Murder on the Orient Express 2017 - movie review (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago (edited)
Let us see if I can make a decent enough movie review... It will not be positive or a nice one. There is only one Poirot and his name is David Suchet. Sure, we all have a right to our opinion and taste preferences but some things you just do not do. You do not play with my Poirot. Yes, I said my, lol... Anyway, there will be just a small spoiler alert and it will be clearly marked so you can skip when you see that subtitle and read the rest of the post if you have not seen the movies or read the books.


photo is a curtesy of @zord189

In 2017, they made a movie called Murder on the Orient Express based on the Agatha Christies book by the same title. I have just seen the movie recently because every fiber of my being was protesting seeing it. I am weird like that and strongly believe in the following:

Do not try to fix
what is not broken!

I already had issues with other remakes such as Pride and Prejudice but this Poirot movie really pissed me off even more. Remakes in general with a different cast set are just completely bonkers to me and I see no reason to waste money on making them but hey, I know, some people like them and who am I to judge, I know, I know, I should stop complaining...
but I won't

BASIC INFO


Director: Kenneth Branagh
Main actor: Kenneth Branagh
Length: 1h 54min
Genre: Crime, Drama, Mystery
Production: 20th Century Fox
Screenplay: Michael Green
Based on: the novel by Agatha Christie

When I see that director and the main actor are the same person, it does give me some clues about the movie but I will let that slide this time and focus on something else, the utter disaster this movie is. Subjectively, of course.

Some background...

Agatha Christie wrote 33 novels and 54 short stories about Hercule Poirot. She was outsold only by the Bible and the Shakespeare and that says a lot. I have read them all and I still enjoy reading them again. I have also seen all of the episodes that David stared in as Poirot. In my mind, he was the one and only, the ultimate and true personification of that character. Even the Christie family acknowledged him and has great respect for his acting, and why would they not? The guy read all the books while preparing for the role. Did Branagh read all the books? I think not. Agatha Christie's Poirot series had 13 series and 70 episodes in total with each episode adapted from a novel or short story by Christie.

"What I did was, I had my file on one side of me and a pile of stories on the other side and day after day, week after week, I plowed through most of Agatha Christie's novels about Hercule Poirot and wrote down characteristics until I had a file full of documentation of the character. And then it was my business not only to know what he was like, but to gradually become him. I had to become him before we started shooting"
David Suchet for Strand Magazine

AND SOME MORE BACKGROUND...

Murder on the Orient Express is my favorite book about Poirot, the fact that it briefly takes place in Croatia is beside the point lol, it is just a happy coincidence. It was the third episode of the 12th season of the series and the ecranisation was just amazing. It was like watching the book come alive before my eyes. I am not a big fan of seeing books becoming movies or tv shows but Game of Thrones, Lord of the Rings and Poirot are the good ones.

SPOILER ALERT...

The reason why this is my favorite book is because it deals with the moral code and ethics that Poirot has. David portrayed the battle Poirot was in with his own mind perfectly, Branagh failed and wow did he fail. Poirot deals with logic but he also deals with justice and mixes those two together. They have to be in unity and the fact that they were fighting each other was hard on his sanity. The complexity of human behavior and the psychological effect that actions of others have on us was something that David amazingly showed in his performance. Branagh did not.

CAST DID NOT HELP...

Sure, there are some big names in the movie from 2017, like Penélope Cruz, Willem Dafoe, Johnny Depp, and Judi Dench but that did not help. Production was nice but the entire movie was kind of slow with all those long nature scenes where nothing was happening in. An artistic approach that was not really that needed. I had a feeling that the movie was never going to end. I was in complete agony by the end of it and screaming at the screen "Bring the real Poirot!" At one moment I was thinking that I was on a hidden camera or being Punked because what I saw was shocking.

SMALL SPOILER: Poirot running on top of the train and jumping around like a superhero is so out of the character that I wanted to break the screen. The man walked with a cane, A CANE! How could he jump around like a spiderman? hellllooooo?!?!? The other thing is Branagh portraying Poirot as rude. He was never rude in the books or in the series with David. Poirot was always an utmost gentleman.

Do not get me started
on the mustache Branagh had...
I will not even... Nope... Just no...

CONCLUSION?

The mistakes in this movie are numerous and horrible. If you have read a single book about Poirot, you would notice it. To Poirot and David as Poirot fans out there, skip this one. You will only get irritated and ruin your evening. To those that have not seen the series about Poirot or read Poirot... Hm... Are you normal? Go read and/or watch it right now. I leave you with one of my favorite Poirot quotes...

It is the brain, the little gray cells on which one must rely. One must seek the truth within--not without."
~ Poirot (Agatha Christie)

Until next time,
KEEP YOUR SMILE ON
and love David Suchet!


Image from express.co.uk

P.S. The best Sundays start with coffee, chocolate and watching Poirot...
David Suchet as Poirot...

Image sources AND LICENCES in order of appearance:

- all images used in this post are free for commercial use, they are royalty free with the links to original images provided under them
- line divider that I use is from FREE CLIPART LIBRARY, and is here
- my bitmoji avatar was created on https://www.bitmoji.com/, visit the site to create yourown

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

But why don't you tell us how you really felt about it?
Just joking! I don't often read movie reviews, because I hardly ever watch movies these days. But I like the heartfelt nature of this one. It almost makes me want to go and see the film, just to find out whether it really is this bad! I've never been a massive fan of Kenneth Branagh – he was always too much of a "dahling" in my opinion, though I think he does have talent, and I would imagine him to be the kind of actor who would read all the books before taking on a role. Maybe Poirot just isn't his thing.

Or maybe he wanted to make his own Poirot with a unique touch. He succeeded in making it, I just really do not like it :D

I suspect that's it - he was trying to be different. Trying too hard.

Like you... I've always had negative feelings towards remakes.
Almost like making a movie from a book. I'm a ferocious reader and NO movie could EVER be better than a book.

GREAT review!!!

I agree, books are always better 💚

My wife is a huge Agatha Christie fan... although, based on this review, I'll probably never mention that there was a recent remake!

Do not. I am sure she will only get upset but if you want to make her day better, just bring here any episode of any season of Poirot with David Suchet, everybody like him 💚

Haha... she's seen them all, and has all the boxed sets! She is a complete nutter for Agatha Christie... just recently, she was just checking up to see what the first editions cost... (Spoiler: too much..!)

Nice review. Although you forgot all those magnificent mountains between Vinkovci and Brod, that would make any Croatian viewer, or at least those with some elementary knowledge of their country's geography, laugh. :)

hahahahaha, yes yes, I completely forgot about those. I was watching and asking people around me did we change where we live all of sudden or is something seriously wrong there. I remember the frequent saying was: "Jel tu mene neko je*e?" :D

Incredibly fresh :)

Wow, as you might realise, people don't read books! So they don't care is Pairot on the screen having his character or not, show and effects are important. I read On the road written by Jack Kerouac and then accidentally seen the movie, what a disaster. I know your feelings :)

It can be pretty disappointing yes :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Seldom does a remake ever hold a candle to the original in my book. Thanks for sharing this and confirming what I suspected when I first read that title of your post.

I forgot to mention Footloose in the post, that one too is horrible as a remake. I am not sure if I ever saw a remake I liked :D

Well, I was just curious how this version looks like. So I watch this movie. But, as you say, it's not going to the Hercule Poirot I have in my mind, from the book, and from TV series. So, maybe, for the young generation or someone who never read Agatha Christie books and watch that TV series and this movie was the first attempt to this content, it looks good. But, not for me. fail, if you ask me...(No I'm not the critic and yes I'm the Agatha Christie fan).

If it will get young people to read her books than the movie is a success in my opinion lol, even though I do not like it :)

Agatha Christie is an author I've never read before. Did she only write the Poirot stories, or did she have other protagonists as well? I may need to get a hold of one of her books and see what all the fuss is about.

As far as remakes go, it seems I hold the same belief as most others who have commented before - rarely are they better than the original. I would ask, though: what if you saw the remake without having seen the original first, and then watched the original (of any film)? I wonder if our perception would be reversed? I'm just hypothesising that perhaps we find remakes not as good, because we already have a mindset of how we have been conditioned to believe that the film should run.

I don't know if that makes sense. Anyway.. great review! Thanks. I reckon I'll have a look at Agatha Christie.

She is often considered to be "the queen of crime novels". The prize Agatha that writers of criminal novels can receive is named after her. She wrote more than 80 books and no, not all of them are about Poirot. Give her a read, the fuss about her is for a reason ;)

Your hypothesis has sense and I do believe that if I was to watch a remake before an original I would probably like it better but ONLY if it is good enough when compared to a book. I have found that remakes usually want to add an additional touch to the story and go to far with it :)

You see, the sad thing is, they never compare to the book, not even originals. Well, rarely. I recently watched the new Poseidon - pretty good compared to the original, but I can't understand why they changed the ending so drastically. Seems a bit unnecessary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84