When Life Throws You a Stick You Get..... Boobies?

Life has such a wonderful way of telling you what's up.

It can give you lessons in the most strangest ways and in ways that we may only see years down the road. And sometimes it is just right there, telling you exactly what you need to know right at that moment...

I have been so busy this summer it is almost unbelievable. I don't think I have ever had one so busy. It's not a bad thing either. My husband and I have created many memories for our kids, many learning experiences and adventures.

I have also been busy with making cakes. Wedding cake, anniversary cake, birthday cake etc.

The most recent ones have been the anniversary cake and birthday cake.

Over the last weekend we have celebrated my husband's great aunt and uncle's 65th wedding anniversary at their cottage. Every year their anniversary is celebrated and it also becomes a family gathering. For some, they stay for a few days and for others, they stay for weeks.

We all got to enjoy beautiful weather by the water, watching the kids swim and play. It was really wonderful!

IMG_20180805_162724[1].jpg

Frankie can be silly sometimes in wanting extra ways to float. It's not too clear of a picture but it does get a bit hard to get it right when there is a lot of movement and at a distance as well. Oh well.

I did get to take an awesome shot of the ducks as the kids fed them.

38455502_859885247538107_7098713666131853312_n.jpg

We got to enjoy ourselves around a fire but it didn't last too long. The mosquitoes were just nasty.

IMG_20180804_213555[1].jpg

As you can tell not many stayed.

We waited a while in hopes that the bugs would be less active and headed back outside for some fireworks.

IMG_20180804_221011[1].jpg

IMG_20180804_221010[1].jpg

IMG_20180804_221024[1].jpg

I couldn't resist taking a picture of Frankie. She was enjoying her very first fireworks show.

IMG_20180804_220936[1].jpg

I really need to practice keeping a still hand.

Ok so those are just some bits of the fun we had. I put my camera down as it was hard to get some good pictures and I did just want to enjoy my time as well.

So back to the cakes...

I had made a two tiered cake, chocolate and vanilla and used a vanilla buttercream icing to decorate along with some fondant flowers I made. I was told to put some 'bling' on there as the misses enjoys her jewels. Nothing wrong with that. The colors were to be white and blue, blue being the color of that year of anniversary.

IMG_20180803_194040[1].jpg

I didn't want to put too much bling on the cake as I didn't want it to overpower the essence of a wedding anniversary, being of a man and a woman with different tastes being life partners for so long. It's not just about the bling.

IMG_20180803_194101[1].jpgIMG_20180803_194020[1].jpg

I admit I was having a rough few days. I had major headaches and all sorts of pain that made cake making and decorating hard and it was hot and humid. I pushed through anyways and even though I feel like it wasn't the best looking cake I have ever made I still think I pulled it off ok despite how I was doing.

I had put that cake aside and started making the birthday cake that was for the next day of the anniversary celebration. For my husbands uncle. His wife had asked me to make a somewhat exotic cake.
It was to be chocolate and the details were to be... let's say big....

She had asked me to make a boobie cake and even though its not my first boob cake that I make I still feel slightly uncomfortable delivering those style of cakes.

So I mixed up the ingredients and baked the cakes needed. I was having a hard time standing around at this point.
I had let the cakes cool a bit before taking them out of the pans and well with luck on my side, the slab cake (for the body) broke as it came out of the pan. Yay. I was very frustrated with it. Not in the mood to make another one. So I left that alone for some time. I kept the broken cake for the kids to munch on but also because I can 'recycle' the cake. If needed I use pieces of it to help form shapes or if I make a mistake, I have some extra cake that I can use to fix it.

IMG_20180805_110847[1].jpg

With my timing planned I was able to let go of cake making. I put it off for the next day with ample time to make and decorate.

I packed up my things and was ready to head out to deliver the anniversary cake to the cottage. The last thing I had to do was bring the cake to the van. I had someone waiting in there to hold the cake for the drive there.

Just as I stepped out of the door and down a step, my bad ankle gave out and I went tumbling down with cake in hands. I saw everything in slow motion, I even had time to think, 'oh there goes the cake', and see it fall to the ground.

What a disappointing event. There was no time left to make another, nor to head to town to even buy one at the grocery store. All I had to share were the pictures I took.

Thankfully the cake was for family, they were so very understanding and were more concerned of my well being from the fall.
I had a couple cuts and bruises, and again a swollen ankle, nothing really that bad.

That being the worst of it.

IMG_20180805_110812[1].jpg
booo

The next day I headed back home to finish up the birthday cake. I felt more sore in my hip and my back from the fall. I thought it was stupid to feel that much pain from such a little fall. I guess I am getting old haha.

So yet again I was being put to the task of making cake in pain. Boy oh boy what a time I was having. It was another hot day which made it so hard to work the details just right. I had to give up on working on it so much as I was uncomfortable. My hands were too shaky to make the lace bra look nice. Thank god for the pearls to help it look good.

I was even having a hard time with the nipples. It wasn't cold enough to make them perky enough :p
Actually though, it was hard to make them both centered and aligned.

After enough time was spent on a cake I couldn't afford to take deep care of, I packed up and carefully, slowly headed out the door. Funny thing is as I wrote 'carefully' and 'slowly', I typed it just that way... Leave it to me to exaggerate on it with typing.

I had succeeded stepping out of the door and putting it in the vehicle without falling or dropping it. WOOHOO!

IMG_20180805_205717[1].jpg

The cake was brought out after supper and what a hit it was. People were throwing dirty jokes here and there, making the floor shake so that the boobies would shake too. What a laugh we all had. And when it was time where the birthday man decided to cut the cake, he showed up with a whole new outfit.

IMG_20180805_212112[1].jpg

He surgically cut up that chest - I mean cake.. That cake just perfectly so everyone could get a feel for it. And it tasted pretty good too.

IMG_20180805_212154[1].jpg

And so this post comes to an end with a happy ending. The boobie cake survived the travels whilst the anniversary one took the fall.
The life lesson here? I could easily think that the lesson is to show me that I need to slow down, take good care of myself, and be more organised. OR it could be that I need to take things a little less seriously and laugh a little more. Cause you never know when life will throw you a stick, I just hope you get boobies after the fall ;)

IMG_20180805_213201[1].jpg

Sort:  

Ahhh. Cakes can be such a pain in the boob! I haven't made a boobie cake in decades! I'll have to find a reason to remedy that :)

What a wonderful reason to be busy this summer. Your cakes are lovely! It sounds like a fun celebration was had by all and that's what lasts in the end!

YES! I would love to see a boob cake from you. I should find a better way to phrase that, it sounds like I'm a perve now LOL.

HAHAHAHA :) But you just made my day!

After when you make one, I will make one too and then we shall compare boobs :P

My son turns 22 this month. I suppose that's as good a reason as any other. ;)

Go for it! I would love to see it. I think it would be the only time I could be this excited to see boobies.

I love your photos, the ducks, your children and also the fireworks!!!

Your writing makes me follow through the whole frustration with you. So sorry for the fall, I bet that's every baker's nightmare. But good job for still making another one and I bet everyone enjoyed laughing at it when it was presented lol.

Lovely post, @foxyspirit! You must have taken some time to upload and written this elaborate post :)

#steemitbloggers

It did take up some time to right up this post especially with the uploads.

I think that not only is it bad that the cake falls, but that there is no time at that point to make another. Im wondering what people do in that case. I imagine at bakeries they have cakes in the freezer they could use to make another if they have to. Where I live there is no place to have a bakery, small towns dont always have those perks. Many things to look into so that I get an extra chance if it happens again. It wont be so nice if it ends up happening again with a wedding cake.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and feeling the emotions that I went through as well.

I am glad you are ok, cakes can be fixed more easily than humans :) Pictures are adorable but that boobie cake is just hilarious!!!! :D

I have to agree with you there. I can fix them up ok too. But my body is not the same hahaha.

That cake was a huge hit. I think I will be making more in the future :P

A pity about the anniversary cake, it looked really fantastic! The boob cake is pretty funny, although those are some very perfectly symmetric and formed boobs! Definitely silicone?

I have to laugh at the shot of your young one enjoying the fireworks whilst her father (?) seemingly looks otherwise! I'm sure it's just an accident of the shot, I've got a similar one of my wife and our daughter playing with bubbles. One is super excited and the other looks bored out of their minds!

Hahahaha! I thought someone would notice that one shot. Yep it's her daddy. He was trying to get the flashlight on his phone so that I could take a better picture of her but I think he got distracted with other things on there. He missed her amazing expressions and that's ok too. I got to see it and share the moment with her. He got to share moments with her swimming and doing other things. Shared times :)

Another person said that at the cottage about being silicone boobies :p I could imagine how funny it would be if they were a bit loopy lol

Maybe a little bit of both 😊
The bling on the fallen cake ... I don’t really like bling but I went “wahhhhh”, definitely a cake for a celebration ...
Good thing there was another celebration the following day for some cake
Sorry about the fall, hope you find some time to rest up 💗

Ya I agree with you. I enjoy more spunky cakes, and fun cakes. Although a blingy cake makes it different and something I did need to experience incase I get more orders of the likes.

Ah no worries about me falling. It hurts but I am good. I would rather take the falls now than when Im 60 :p

Ok first of all, the picture of the ducks turned out really well. Second of all, your cakemaking skills are amazing! Too bad that one fell, and especially that you fell (hope you'll feel better soon.. and that the weather cools off, I can't take it anymore ;))! But I bet that boobie cake was a hit!

Thank you ^_^ My body is getting back to normal, healing slowly.

Cakes can be all sorts of fun and this boobie cake turned out a lot more fun than I would have thought. I was actually embarrassed for bringing such a poorly detailed cake but as like everyone else I am my worst critic and no one seemed to even notice. Thankfully too! <3

Such a wonderful story. So sorry the first cake was ruin, but it's really beautiful and looks yummy!

I was feeling bad about the cake at first but I changed the way I see it. It sucks that it fell but I did gain experience when making it. And it did look nice. I achieved my goal in the end.... somewhat lol. I would share a piece with you but you might get a piece of grass in the icing :P

Good that you take it in a positive way.
I wouldn't mind the grass... or I can just dig into the chocolate cake... haha

Oh my gosh I love your post. Quite a day! And also the second cake is the best!!! :-) Hahaha

Thank you very much! Quite a day indeed. Much to laugh about actually and memories I am sure we will laugh about next year. Wondering what kind of cake they will be asking me to make next :P

Congratulations @foxyspirit! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our #steemitbloggers FB Page and Twitter feeds.

I love you guys! Thank you so much!

Hahaha, loved every 'part' of this post. :P

For the camera part and taking photos under low lighting, our mobile phones automatically adjusts the shutter speed of the lens to close slower during low lightings. This is to allow enough light to enter the lens. With that in mind, most of the time the mobile phone have to be held in position after clicking the shutter for at least 3 seconds. Any slight movements would cause a blur.

And for the cake... I can't imagine losing a few days work just like that... I would probably throw a fit and gave up even making the boobies too. But yea...take good care of urself alright? :)

That is good to know about the camera's. I have had this one phone for about a week now and there are still things I don't know about it just yet. Perhaps there is a setting for the shutter? I am not sure and ya I think I was moving too quick after taking the shot. That's good to keep in mind, thank you ^_^

Thank you for reading my boobie life post :p I appreciate that you took the time to read it. I will be more careful in stairs and taking it a bit more slow.

Oh what phone model isit? Some phones have the 'pro' mode where u can manually adjust most of the camera shutter, ISO, aperture, white balance etc

Yea I read everything. :D

Its a Huawei P20 pro. I honestly need to read the manual for this phone lol.
There is a pro mode on it and I look at it and have no idea what I am seeing. Numbers and letters with a gage. It's all cryptic writing to me lol.

Ohh, I'm using huawei p20 pro too!!! It has the BEST camera in the mobile market so far!!! :D Hehe, It's a very good phone

Right on! So can you show me what's what? LOL I'm joking that would take too much of your time. I'm camera dumb lol.

Honestly I went from an iphone 4s to this. Huge step and I need to relearn everything. So far though Im loving it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00