My Midnight Snacking has been Approved... BY ME! haha - Amazing Arugula!

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

20180615_122546.jpg

We all have our "go to" snack foods and one of the things I enjoy most... especially when it is late night snacking is salty crackers with a slice of cheese and a few sprigs of Arugula - or more commonly known as Rocket. The flavour combination of the cheese and the rocket is just heavenly! (Well, I think it is anyway haha!)

(Oh and no... the above pic is NOT my midnight snack lol - it was my breakfast hehe)

In fact, rocket is complimentary with so many dishes. It is a herb which has a wonderfully peppery flavour and I have plenty of it growing in pots outside my front door - so last night, when deciding that I was in need of a little midnight snack, I went to grab a few leaves and proceeded to make me some crackers!

Now, I will pretty much eat rocket with anything, but to be honest I have never actually considered or contemplated what kind of nutritional benefits it has (if any)... so whilst standing there, internally trying to justify my midnight binge of stuffing multiple crackers into my mouth - I began justifying it with the positive thought that it simply MUST hold at least SOME kind of nutritional value.

This morning, I decided to find out... hehe... holds breath

Well, I was most pleasantly surprised!
Because it is actually packed with all kinds of goodness!!!


Image Credit

Not only is it delicious, but it also aids cancer protection, is extremely high in Vitamin K which as we all know is fantastic for your heart, skin and bones. It contains two kinds of eye antioxidants which apparently assist with fine tuning detailed sight... and lord knows I need that because I am as blind as a bat haha! It is also packed with beta-carotene which assists the prevention of free radical cell damage. And who knew... that if I munched about 100grams of the tasty green leaves, that would be about 25% of my required daily Vitamin C. It contains folate which is excellent for red blood cell creation and apparently quite a variety of B Vitamins too.... and no, its not finished showing off yet... haha - it is also high in calcium, magnesium, potassium, manganese, phosphorus and iron.... and then the two best of all... it aids the burning of calories (new snacking diet FTW! hehe) and last but DEFINITELY not least... is said to be a mild aphrodisiac!

Now that is one seriously beneficial herb right there!
Who knew! haha!
Yay for my midnight snacking!!!

hahahaha :)

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers


oh... and have you met my little man? @judethedude

ezgif.com-resize.gif

Sort:  

NOTHING compares to the peppery taste and flavor from arugula! I have ten plants of it on the garden right now... can't wait to harvest some for a salad soon

Yummy!!! This would be a good recipe for dtube 😁

I love arugula too! I didn’t discover it until it came in one of those meal subscription boxes (not sure if they offer those in South Africa or not, Blue Apron is most famous here). I was pleasantly surprised and now I know what to expect when I see it on a menu!

I lurrrv Rocket too! But the rest of my family not so much, so it's more likely to be included as a side on my own dish than in the family meal. I agree, it's delish with cheese (amazing on pizza)!

@sweetpea I think it is very much an acquired taste.... 👍

always adding vegetables to an appetizer diminishes the sense of guilt, although it is not very healthy, but we deceive the mind, I always do it.

I don't think I've ever seen those herbs at all here where I live, but I definitely wish I could taste this combination of salty crackers, cheese, and aragula. :3 and that breakfast looks absolutely scrumptious! the eggs are wonderful. :3

According to Ayurveda:

You shouldn't eat after sunset. Eat your last meal 40 minutes prior to sunset. Why??

The food you eat after sunset isn't utilised by the body because the 🔥 in the digestive system becomes intense with sunrise and slows down after sunset (this is the way NATURE has designed the human body.) Therefore, the food you eat after sunset does more harm than good to your body.

The digestive juices don't get secreted in the night because there's no sunlight. So now all that food is getting stored as fat. This leads to a host of conditions like obesity, digestion issues, heart diseases because of excessive cholesterol, etc. Now when you go to sleep you'll not be able to sleep properly because you have to go pee and the food getting digested whilst you try to sleep the late night snacks will interfere with your REM/Sleep because digestion and absorption of nutrients becomes the priority of your body instead of resting and repairing itself i.e. sleep.

When you wake up the next day you'll not feel refreshed you'll feel sluggish. Then you'll destroy your system further with COFFEE. The more you prolong this cycle the more you'll deteoriate your health and increase the happiness of the doctor by visiting him a lot.

So if you make a living for your belly then is torturing it to such an extent worthwhile?? Knowingly or Unknowingly it's happening. You can fool me but you can't fool yourself.

( This is in case of hot climatic conditions where you're fortunate enough to witness a sunrise. NOT for cold climatic conditions. You guys should eat less food in the morning and increase your portions as the day goes forward because there's no sunrise and sunset I.e. you guys don't get to witness the SUN for months on end.)

PS: Even if it's healthy food then it's still not getting digested and absorbed into the body. THEREFORE, you aren't receiving benefits from it. It is getting deposited as FAT.

You guys are smart enough.

Thank you very much.

Have a great day ahead.

Love you all.

@amarbir it was a humorous post.....

I know. It wasn't for you. It's just general advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94