per Visitor is the average number of pages a visitor opens. The Higher, the Better
  • Daily Time on Site is the full time a visitor spend on the website before closing the internet Webpage. The Higher the Better

My February assumptions

  • Total visits to Steemit.com: 39,8mn
  • Assumption of Total unique visitors in February: 12-15mn
  • Total Daily visitors: 1.3-1.4mn
  • Assumption of Total Daily Unique visitors: 750-850k

This is a collective achievement and I would like to congratulate all of us!

What do you think of this Steemit Big Data Update? Please let me know in the comment section.

Sources: Alexa, SimilarWeb, Google Trends...

You don't want to miss a Crypto news?

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook

Sort: ย 

Nice stats. Thanks for everyoneโ€™s hard work!

If you liked it don't be shy and upvote it ;)!

Nice collection of data thanks for sharing!

I am surprised by the gender split as generally men make up 90% of crypto Investors. Maybe steemit can help women access and invest in crypto

Indeed, I do think so. As it can be on any topic (Arts, Blogging...)

Thanks for the data. I really wonder about the gender demographics, as far as I know the crypto ecosystem is mainly controlled by male. I dont have a plausible explanation

I edited the Graph as I inverted the 2 genders.
Sorry for that and thank you for your comment, it helped me to find the mistake.

Great post. Today is my first day on steemit and content like this is going to keep me up reading all night.

Welcome my dear, Stay motivated in the long run! This is the most important.

I have been incredibly proud of myself these last few months. I have been creating content heavily for the last 6 months and have developed a following of 3,000 people on Youtube by just sharing my thoughts and being genuine. I look forward to creating another great community here that allows me to connect with amazing people who are located all over the world.

Thanks for sharing this info very interesting

I am glad you like it. Thank you for your comment.

Thanks for sharing such a nice and motivational data. The way steem is touching a daily visit value of 1.5 million is great. The way it is progressing is matchless. from 15,000 to 935 is a big success. Hopefully it will join the top 10 club soon. Thanks for sharing @vlemon

Thank you for your comment, we need as a community to make newcomers feel comfy on Steemit and we need to keep quality content highly rated. This is the only way this social-experiment will work out.

Completely agree. You are most welcome @vlemon

I've been kinda watching the numbers on how fast Steemit is growing since I started.. And, the numbers don't lie. This is where we should all feel fortunate to be a part of something that could be very big. I know this took a lot of research and not to mention time @vlemon.. . it's appreciated here for sure. Thanks for sharing.. Build it, and they will come. Followed ,upvoted and resteemed

Thank you for your kind comment, I hope that we will all grow with the platform.
We need to all work as a team !

That is what I want too.. We can all work towards growing this wonderful platform.. We could be really on to something, and with Steemit so new.. lots to be gained .

Thanks for posting those facts.
As a newcomer to Steemit, it is a great help to me, and it gives me a better understanding of the platform, and the way forward for me.

You are more than welcome.
I am glad you joined our platform. Remember that it can take time to ยซ make it ยป in Steemit.
You have a lot to learn. Hopefully youโ€™ll enjoy the ride.

It certainly looks interesting, and I like the freedom from the heavy hand of YouTube. :)

I had a bit of luck the other day, and I found the domain name STEEMrewards.com on a drop list, so I decided that I would make myself a prompt list of some of the things I don't understand. For example, I started with a reputation of 50, but that dropped to 25 after a couple of days. If I had known more, I would have tried to take advantage of it.

Your reputation situation seems weird to me ^^.
Nice Domain name ! I hoep you'll make the most out of it.

How does the reputation score work here? What needs to be done to increase the score and what happens to decrease it?

I think I might have an explanation for the reputation, and I'll start a thread about it later.

Thanks for the comment about the domain name. I think I'm going to install b2evolution on it, and start a blog about my start on Steemit. I know it's been done many times, but I'm having difficuty in finding an explanation for one or two things. B2 evolution is a fork of the old B2 blogging CMS. and the other fork became Wordpress. I looked at both, and I thought that b2evolution was more suitable for the things that I hope to post on the site.

Perfect statistical data๐Ÿ‘Œ๐ŸปAppreciate it and yah literrally steemit and steemians are growing more then other social media , in my locality also i come across most of the youths are discussing only about steemit , and i know that time we use for steemit is productive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59