It is time for the red flag! Do NOT comment bullshit on this post or you will get FLAGGED!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Lately my posts are spammed with senceless comments and I think this bad behaviour has the potential of killing the spirit or steemit over time. To be honest I have only flagged one person so far. It was in my steemit beginning times and I flagged a post that had the statement that prostitutes are better for men than normal women. This post you can see here. The user who posted this sexist bullshit flagged me back and I had the feeling at this point that it could be to dangerous to flag again because I did not want to risk my low reputation. Now my reputation has grown and I think it is now also in my responsability to start flagging the comments that are obviously not related to the posts they are supposed to comment on. I know new users often feel like they do not know what to comment so they just write "nice post!" I did this in the beginning too thats why already the headline tells you very clear that it is dangerous to comment bullshit on this post. I am really sick of all the bot comments that I am getting lately and I have started muting users but I feel that I have to go one step further. I see a lot of new users struggling to get votes and raise their reputation and it is hard enough for them. I have talked to @sature, @akashas, @bronsedi and other users various times about this problem. People who do not want to contribute to this community but only want to earn money by cheating should not have a higher reputation just by commenting nonsence to every post. I hope not to risk my own reputation with this new way I am dealing with scam here.

PL148859.jpg

I love to support members who are really contributing something to the community. Especially in the field of art, creative, philosophical, travel and other writing and to everyone who is writing quality comments. To all the real steemit community members I send

Lots of Light and Love <3

Sort:  

A very interesting read. I have never flagged anyone and have only needed to mute one person. I remember what it was like when I first came to steamit. I made many mistakes and sometimes still do. But I try to contribute with creativity stories and causes. I think of how I would want to be treated and leave it up to the whales and the big boys to do the flag instead of myself.

It's kind of like spirituality. God forgives us and offers us countless Second Chances. He doesn't flag us he loves us. He may teach us things but he loves us. Should we not have love and forgiveness to each other. I guess that's how I look at flagging I could be wrong. Blessings and thank you for the wonderful article

Thank you for your comment. I just read it now. I made up my mind meanwhile. And I want to unflag the people. I do not know if I did it right. I had to make this mistake to learn for myself how uncomfortable I felt with that judgmental position I was putting myself into.

You are a good lady. Incidently, I followed your link to that post you mentioned and was surprised to find it isn't 'flagged' so it appears you unflagged correctly. So you can rest easy in knowing that.

I've already flagged and muted some people for begging upvotes or sexist/hate-provoking posts. You are totally right, these people damage the Steemit community. I took many efforts to write meaningful comments, because I'm not so good in English.

Thank you for your support :) It is hard to decide with comments who are not sexit or hate provocing but just random and not at all content related :) Where to draw the line there... I am not sure yet.

I'd rather have sexist or hateful comments than spam. Hate is at least a meaningful representation of another human's state of mind and that provides the possibility for communication and growth. If people are going to be hateful, I'd prefer to know that about them. Spam just acts as a barrier to effective connection between people and should always be downvoted.

I am a new member and I understood the need to write constructive comments. It really helps to build my reputation and I gained 374 followers so far after joining for 30 days. I also wrote posts about how I shared comments to other minnows. I also avoid offending any members as I know everyone has their own freedom of speech here. I have not habit of flagging anyone as I seek peace and friendship with everyone here. Your picture shows 4 faces that seem to exhibits unhappiness and some fear. The finger nail on the thumb is red. Is this to symbolise your red flag? Anyway, I hope I won't be flagged! LOL! I will upvote and follow you as your comment here is really meaningful for thoughts!

Can I have your permission to resteem this post for my followers?

Shure ;D I think you do not need to ask for permission to resteem a post :D Everyone is happy to see they get resteemed ;D

Thank you! I am very selective and picky for those that I resteem. I only resteem those that I find meaningful and useful as I don't want to become a mindless resteem bot! lol

Thank you for your good comment. I am seeking the same as you. But to prevent this for more users I want to use my power for the good (like you) who really contribute something to the community. The drawing was not related to the content of this post because I drew it when I was 18 but I was looking for some piece of art to put with the post because there are a lot of fake commenters in the field of art and I want to catch them. Thank you for being an honest user and for sharing your thoughts :) I will check out your blog now as well :)

Commenting this post is like playing minesweeper. I like that <3

Haha :D This is the kind of comments I like to see :D

Well done for voicing yourself on this issue even at the risk of being flagged! I stopped using Steemit months ago because I found way too much spamming and bullshit happening on well written articles and then role started flagging each other. So, I didn’t feel that this platform really had much of a future with so much unfairness happening. I notice now that I find better quality posts and less spamming thanks to a growing community of dedicated Steemians!

Thank you for sharing your experiences. I have changed my opinion meanwhile. Sometimes the hand write a decition faster than my mind can follow. I know that the spamming is a problem but I think muting solves it better then flagging. At least I feel not ready to judge who are the people behind the bad comments. I have made my mistakes in the beginning too.

i joined this community because my dad wanted me to, the first time my dad asked me to join steemit i said that steemit is not for (i didn't like it )
but when i joined i started having fun and this is really an awesome experience , i told my friends at school about steemit and the all laughed at me but actually i am the one who should be laughing at them
Steemit is great and i will never stop doing it

Great :) I am happy you are having a good experience here. I am feeling very good in this community thats why I changed my mind to continue to send out love and light instead of flags....

Thank you. The user you flagged here popped up on a very personal post of mine with a glowing comment, about how they await my posts. For a moment my heart swelled. I then noticed they had sent the same message within minutes to several others and I deflated. It is more than annoying it can really play on people's emotions. Thank you for your efforts.

I know this is really hard. As I wrote above I am getting so mad at those comments sometimes. I anyways changed my mind. This might look very weak but maybe the plattform really offers an option not to be against each other in any sence. I changed my opinion rapidly but it is nice to read opinions on my different articles now. I really get to know steemians here.

I understand the conflict. I have stated my opinions from time to time, but like you I want to come here for good interactions and positivity. I don't like to see people being taken advantage of but I also don't want to get lost in the negativity either.
It's not weakness it's a conscious decision regarding your energy here and how you expend it. I respect that.

übel übel, wie immer mehr spam die posts flutet. manchmal kommt man einfach nicht umhin, da eine flagge zu hissen und farbe zu bekennen. find ich gut, das du dazu einen post rausgebracht hast, statement inklusive. reine ironie, das selbst hierauf noch mit spam reagiert wird. erst recht absurd, wenn diejenigen dann um gnade winseln nachdem sie geflagged worden sind. @riyad11 ist da geradezu ein ideales beispiel. lg

Ich habe meine Meinung noch mal überdacht und darüber einen Post geschrieben. Das ist jetzt zwar ein bisschen bescheuert aber es zeigt mir ganz gut wie die Reaktionen der Leute zu dem Thema sind. Ich glaube bei mir war es mehr ein spontaner Wutausbruch über die Kommentare, die zu lesen sich nicht lohnt. Aber ich möchte auch nicht diejenigen bekämpfen, die Fehler machen, die ich am Anfang auch gemacht habe.

I support your decision for spam comments.

Thank you ;) It was a hard one. But I think it is the only option for steemit to continue to be as great as it is :)

hi , @yoganarchista

you have sent 0.02 fees to @red-rose for voting your post, or one of your friends did this action to support you, @red-rose owner , mr. samer , his father died today and i sent a comment to all of the posts in his wallet, this is not a spam comment. try to understand this
thank you
i am abu wada , his friend - managing his account till he is back
thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62